We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing....again....again...and again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing....again....again...and again”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Sorry this review is so late Judy!
As always, this place is simply incredible!
We've been coming here since 2008 and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.
Worried when we heard new owners had taken over but Rick and Martha are lovely and made some great improvements to the BBQ area and communal kitchen.
So glad our great friends Judy and Steph are still at the helm. Wouldn't be the same without them.
Great place to hang out with some great friends, drink some wine and eat some delicious food.
Loved our Easter basket and card and extra thanks to Steph for Easter breakfast which was amazing and Misty for driving us around.
Booked again for next year....can't wait to see you all

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JillyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,814
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
183
1,340
55
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Read some other reviews that said this hotel is indescribably fantastic, and that's a great way to put it! Absolutely beautiful, incredibly accommodating, romantic, fun, quiet (no little kids at the pool), clean - it was perfect. My girlfriend and I stayed for a long weekend while we attended a wedding at the Ace Hotel across the street. I couldn't be happier about the decision to stay at the Desert Riviera instead of the Ace. We chose to based on price and some great online reviews for this place, but after spending a lot of time at the Ace for the wedding - I now know it was the right move. All in all - one of my favorite hotels that I've ever stayed at. Can't beat it for the price.

A couple notes...
-The pool area and jacuzzi are beautiful and open 24 hours. It can get a little chilly at night, but the heated pool is perfect. My girlfriend and I hopped in the jacuzzi each night around midnight and had a drink.
-The grill area would be fantastic if I wanted to hang by the pool and grill out. Fully stocked kitchen. Unlimited free water bottles is a perk compared to every other hotel in the world.
-Lots of little perks they throw in - like nice pastries and fruit every morning if you need to grab a snack on the go, and small snacks in each room. Free limo service if you need it. Free bikes to grab and cruise around town on (most other hotels in the area charge for that sort of thing).
-Again, incredible for the price.

Room Tip: Call to book, and do it well in advance for your choice of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This Hotel is indescribable - it's fantastic and incredible..If you need to be well taken care of this is the place for you,- we had the time of our lives there. There is a magic at this property that can't be described, and all the guests I talked too said the same thing, it's just one f those incredibly special places. I have never enjoyed such attention to detail on every level, from my spotless room to being served pastries from the owners Rick & Martha around the pool. Everything was wonderful, people and guests were all so nice. (and the room was really cool)
Judy (manager) made this stay perfect with everything, helping me organize reservations, and making sure I was happy, - she does this so naturally it felt like I was at my home away from home. All the people who work there are wonderful, happy & friendly and want to genuinely take care of the guests,- how rare today. This Hotel is truly a fabulous place, one that makes me sad to leave and I can't wait until I can go back again and enjoy this magic all over again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovePalmSprings19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were prepared to possibly be disappointed when we learned online that Larry and Patty had sold the hotel. However, new owners Rick and Martha, have actually improved on what we already thought was the perfect getaway.
New additions (group kitchen, expanded bbq area) and little tweaks have endeared us even more to the Desert Riviera. Now that we’ve been there four times, we recognized other guests we’ve seen in the past, so obviously we’re not alone in our opinion. We’ll definitely be back next year for our fifth stay.

Room Tip: The pictures and information about the rooms (there are only 11) are spot on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjskns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our first trip to Palm Springs was spent at the perfect hotel. The staff themselves made this an excellent vacation. They all did everything possible to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Fresh pastries in the morning, ice cream pops in the afternoon. Everyone was friendly and we met some awesome people. The other guests were very welcoming and it felt like we were vacationing with a big family! We pretty much stayed by the pool for three days and had a blast. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Overall the trip was very relaxing and we can't wait to go back. Thank you to the entire staff for making this a pleasant vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fritztnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is such a fantastic place to unplug, relax, and recharge. The new(ish) owners Rick and Martha have improved upon an already sparkling gem; leaving all that was right in place and then polishing and adding where they've picked up ideas from their own observations and interaction with the guests. Judy and all of the staff are on top of everything and always making sure you're welcome and well taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueHomebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I had to attend a four day professional conference at the Hyatt in Indian Wells last week but decided to stay at our favorite hotel in Palm Springs...the Desert Riviera. It was as wonderful as ever with great, friendly service and lovely, clean rooms. My husband joined me on the weekend and we loved staying in their new room 11, a spacious, perfectly appointed suite with a full kitchen, private patio and a nice big bath tub.

Room Tip: I have stayed in room 4, 5, 9 and 11. They are all great rooms but the suite (11) was the most spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,258 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#14 of 73 in Palm Springs
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing