We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We finished our 3 week US Road Trip with a stay at the DR and rather than the 3 days we had originally planned we ended up adding an extra 4 nights until our flights back here - would have happily made it 4 weeks if we could! This is our third stay in the last few years and we were welcomed like family and it really does feel like coming home. All the good things that have been said about the D R and its people are true and the newest member of the team, Betty is an absolute diamond. Roll on our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,813
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
183
1,339
55
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

What makes this place special is the environment and ambience created by Judy, Steve, Betty, Tracey & the rest of the staff; from the fab 60's soundtrack that plays by the pool, Harley themed Limo, to the candles and fire pit at dusk, and the fresh towels at dawn. We stayed in 3 different rooms and each one was great. Thank you for making our 25th anniversary so special. Please do not change anything.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templeton
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had made a reservation to spend the week here recently. When we arrived for our stay they had to tell us they were experiencing a major plumbing problem. Unfortunately we would not be able to stay! BUT they had already made arrangements to take us to a complimentary property nearby. They offered us a cool drink, a complimentary dinner and we followed them down the road. We do appreciate the care they took in making sure we were well cared for and we were not disappointed. I hope to come back and stay there soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just finished our 6th stay at the Desert Riviera over the past 3-4 years. Why do we love this place so much?
1. No kids allowed
2. The look and feel of the property...50's mid century modern that's been updated with a cool new vibe.
3. The pool area...one of the few hotel pools that really make you want to jump in the water and stay awhile.
4. Most importantly...top notch ownership and management. Longtime owners Larry and Patty sold the place in August right before we arrived. We were a little concerned at first that the new owners might fall short of the high bar set by Larry/Patty. Not to worry. The new owners maintained Larry's heart and soul and the DR lives on in good hands. And...Judy, the former day manager is still at DR. She's not going anywhere. Yay. She, her husband Steve, and the entire staff make you feel welcome the moment you set foot on the property. We'll be back again in the Spring. Keep up the good work folks.

Room Tip: It's a small inn, only 10-12 rooms. All rooms face the pool except the manager's unit. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexley kent uk
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If your looking for a place to stay in palm springs thats unique, relaxing, friendly.( i could go on) then i would stay here. I stayed with my husband for four days and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms have a great layout set around the pool both are very clean. i want to thank the staff for all their hard work, they are what makes this hotel so fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneyamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We just can't see past this fantastic friendly hotel, from the great layout to the spotless rooms, to the lovely pool (available 24 hours a day), to the spotless barbecues and most of all the most helpful & friendly staff, this hotel has everything most large chain hotels will never have. We stayed mid September for 6 nights (after staying the same time last year). We fully intend staying next year (& hopefully much longer). Our dream Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The stay was very pleasant and comfortable. With the exception of a slight hiccup, Judy went out of her way to make things right.

Overall, the staff were great at making my stay very pleasant.

Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machead1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,544 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing