We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They relocated us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Templeton
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“They relocated us”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had made a reservation to spend the week here recently. When we arrived for our stay they had to tell us they were experiencing a major plumbing problem. Unfortunately we would not be able to stay! BUT they had already made arrangements to take us to a complimentary property nearby. They offered us a cool drink, a complimentary dinner and we followed them down the road. We do appreciate the care they took in making sure we were well cared for and we were not disappointed. I hope to come back and stay there soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,820
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
185
1,343
56
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just finished our 6th stay at the Desert Riviera over the past 3-4 years. Why do we love this place so much?
1. No kids allowed
2. The look and feel of the property...50's mid century modern that's been updated with a cool new vibe.
3. The pool area...one of the few hotel pools that really make you want to jump in the water and stay awhile.
4. Most importantly...top notch ownership and management. Longtime owners Larry and Patty sold the place in August right before we arrived. We were a little concerned at first that the new owners might fall short of the high bar set by Larry/Patty. Not to worry. The new owners maintained Larry's heart and soul and the DR lives on in good hands. And...Judy, the former day manager is still at DR. She's not going anywhere. Yay. She, her husband Steve, and the entire staff make you feel welcome the moment you set foot on the property. We'll be back again in the Spring. Keep up the good work folks.

Room Tip: It's a small inn, only 10-12 rooms. All rooms face the pool except the manager's unit. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexley kent uk
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If your looking for a place to stay in palm springs thats unique, relaxing, friendly.( i could go on) then i would stay here. I stayed with my husband for four days and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms have a great layout set around the pool both are very clean. i want to thank the staff for all their hard work, they are what makes this hotel so fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneyamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We just can't see past this fantastic friendly hotel, from the great layout to the spotless rooms, to the lovely pool (available 24 hours a day), to the spotless barbecues and most of all the most helpful & friendly staff, this hotel has everything most large chain hotels will never have. We stayed mid September for 6 nights (after staying the same time last year). We fully intend staying next year (& hopefully much longer). Our dream Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The stay was very pleasant and comfortable. With the exception of a slight hiccup, Judy went out of her way to make things right.

Overall, the staff were great at making my stay very pleasant.

Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machead1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

What can I say that has not been said in the 1100+ reviews before mine?!. This hotel is just a great little place to stay. Spent just one night here with my husband to celebrate our anniversary and really wish we had stayed longer. It's not just the hotel that makes this place so lovely, it's the staff there as well. I had high expectations going into this stay and I was not disappointed. Sure enough, the famous Judy was there to welcome us in with her kindness and a cold beer. She had a great recommendation for our dinner in the downtown district.
Loved the huge selection of movies that we could take back and watch, the snacks in the room and water in the fridge, all make the stay so enjoyable. I also want to mention how extremely CLEAN our room was. I am an absolute "germaphobe" and the second Judy walked us into our room, I noticed immediately how clean it was and how clean it smelled!
The highlight of my stay was being able to lay out by the pool in the evening with a book, surrounded by the little candles and lights twinkling in the background. The surrounding grounds are so pretty and well-maintained. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a gem of a little hotel with just ten rooms arranged around a nice pool and small garden areas. Is it elegant? No. But it’s clean and way more than adequate with nice sized rooms (each with an efficient little kitchen). It has a 1950’s feel which is reflected in its décor and the unobtrusive 1950s background patio music. What makes this hotel especially charming are the owners along with the managers. Judy and Stephen (managers) want you to feel at home and you do. Unlike most hotels, there is no price list for the little extras that make you feel truly welcome and relaxed. Upon arrival, you are offered beer, wine, or water. And in the room you will discover complimentary sodas, bottled water, and a basket of snacks. Need more? Just ask. There is fresh fruit in the lobby along with coffee. Bicycles are also available for complimentary use. There is a BBQ should you wish to enjoy a meal around the pool or in your room. In short, we thoroughly enjoy this little gem and have stayed here several times. We wouldn’t consider any other hotel when staying in Palm Springs.

Room Tip: Book early. It's no longer the best kept secret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#14 of 73 in Palm Springs
170 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing