We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hospitality”
Reviewed 18 September 2007

I can't agree more with all the other reviews of this hotel. Our stay was wonderful. Larry and Judy both treated us like we were family. They go above and beyond anything you would expect. Larry was so nice to share a couple of beers and Judy was gracious enough to haul us all over Palm Springs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a very relaxing stay amid beautifly landscaped grounds with teriffic hosts.

  • Liked — Decor and staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,820
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
185
1,343
56
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nancy, France
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

What a wonderful place!!! We spent a few days at the Desert Riviera this Summer and we had the best time there. Gorgeous deco, gorgeous pool, fantastic hosts! Everything was made to make us feel comfortable, from pool temperature to the margarita blender in the room kitchenette. Larry introduced us to other guests and we spent evenings chatting to people from all over the world. We are definitely going back next Summer for more relaxation! please don't change, you're the best!!!
Nathalie and Michel from France.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — notihing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mtonnelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thionville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2007

My friends and I were just looking for a plave to stop over in Palm springs on our way to Las Vegas and we just found Heaven! The place looks absolutely wonderful, it is decorated with such a good taste and Larry and everyone there are just the best. They make you feel so comfortable and manage to create a great atmosphere.
We had planned to go and visit Palm Springs during the day and to go out in the evening but we were so comfy in the Hotel that we just stayed there, enjoying the great swimming pool. The air was very hot but the temperature of the pool was just perfect : you could just jump in and not feel cold at all!
In the evening, the place looks magical thanks to the lights around the pool. We spent our evening between the pool and the BBQ, chatting with other guests, it was very very nice.
In fact it was so nice that we had to go back to the Desert Riviera and we changes our itinerary and cancelled our visit in Santa Monica just to go back there and it was just as wonderful.
Thanks for a great time you guys, and see you soon....

  • Liked — The friendlyness of the staff
  • Disliked — I can't find anything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alainhertg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2007

This was the smallest hotel during our trip to California, and it is good to report that equals, and in some ways beats the bigger chains!
All the rooms are around an excellent pool, and our room was large, well decorated, with a most excellent bed, a good bathroom, and a kitchen big enough for a table and chairs.
Candles are set out on the poolside tables after dark, and this makes for a great setting, watching the stars over the mountain. There are misters on whenever it's hot.
Cleaning standards are high, inside the room, the kitchen, and out at the poolside.
Bed was most comfortable. I slept well.
TV included DVD.
Room decoration was 50's/60's retro, and it all worked.
We felt genuinely welcomed, time had been taken to prepare for us, and we plan to stay again next time we're visiting Palm Springs.

  • Liked — The poolside, the pool, the people running the place!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill2524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

Hello, I have used this site many times over my last four months of non-stop travelling and have never been let down by it. I make my first contribution hoping to have it encourage you to visit this sparkling bauble of a desert motel. My body wasn't even fully through the door of the office when Larry offered me a glass of wine. He is the very embodiment of the jovial host. I was ravenous after my drive from LA and went through the complimentary snack basket in the time it took him to call up the Cemetary for me (I had a Sacred Mission to carry out) to get its opening times. When I returned from that he had organised a table for me at a very good restaurant. The rooms are lovely (I had the little garden one), it was tranquil (the town was quiet as it was Heat Full Up), and later I took a solitary midnight swim in the pretty pool gazing up at the palm trees, mountains and full moon. I felt totally safe (lone gal) and in an environment lovingly maintained. I forgot to get my complimentary car wash, Larry's other business but I think he was born to be a hotelier. Was sorry I couldn't have stayed longer - there's a little kitchen, ironing board and all you need to be quite self-sufficient if you needed to be. I would suggest you do more exciting things than ironing - go have a lot of fun. Even though it's safe, clean, equipped, friendly, all those things you want / expect, it also has that 1950's thing of "every hour is martini hour" about it, a slightly louche glamour (the highest praise I personally can bestow).

  • Liked — The whole caboodle, pool, price, people.
  • Disliked — Wireless signal was a bit weak and wonky but no big deal
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lotsaluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucca Valley, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2007

Outstanding property. My wife and I live not too far away and went for a night just to get away and enjoy the pool. The website does not do justice to their rooms, which were exceptional. In addition to being very spacious and spotlessly clean, they did a great job with the decor: lots of tile and a very retro motif but with every modern convenience. The hosts went out of their way to make everyone's stay comfortable and enjoyable. We will go back!

  • Liked — Great rooms
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 66_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

Stayed here the weekend July 27th-29th. Simply put we had a wonderful time! Larry (the owner) was very friendly and approachable - we loved how he introduced the hotel guests to each other. which broke the ice for conversation. The hotel has only 10 rooms so you get to know the other guests if not by talking then by sight. We even shared snacks and beverages with a couple a few rooms down.
The rooms themselves were very clean, the kitchenettes were too cute, loved the shower! Larry reccomened restuarants--highly reccomend the deli place down the street-pastrami was awesome! We also had a in-room couples massage with Pleasann--again highly reccomend!
We have been to Palm Springs a couple of times and stayed at various places..but the Desert Riviera just felt like home. We can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — A full length mirror in the rooms for us gals! =)
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lashanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#14 of 73 in Palm Springs
169 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing