We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Desert Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Hull, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Desert Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

Just returned from Desert Riviera, actually had 2 visits there in a fortnight!

Originally went for 5 days, upon walking in we were greeted by Larry and sister Judy and 2 cold beers!! Which I must say was very welcome in the heat!

They showed us to our room, which was wonderful, all decorated in 50's retro style, even down to the green chairs! The rooms are very spacious with a lovely little kitchen and fridge stocked with soft drinks and water. There was plenty of storage space (2 walk in wardrobes). The bathroom was roomy too with separate shower with a monster shower head. It was the little touches that made it special, on the table there was a basket full of little snacks and goodies.

We were invited to share their dinner on our first night. Judy's husband Steve is a chef and he had made some lovely food which we ate with them and fellow guests Deborah and Neil from Canada. They were all so friendly and made us feel very much at home.

The pool area is wonderful, it is so relaxing and the garden area with the hummingbirds darting about is beautiful. When it gets too hot (105 when we were there) the misters are very welcome!
On an evening Larry lights all candles and oil lamps on the tables and in the trees and it looks so lovely.

It was my 50th birthday when I was there, Larry gave us a little cream cake which was divine. On the evening we went with Larry in his stretch limo downtown for a meal, along with some fellow Brits we had met there Huw and Fiona, who shared my birthday with me. Thanks also to Deborah who gave me a gift for my birthday, it was very thoughtful and lovely.

We went on the cable car which is over 8000 ft high, my husband loved it, all I can say is I was glad to get to the top!! The views were wonderful. We also went on a Hummer trip with Elite Land Tours to Joshua Tree National Park, our guide was Reid, he was wonderful, very informative, and we saw a coyote, a jack-rabbit, and of course the trees and lots of vegetation which was expertly described to us by Reid.

We then went on to San Diego where we stayed 5 nights and then returned to Desert Riviera for our last 2 nights because we had enjoyed it so much.

Thank you Larry, Patty, Judy and Steve for making us feel so welcome, we hope to return soon.

Janet & Brad xx

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,766
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
175
1,308
53
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2008

Best deal in the desert. The staff treat you like family. The rooms are spotless and tastefully done. The pool, grounds, and view of the mountains are great. What more can I say?

  • Liked — The people who run it--they're the reason everything else is so good
  • Disliked — Desert Riviera shows how good other places could be if they really tried
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

We recently stayed at the Desert Riviera Hotel for my partners 40th birthday weekend. There were 8 of us in our party and we spent each day floating in the heated pool, regardless of the occasional sprinkle that fell overhead. Larry (of Patty and Larry, the owners) was kind enough to move one of the umbrellas into the jacuzzi when the sprinkle turned into a rainfall and chased us out of the pool. Yes, Larry literally put the umbrella in the jacuzzi and raised the temperature so we could keep the fun going.

From the moment we booked the rooms we knew it'd be a great time. Judy (Larry's fantastic sister) is all the reviews say and more. She helped orchestrate our surprise birthday cake to be picked up from the bakery and stored until we had the birthday dinner. And Larry personally went and picked up the 40 balloons from the store so they were in the room when we arrived. Larry, Patty and Judy are more than happy to support in every way and always offer.

Larry also serves as the resident driver for their white, stretch limo that you can schedule to take you to and from dinner/bars (until 10pm). It was such a great service and truly one of the personal touches that make this property so special.

The rooms are really, really well done and so comfortable. I wish there was an option to buy because I didn't want to leave. The property is kept immaculate and they provide towels and some sunscreen poolside (but you should definitely still bring your own). You can go to the local grocery store and buy some food to grill on the awesome bbq and completely chillout. The bbq is so awesome that we bought the same model when we returned home. It has an infrared part on the grill that sears a steak so perfectly it makes my mouth water just thinking about it.

If you are traveling in a group (and you aren't taking over the whole property) I highly recommend someone request room #1. There are no common walls to the unit and you have the option of continuing the party past 10pm when they ask everyone to quiet down for the night. Candles are lit around the pool at sundown and the firepit is ignited creating a wonderful eden-esque glow. When we were there it became a nightly tradition to have wine at the firepit with some of the other hotel guests. It was so much fun to laugh and talk around a fire with a great glass of vino. And come 10pm we retreated to room #1 where the fun continued.

Ignore what other reviews say about the construction across the street. We barely heard it because continuous music is piped in throughout the common areas. You can request other music channels as long as it's reasonable for everyone's listening enjoyment. I highly suggest "Lite Hits" as it offers a great mix of "I love this song!"

Great restaurant recommendations are boutiful and they've assembled most of the menus so guests can review before making a reservation. All rooms have wall-mounted plasma televisions with built-in DVD players which I thought was fantastic. No need to schlep your Netflix's like we did because the DVD library at the hotel is really impressive. I really appreciated the complete set of the Bourne films.

If you are looking for a relaxing weekend in Palm Springs filled with pool time and sleeping in late each morning then this is the place for you. Larry, Patty and Judy really go out of their way to create and ensure a relaxing environment.

  • Liked — Comfortable environment.
  • Disliked — Sound restrictions in the afternoon.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TNTLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

Not much we can add to all the previous reviews.
It really is as good as people say. Loved the pool, room, bikes, limo, free internet, free phone calls, all of it.
The welcome and service we received was 1st class.
If you're going to Palm Springs, this is the place to stay.
Huw & Fiona

  • Liked — Comfortably informal without being intrusive
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Diamondwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2008

Elly and I had the privilege of being guests at Larry and Patti’s ten bedroom villa from March 31 through April 3. Paying guests to be sure, we postponed our mini-vacation by a month, due to the packed solid nature of the DR’s reservation book. This is definitely not a place to visit on the spur of the moment!

The immaculately maintained rooms are predominantly on the east side of the pool; ours, #6, had an extremely comfortable king bed with pillows that didn’t make me regret my failure to bring my own, “his and her” closets, a two sink, tiled bathroom with a shower and hair dryer, a kitchenette with a sink, adequate flatware, glasses and dishes, as well as a toaster, a microwave, a blender and a small refrigerator. Cutting boards, sharp serrated knives, and a roll of paper towels … even a foldout ironing board and iron were at hand.

Chaise longues surround the pool on the west, north and east sides, with glass topped tables and chairs under market umbrellas mostly on the south side. A gas-fed fire-pit and chairs is in the northwest corner and defines a gathering place for guests who want to strike up a conversation in the evening.

The general atmosphere lures one into believing that you are visiting a rather well-to-do relative. Warmth, friendliness (in no way overdone or obsequious) and a general concern for needs, desires and happiness pervades the premises … with Larry obviously being the central attentive figure, but charmingly duplicated by his somewhat shy, less ebullient but extremely gracious spouse Patti, and mirrored in the manner of his sister Judy whose beaming countenance will be found behind the front desk.

Did we hear any “noises” while we were there? Absolutely. It’s neither a morgue nor a monastic retreat. Gentle, happy noises, laughter, coming from people gathered around the firepit in the evening … but mostly quiet. This is not a “party place”. Yes, in the mornings there were carpenters banging away across the street, constructing townhouses. Did it ruin our day? No way. And it won’t ruin yours either; by the time you arrive, they’ll undoubtedly be completed.

Not a central location? True. If you want to be a block or two away from shopping on Palm Canyon Drive or the Spa Resort Casino, you don’t want to stay at this oasis. On the other hand, what’s wrong with being away from the action? Larry will be only too happy to crank up the limo’s engine and whisk you there and back at an appointed time.

Recommendations on where to dine, wine or have a good time? Honest, well-informed opinions are offered on your request … opinions which are not colored by any benefit to be derived except to your account.

We had to wait a month to obtain a Monday-Thursday reservation this time. My only fear is that for our next visit, we might have to book much further ahead.

  • Liked — the ambience
  • Disliked — no way to fry eggs/bacon
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob_and_Elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2008

I had not considered Palm Springs as a vacation destination for me until my fiance had brought it up to me three years ago. It clearly took awhile for me to finally warm up to going and I am so happy we went! It turned out to be one of the best vacations of my life.
I had called at the last minute and Jody (or Judy?) booked us into the manager's apartment which came at a great deal because it didn't have direct pool access. It had a king size bed, and THAT's what really mattered to me.
Everyone was SO nice to us. Larry gave us a huge bottle of champagne to celebrate my birthday. We were offered drinks and we had delicious snacks in our room (to use LA lingo, it was like we were clients at a post-production house). There were menus from all the hot spots in town and Larry and Jody told us where to go for any kind of special dining experience we wanted.
We had been referred to a masseuse in the area who was available to make house calls and Patty and Larry assisted her with directions and welcomed her to come even though they already have great spa services available at the motel. Accommodating, that is the word to describe the customer service of this hotel. Anything that they knew was a concern or desire, they wanted (WANTED) to fix or serve or enhance. They actually made my birthday BETTER.
So great.
The grounds are beautiful, lovely, and attention is paid to the details. There are flowers of all colors in bloom. The grass is healthy and green. There are lights in the trees. There is a mister to keep guests cool in the sun. The jacuzzi heater is turned up and the firepit is lit at dusk.
They are catering to every sense. And it is a luxurious, sensual and healing experience to spend time there.
Oh, and there is music piped in to provide the soundtrack to this oasis.
Like I said, every sense is cherished and stroked here.
Over the last few years we have had the opporunity to travel extensively, staying at places like the Ritz-Carlton in San Francisco, L'Auberge in Del Mar, The Moana at Waikiki, even kitchy, fun places like The Madonna Inn in San Luis Obispo. We enjoyed The Desert Riviera on the same level as we enjoyed these four and five star hotels.
Yeah, we intend to return.

  • Liked — The people and the pool.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank funtravelsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2008

For starters, you get a beautiful, large, clean, room/suite for a very reasonable price. You also get a great pool right outside your door. There are plenty of amenities, like snacks and cold drinks waiting when you check in, sunscreen by the pool, bikes to ride, DVDs and books to borrow, a limo to drop you off at dinner. No nickel and diming either - everything is included in the price.

What really sets the place apart is the hospitality of the owners. Either Larry, Patty or Judy are there from 9 to 9 (often more than one of them, and usually way before 9 am and after 9 pm). They are all fun and interesting, make you feel right at home, and have great recs for dining, sights to see, etc.

We got just back yesterday and can't wait to return. I would it recommend it highly to just about anyone.

Lewis

  • Liked — Owners/staff, room, pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lpip60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#14 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing