We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be called the Desert Oasis!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Should be called the Desert Oasis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

Fantastic stay with Larry et al. We were looking for somewhere to stay and called at the DR and the welcome was so great we had no choice other than to stay! A superb package with a limo on hand if you wished to go out but with Downtown only a short walk (20 mins) away we never needed it. Definitely an oasis in the desert,

  • Liked — It's friendly welcome and helpful staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JimtheVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,755
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
175
1,300
53
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

I have stayed at the Desert Riviera on multiple occasions. It is a wonderful hotel. Larry, Patty and Judy all are gracious hosts and will bend over backwards to make your stay relaxing and entertaining.
Larry has a Limo for trips to and from downtown or the airport and they increased the # of available bikes for a short ride into town.
The rooms are wonderful with built in kitchens and all but one is very large.
Larry has a very large selection of DVD movies both recent and classics—and every room has a HD TV and DVD player.
Larry is happy to change the background pool music—if you read the previous review and wish a more contemporary mix. The pool and hot tub are wonderful and everything is extremely clean; Fire Pit, wonderful grass area and lots of room to lounge.
If you are driving your own car to Palm Springs, Larry has the best hand car wash in town and it’s right on the way to downtown. Larry is gracious enough to offer a complementary wash for anyone that stays at the hotel—just ask Larry for a business card. My car always looks brand new on the way out of town after a great stay—just one more reason to feel good after a long weekend.
I’ve usually stayed for business meeting as the convention center—and find it relaxing to have a hotel just off the main strip. The WiFi always works well and he’ll even drop you off if you don’t want to drive.
I’ve recommended family to stay for a short romantic trip and they enjoyed themselves just as much as I did. Don’t look any further—just call and make an appointment.

  • Liked — Immaculate rooms and pool area: gracious hosts.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank olivenhain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

I booked this hotel purely on a whim. My husband and I left Ohio to visit our son at the Marine base in Twentynine palms and before leaving the house I looked on Trip Advisor for hotels in Palm Springs just in case we went there. Well, that is exactly where we ended up and since this hotel was rated the #1 Palm Springs experience, I figured it was a sure bet and we were not disappointed. Judy was wonderful from the start, and the rooms were very clean and fun in a retro kind of way. We all loved the pool courtyard area and at night we enjoyed sitting by the fire pit. My husband and I liked it so much we would like to come back by ourselves and just relax by that beautiful pool area. Our son also liked it very much and would like to bring his girlfriend for a visit. They offer free smiles,bikes, limosine services, bottled water, soft drinks, coffee, and little in room snacks! What more could you ask for!! I hope to come back someday!!

  • Liked — The rooms were very nice, and every necessity was thought of
  • Disliked — street noise was somewhat annoying but not overbearing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtotravel1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

We stayed here a year ago for my husbands birthday. We were so pampered it was amazing. We came back this year as we are looking to move here and again Larry and Patti were above our expectations. We sat by the fire pit and shared many laughs. We met other guests and it was like being with family. Any time we needed a ride to town it was there. If we needed anything they were there. Simply like a 5 star family abode.

  • Liked — It was small and no children
  • Disliked — I could not stay long enough
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cabo_grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2009

To sum up, this place is everything you expect a Palm Springs motel should be. We wanted to get the feel of what it was like living in the 1950's in this desert resort without having to give up anything at all in terms of cleanliness, style, and comfort.

We spent three nights over the long weekend. We had Room #6 which was a poolside King. Honestly, all 10 rooms are great, although one or two may be smaller - they certainly note this on their website. This place was like having your own mid-century modern home with pool and spa. Most other guests kept to themselves, but the pool area certainly allows co-mingling if you are the friendly sort.

The room was spotless. There were a lot of retro features original the to the room, yet with updated features such as flat screen and a modern kitchen. We slept great - we didn't hear any road noise as previously mentioned, although you can hear it from the pool - but I think most motels along the main road are like that. I guess if it were tucked away against the desert you would be paying $100 more a night and then we would start to hear the complaints.

The pool area is so clean and spotless. The details are perfect and they take pride in everything. They provide snacks in your room and cokes and chilled water for the asking. Great bikes are free and you should take them up along the country club to bike around all the cool mid-century houses.

We took a hike up in Indian Canyon - only 15 minutes by car. We took in a spa as well nearby. It was a fancy LA type place, and we couldn't wait to return to our little pool and laying out which is why we came. Like most motels, you are not walking distance to downtown (fine with me), but you have complimentary use of their limo to take you to dinner and back. Its complimentary but you should tip the driver and they offer a suggested tip.

The staff was amazingly friendly. I think its hard to stay at a large hotel after staying here.

Ask for dining recommendations each day. They know what they are talking about.

  • Liked — Pool, Clean, Staff, Relaxed Atmosphere.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kirk20003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokosuka, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

#1 by Far! The owner Judy has taken this place and in two years turned it into the best place to stay in Palm Springs. I think I saw one negative review on Trip Advisor from someone with a family. This is a place to take you significant other and lounge by the pool in beautiful palm springs, not a place to have your kids doing cannon balls. The garden around the pool is immaculate, with humming birds jetting around, and the deck around the pool is made of tiny pebbles imported from a river in Arkansas. The room is filled with complimentaries including chips and sodas, the owners hit me up with a couple of cold brews as soon as we walked in the door. The common room has around 200 modern DVDs to borrow, and even an open bar created from bottles of liquor left behind by previous guests. There are several really nice beach cruisers (including a tandem: ride at the risk of your own relationship!) that you can ride around the cool neighborhood behind the Riviera. On top of the incredible ammenities:
1) They gave me a military discount (One of the owners is former USMC)
2) They upgraded me to the biggest room in the hotel free of charge
3) They gave me an "open ended" check-out b/c they didn't have any reservations for the big room, which allowed us torhike to the Indian Canyons and check out at our leisure.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank BarNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

The owners are amazing. They took such great care of us, gave us recommendations, made us reservations, and helped in everything else. The rooms are beautiful. We borrowed bikes and took a limo to dinner (at no charge). The pool and the spa were wonderful. They earned their place as #1 on Trip Advisor. It was a great stay. We'll definitely be back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lmas14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#11 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#10 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing