We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A huge thanks to Betty, Judy, Steve and Tracy. My daughter and I enjoyed our stay thoroughly!

Many thoughful amenities like soft and luxurious pool towels, suncreen by the pool, beverages & fruit available in the lobby and family atmosphere.

We felt truly appreciated! Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elletravells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Nothing a sweet, as a getaway for Mom and Daughter. A time to relax and reconnect. So thrilled that you had a relaxing time. Come back when time allows.. we'll promise towels, sunscreen, beverages and fruit and our... forever.. family atmosphere!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

765 - 771 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed five nights in October (our second visit), before moving on to San Diego to join a cruise.

Desert Riviera is perfect if you are looking for a small, family-run hotel where the service is outstanding and the ambiance simply mind-blowing, and children-free.

Judy, Tracey and Betty provide an oasis of calm. Our room was delightfully furnished, we had a great kitchenette, the pool is perfect for the resort. Not only that, we met so many lovely fellow guests whilst lounging round, or in, the pool.

But there are two other special points or, more accurately, people. Kirby provides a great limo service into town with his distinctive red stretch limo. And then there is Steven, a man of all the talents, who quietly and calmly supports the team and cares for the guests and the resort, particulary in the early morning and late afternoon/evening. We would have liked to kidnap him and take him home but Judy (and no doubt Steven as well) would not have been too happy!

Desert Riviera, thank you so much for being how you are and who you are, and please don’t change. We are looking forward to visit you again and also to the addition of a shower by the pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dying to hear about your cruise.... out of San Diego. The both of you made our week.... our absolute pleasure to share our hospitality and "sunny oasis" with you. So happy that you made new friends around the pool.. and had the chance to meet Kirby and use the guest limo. I am happy to share "Chef Stephen" around the grill... however we would all be lost if you kidnapped him!! Look forward to catching up on travel stories... next time. Thank you Both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We felt we were part of a family who made sure we had a great time. From riding the limo to our wonderful restaurants,to making reservations for us, suggestions about hiking trails and all the wonderful amenities at the hotel we really loved our stay. There were snacks in our room and a fire pit for late night talks, a hot tub to soothe our tired muscles ... We will come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoriaLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

The secret is.... it's the guests like yourselves that... "make it"!!
Thrilled that you enjoyed the service.... and took part in the limo and other amenities. We are "tickled" when we are able to help our guests.. "recharge their batteries" and make their getaway turn to lasting memories. Thanks so much... and come back often... so much to explore in Palm Springs..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

What a wonderful experience! Me, my husband and mother (who was visiting us from out of town), drove up to Palm Springs for our anniversary weekend and stayed at the Desert Riviera. First off, Judy and her team were so welcoming and helpful. We all stayed in lovely rooms and Judy took care of every detailed request prior to our stay. Everything from the lovely gift basket to the incredible limo they provided for us was top knotch! However, what made it most special were Judy, Steve and Betty. They were all so knowledgable, helpful and kind. Thank you all so much. Our hotel experience made our overall Palm Springs trip exceptional!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

What a treat it was to have your family (Husband and Yourself and a chance to also meet your Mother) for a lovely Anniversary getaway. You touched us.. as much as we touched you. We hope the next visit to have you and Mom sharing those talented voices of yours.. around the pool. Oh and don't forget to drop us an autographed glossy... in the mail... we want to add you to our celeb's gallery. Thanks for joining us, and next time... a longer stay so you can enjoy more that Palm Springs has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First off, we didn't actually stay here, but want to rate it 5 stars based on our experiences!
I booked here via email based on the Tripadvisor rating, and the pictures of the pool. Rest assurred there is no misrepresetation - the pics are truthful.
Unfortunately, when we arrived, the super-helpful and friendly ownere told us they were out of action because they were having plumbing problems. Tradies had been working around the clock to fix it, but so far no luck.
What happened was that they arranged for us to stay with the sister Hotel California down the street, where we were also treated well. The owners were obviously distressed by the situation. They said we were welcome to use the pool.
Because I wanted to swim in that pool, I returned the next morning, and had it all to myself.
The people here obviously take great care of their guests, and take pride in their establishment. It has that personal touch you don't get in chain hotels or big resorts.

Next time we go back to Palm Springs we will book again! It's a shame we hit a glitch moment, but we couldn't have been better looked after - thanks to all!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arncliffegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

What a lovely written review... you so warmed our hearts, after traveling so far (the other side of "the pond")... to visit us.... yet understanding the "glitch" that we unfortunately had to bare. Thank goodness we have that all behind us... and our huge thanks that you were so kind in allowing us to stay rather, at our sister property. We loved having you back to enjoy the pool.. and I just want to say I LOVE the underwater picture at the 3ft level... Would love to have you share that with us.. on our Facebook and Website. Should Palm Springs be again in your future plans... we would love to have your return. Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I had no idea this hotel was this well appointed. From the street it looks like a decent desert hotel. Walk through the front doors and be ready to be impressed.
It is hip and stylish in every detail. The throwback feel is mixed with beautiful chandeliers, all the hottest furnishings and styling, the works. Fireplaces throughout the property, broad and well groomed grounds, fantastic pool. ...I can't imagine anyone, of any age, that doesn't appreciate great work wouldn't just adore this hotel.
I stay in lots of properties. This is now my desert go-to!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Napaguy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Fabulous hotel with friendly and helpful staff and a great location convenient for Palm Springs central. Superb little touches everywhere you look. Would definitely stay here again and can see why they keep winning the number one slot!! Go and see for yourself. It's worth it. Thanks Judy and the rest of the team.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigger576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRivieraTenders, General Manager at Desert Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

We are very touched that our "little touches" and team efforts pleased you... our every intention! We welcome you back at any time, and promise to make your visit a memorable one. Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,581 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 74 in Palm Springs
726 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
194 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £174 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing