We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beats out 5 star top hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beats out 5 star top hotels”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've been traveling all around california staying in different types of accommodation from 3 to 5 stars and I've never had better customer service than desert riviera. I fully understand why they are rated so highly, the go to lengths to please their customers. Their heated pool is wonderful especially at night with candles and music we lay on pool beds and watched the stars I didn't want to leave, and it's open 24 hours a day which is a huge bonus.
The owners are really wonderful as well and they are so friendly I loved chatting to them, you wouldn't get that at chain hotels. The hotel and room had eveything you could need including snacks, water and coffee. We were even offered a ride to the restaurant we were going to dinner to but we decided to drive.
I wish I could've stayed longer than one night but would definitely be back if I'm ever back in the US.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReinaAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,799
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
180
1,331
54
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Relaxing, inviting, beautiful grounds. The pool and jacuzzi were great. Very comfortable and quiet. Love that it is adults only. Very friendly and attentive service. Judy and Misty were very helpful. Looking forward to coming back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We have been going to the Desert Riviera for a few years now. We fell in love with it on day one. Besides the beautiful grounds and rooms, the hospitality is impeccable. Judy and the staff are wonderful and will make you feel right at home as soon as you step in the office to check in.
The atmosphere is quiet, relaxing and you will never want to leave. In fact, we now have several friends that we have made there over the years just from sitting by the pool. We all now return at the same time every year to meet and vacation together.
The rooms are clean mid-century modern, but not overly kitsch. Most have kitchens and there is a grill area that is open for guests to use by the pool. Occasionally Stephan will throw a delicious gourmet barbecue for guests. We were fortunate to be there for Easter, and he and Judy made us a fabulous brunch.
New owners Rick and Martha seem to want to maintain the integrity of the property and are super nice people.
Judy and her family are the heart and soul of the Desert Riviera. They will truly make your stay a special experience.
We have made a lifetime of friends and memories there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have traveled to Palm Springs often, usually at least once a year for the past 4 years. When we go, we like to stay in boutique hotels. The Desert Riviera Hotel has become our absolute favorite. We won't stay anywhere else when we go in the future. The affordability of the hotel compared to the amenities you get cannot be beat. Parking is free. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. When you arrive, Judy will offer you complementary waters and drinks. There is an individual kitchen in each room. There is a huge guest kitchen fully stocked if you feel like cooking for yourself at the poolside grill. The entire staff is friendly and attentive.

I think the biggest factor in what makes this hotel so great, is that it absolutely does not feel like a hotel. This really is the best hotel experience we've ever had in Palm Springs and we cannot wait to get back. Thank you to Judy, Rick, Martha, Steve, Misty, and everyone else on staff for a truly memorable experience. It was incredible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you like to hang out in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere - this is the place. The owners - Rick and Martha, as well as the manager Judy and her chef husband Steve are always nearby to help with whatever you may need. Ride to downtown or the store, more towels, water - just ask. The pool is heated for use all seasons and 24 hours a day. The boutique hotel has only 10 up-to-date rooms and suites so the setting is intimate with a full outdoor kitchen where you can grill and cook whatever you may want. Chef Steve is also available for any cooking adventures you may need assistance with. They have bicycles so you can take a short ride into downtown Palm Springs or the walk is not that far. The architecture is atomic era with the hotel being located in one of the original neighborhoods of Palm Springs - close to the airport and shopping. I can only give this place our highest rating - We will be back!

Room Tip: Call ahead with your desires. Rooms are different sizes and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolarGreenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I'm one of those over-researchers...Trip Advisor, Yelp-- I use them religiously. My bf chose to do a retro road trip for his biggie bday trip..and I wanted to book at least one place in advance. After looking over all the mid-century modern style accommodations in Palm Springs, I ended up choosing the Desert Riviera, and am still floating from the experience.

From the moment you step inside the courtyard's gate, and meet Judy, the office manager (and sister of the former owner), the experience is reminiscent of visiting family (in only the best of ways). Remembering that it was my bf's bday trip, she had a gratis bottle of champagne chilling in the fridge. She offered us a glass of wine, beer, or a cold soft drink upon arrival, and took us to Room 5, Poolside. All the rooms we saw surrounded the pool, retro motel stylie. The pool was gorgeous, and the gardens lush with palms, hisbiscus, and... hummingbirds! For this east coast girl, the "mister" in the pool area was exotic and refreshing.

If we were staying longer we would def have taken advantage of the new giant outdoor kitchen, complete with giant grills and even spices and condiments.

Our room was large, with a separate kitchenette alcove and a large bathroom. A/C worked great. Simple, non-fussy accommodations, with lots of extras like chilled water and soda in the fridge, as well as a basket of snacks (fig newtons, crackers, cookies, etc).

The next morning, bf woke early and had quiet bliss by the pool with his laptop, sipping the coffee from the motel office lobby. Then-- get this-- we hopped on two of the DR's beach cruiser bikes and got coffee from the awesome "Koffi", a much needed stop for these Seattle coffee snobs.. followed by a leisurely short ride around the neighborhood.
Check out is officially 11, but since the place wasn't full, Judy offered to let us pick our own check out time!! What?? Wow... Sadly, we needed to push off at 12, but we were so smitten that we tentatively reserved a room for the end of the trip as well.. This place is NOT to be missed. The staff (owners Rick and Martha), Judy and Steve, (friendly,helpful and energetic) are proof positive that great energy and intention begets awesome results...we are thrilled!. This will be our go-to place in Palm Springs, no question. Go here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrapindreamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Being from Washington State, we look forward every year to shaking off the winter blues (and moss) and spending an extended weekend at Desert Riviera in early May. Palm Springs is wonderful, but the owners and staff at DR make staying there so relaxing. Mostly, lounging around the pool is order of the day, nice and peaceful, but we adventured out for a beautiful hike through Palm Canyon on this trip based on staff recommendations. Great trip, love the new community kitchen and bbq. My favorite thing, having the rental car company drop a car at the hotel for our random use (day trip to Joshua Tree - MUST DO) - ask Judy. See you next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChattaroyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,539 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing