We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE WILL BE BACK:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Spanaway, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WE WILL BE BACK:)”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Where to start? Was it the ice cold beer offered at check-in? The owner, Rick, bringing pastries to people around the pool in the morning? Or the Popsicle's in the afternoon? Don't waste your time looking for somewhere awesome to stay! This place is paradise. My wife and were there celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary with three other couples. From BBQ'ing breakfast burritos to chillin' in the pool, this was the most relaxing place I have ever been. We are already planning our trip for next summer. Hospitality was so amazing. We felt like we were in our own backyard. Don't change a thing! The rooms were awesome!!!!! We had the hotel transportation take us into town saturday night.......what a great thing to have available for guests. We are from Washington, and WE WILL BE BACK!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaymon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,799
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
180
1,331
54
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crestline, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Every good thing that people have said about this little hotel are absolutely true. The location is off the beaten path (but a 2-minute drive brings you into the heart of Palm Springs) making it quiet and serene.

The moment you walk in you hear the strains of Frank Sinatra crooning at the pool area. No rooms are bad rooms because they all face the courtyard/pool area. The grounds are beautiful... there’s not a blade of grass out of place.

It seems like everything is free/included: wi-fi, water, sodas, fruit, beakfast, barbecues, laundry facilities... you name it. Our room, can’t vouch for all of them, had a very handy well-appointed kitchenette. Everything was scrupulously clean.

The most impressive thing to me, as a designer, is that there is nothing hokey about the interior design of the rooms. They’ve done 50-60’s retro PERFECTLY and in extraordinarily good taste, a rare thing indeed.

To top it off the personnel were extremely friendly and welcoming. This place is without question a gem, especially a good value off season, and we’d like to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have been staying at the Desert Riviera for 8 years by myself on business and with Joe for pleasure. Needless to say, we love it. Judy and Stephen have become friends/family over the years. But this trip was by far the MOST special because we got married! Since it was just us, we were able to get married under the olive tree at sunset. It was perfect with the gorgeous courtyard all around us, the hummingbirds flying around and the baby bunny in attendance. We topped off the night by going to dinner, in the limo, of course. Judy made the perfect recommendation and made sure the restaurant knew of our occasion, so they treated us like royalty. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect wedding day.

As always, the hotel rooms were clean, comfortable and beautiful. We stayed in the new VIP room, which turned out beautifully. Special wedding treats awaited. Hard to improve on perfection, but the grounds keep getting better, too. The new outdoor grilling area is fantastic. The new owners are lovely, friendly people. We can't wait until next year to go back for our anniversary.

Thank you all for making our special day and our trip perfect.

Diana & Joe
7/7/14

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoonerDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa cruz, california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our third visit to the DR since 2009, last year we stayed at Hotel California, also an awesome place. Larry and Patty no longer own the DR but Rick and Martha were equally as nice and friendly, on the frist day Rick took my wife's glass from her in the pool and went and poured her a glass of wine in the office and they were always asking if they could get us anything , wine ,beer, whatever. Tuesday at lunch he ordered pizza for everybody around the pool. We were there with my brother and his wife and they are huge fans of this place as well ( we should all stop telling people about this place). The new community kitchen is also very cool, ice and water in the fridge as well as anything in the kitchen is there for everybody to help themselves to. The new BBQ area is great as well, OKAY, gotta stop, could go on forever about this place, suffice it to say the whole experience is AWESOME

Room Tip: We prefer the King Poolsides, 3,4,5,6,7. We have been in 4,6, and 7 all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klwbkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I just returned from a quick weekend get away with some friends where we were lucky enough to stay at the Desert Riviera. I found the hotel through Trip Advisor and I'm just so grateful that I did because this place was perfect. We arrived late Friday afternoon, around 530pm and Misty checked us in. She immediately offered us beer or wine to wind down from our drive. What a perfect way to start our stay. Once checked in she gave us a tour of the property and took us to our room where she showed us how everything works. My friends had trusted me in the planning of our trip and they were THRILLED by the service we received.

The property itself is so incredibly well maintained. Everything is clean and organized and anything you could possibly want is at your disposal. There were bikes available to ride around town, a BBQ area so you could cook your own meals, a kitchenette in the room as well as a bigger shared kitchen, bottles of water, donuts in the morning, misters cooling down the lounge chairs, lots of floaties ... it was just perfect. The owner of the hotel even came around in the afternoon and gave everyone lounging by the pool, which was most of the hotel patrons, a popsicle. He seemed to know everyone by name and made everyone feel so welcome.

Saturday night my friends and I decided to go downtown for dinner and Misty not only recommended a few places, but she drove us to the restaurant in the hotel provided transportation and picked us up later that night.

My only regret is not staying longer. I can not wait to come back and bring more friends and family. I left the hotel feeling completely relaxed and recharged and looking forward to the next time I can escape for the weekend.

Thank you so much to the out of the world staff at The Desert Riviera for such an awesome weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this hotel. Everyone at this hotel were the greatest! The hotel is so unique-so peaceful, relaxing and close to everything . Limo service to downtown, which came in very handy. The best ambiance ever hanging out by the pool- music, candlelight and great people. So many personal touches. Will definately go back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamamaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

First time to palm springs, stayed here with wife. Pretty perfect, awesome rooms. Probably the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The young lady at the front desk was funny, cool and helpful. The pool was great, same with hot tub. The evening ambiance was spot on. The only disappointment was we didn't see a continental breakfast but I may have invented that expectation myself so I still give them a well deserved 5 stars. We even purchased 2 of their cush bathrobes with embroidered logo. Well Done!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,540 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing