We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fabulous Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fabulous Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This Hotel is indescribable - it's fantastic and incredible..If you need to be well taken care of this is the place for you,- we had the time of our lives there. There is a magic at this property that can't be described, and all the guests I talked too said the same thing, it's just one f those incredibly special places. I have never enjoyed such attention to detail on every level, from my spotless room to being served pastries from the owners Rick & Martha around the pool. Everything was wonderful, people and guests were all so nice. (and the room was really cool)
Judy (manager) made this stay perfect with everything, helping me organize reservations, and making sure I was happy, - she does this so naturally it felt like I was at my home away from home. All the people who work there are wonderful, happy & friendly and want to genuinely take care of the guests,- how rare today. This Hotel is truly a fabulous place, one that makes me sad to leave and I can't wait until I can go back again and enjoy this magic all over again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovePalmSprings19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,755
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
175
1,300
53
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north hollywood
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were prepared to possibly be disappointed when we learned online that Larry and Patty had sold the hotel. However, new owners Rick and Martha, have actually improved on what we already thought was the perfect getaway.
New additions (group kitchen, expanded bbq area) and little tweaks have endeared us even more to the Desert Riviera. Now that we’ve been there four times, we recognized other guests we’ve seen in the past, so obviously we’re not alone in our opinion. We’ll definitely be back next year for our fifth stay.

Room Tip: The pictures and information about the rooms (there are only 11) are spot on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjskns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our first trip to Palm Springs was spent at the perfect hotel. The staff themselves made this an excellent vacation. They all did everything possible to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Fresh pastries in the morning, ice cream pops in the afternoon. Everyone was friendly and we met some awesome people. The other guests were very welcoming and it felt like we were vacationing with a big family! We pretty much stayed by the pool for three days and had a blast. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Overall the trip was very relaxing and we can't wait to go back. Thank you to the entire staff for making this a pleasant vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fritztnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is such a fantastic place to unplug, relax, and recharge. The new(ish) owners Rick and Martha have improved upon an already sparkling gem; leaving all that was right in place and then polishing and adding where they've picked up ideas from their own observations and interaction with the guests. Judy and all of the staff are on top of everything and always making sure you're welcome and well taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueHomebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I had to attend a four day professional conference at the Hyatt in Indian Wells last week but decided to stay at our favorite hotel in Palm Springs...the Desert Riviera. It was as wonderful as ever with great, friendly service and lovely, clean rooms. My husband joined me on the weekend and we loved staying in their new room 11, a spacious, perfectly appointed suite with a full kitchen, private patio and a nice big bath tub.

Room Tip: I have stayed in room 4, 5, 9 and 11. They are all great rooms but the suite (11) was the most spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We love coming to Desert Riviera whenever we come to Palm Springs. Everyone is so nice and welcoming. Steven helped us cook a fantastic dinner, treated us to a bottle of wine and even ice cream pops! Perfect location, SO so clean, amazing attention to details, calm, peaceful, friendly - they will do anything to help make your stay in Palm Springs perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenm666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I wished I didn't have to write this review because I don't want the world knowing of the best kept secret in all of California. The return stay to the hotel just keeps getting better and better. We are all on first name basis no one is a stranger. Judy keeps putting us in the best restaurants in town and also has time for directions around town, she asks if you like a ride to any restaurant in town. We received our champagne for our celebration and pictures too. We are gonna miss all of the staff :(.. We just might return sooner than later. ;)

Room Tip: They are all great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattyg2876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#11 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing