We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can you ask for?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
New London, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What more can you ask for?”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. Honestly, the staff is so helpful that you feel like a pampered royal. also, there is a fleet of free bike cruisers that I used almost every day.
We stayed in room 10 and yes there is road noise, but it really wasn't that bad and the room layout was great
Also there is a complementary shuttle to town(1 1/2 miles) every evening which is great when you don't have a car or want to drink
I used the guest kitchen to do heavy cooking and staff supplies all the condiments

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TinLizzy383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,799
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
180
1,331
54
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

For us the noise at this hotel undermined all of the positives. If that is not a problem for you then you will most likely enjoy Desert Riviera. The positives are all well reported elsewhere, I would just add their new DirectTV package moved our rating up to two points as we were able to see live EPL football.

So the issues:
Room 10 is closest to the road - noise is a constant feature night and day, and indeed when larger vehicles go by, the room vibrates. The room had its own water feature clearly designed to mask the noise and we were also supplied with a white noise generator (which thankfully did help us get some sleep). The room also had inadequate blinds so that the garden spotlights shined into the room at night.

The pool area had music playing 12 hours a day - this got rather grating at times (again not very romantic) but again, was clearly designed to mask the road noise.

The other issue with the pool area (think courtyard with rooms all opening out onto it) is that it is the only common area / access, so if you are out there on your lounger you are on display to each new guest being shown their room, the management, the room cleaning staff and the gardening/maintenance men...again not really our definition of romantic. Additionally this area is also where people smoke.

Room Tip: Low number rooms away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M&G_OnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

It was such a pleasure meeting all the staff. Steve went above and beyond making us feel looked after,Teaching me some of his cooking secrets and driving us out for supper at restaurants.
Misty, Judy, and the cleaning staff were superb in meeting our every need. The owners, Rick and Martha threw a Superbowl party for all the guests and visited with everyone. What a nice touch that was. If you can get a booking I am sure you will enjoy meeting them all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WTKinsella3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Grove, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Totally enjoyed our short visit to Palm Springs. Couldn't have picked a better hotel. Loved the vintage-new decor, beautiful pool just outside our door, comfortable beds (and pillows!), and the bicycles available to guests for tooling around town. Best of all was the staff, always willing to go the extra mile to make our visit enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Double_JAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were fortunate enough to escape the cold winter doldrums of Winnipeg for a fabulous 4-night stay at the Desert Riviera. We were very impressed, enjoyed every minute of our stay and didn't want to leave!
Our time there was a refreshing change to the large and impersonal resorts where we have stayed in the past. All the personal touches we received here were really appreciated (too many to mention) and made our stay so much more enjoyable. The rooms were immaculate, had everything we needed and the pool area was well maintained and provided a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. The views of the mountains all around the pool were spectacular!
Thanks to the owners, Rick and Martha and the entire staff for being such gracious and accommodating hosts. We will definitely be back for another visit and highly recommend this fabulous hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in #5 (a king bed suite) and it was in the center of the pool area where we had an excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I really like the fact that there are only about 10 rooms which make it a cozier hotel compared to those big crowded ones. The beds were comfortable and the grounds and pool were very nice looking.
I did not care for the street noise or the loud air conditioner. If it wasn't for those 2 things I would have given it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank concrete1California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

From the frozen hinterlands of Michigan to the sunshine and warmth of Palm Springs in late January...what could be better? Staying at the Desert Riviera Hotel, which is exactly what we did for three warm, inviting nights and four fabulous, sun kissed days.

Everyone on staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are immaculate and comfortable, the grounds a visual delight.

Since we're on Eastern time, we were in the hot tub by 6 am (9 am our time) with a fresh cup coffee...from there to the 90 degree pool...and then it was a series of difficult choices...do we lay by the pool in the sunshine? Take a tour of the rich and famous homes in Palm Springs? Visit the 26 foot tall statue of Marilyn? Wander the downtown shops and eat at any of dozens of restaurants?

Too soon our time was up and we flew back to the snow and cold, but Palm Springs and The Desert Riviera Inn are on our list of places to visit again.

Highly recommended! You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but we enjoyed the poolside King with kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolex_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,540 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing