We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Same - Time to move on.....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warm Sands Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warm Sands Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not the Same - Time to move on.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is to confirm the new owners of Warm Sands Villas are making their mark. The very nice straight couple who are the new owners are operating the resort strictly as a business, and it's irrelevant to them whether it's a straight or gay resort. It's just a business proposition for them. At least, that's what they said. They also said the plan is to keep it gay.
During my week, there was no wine & cheese hospitality. In the past, I liked the evening cordial as a way to mingle with other guests and the owners - Matt & Doug.
Overall, the atmosphere isn't the same - it just feels empty and devoid of the personality it once had.
The buildings are very old and some rooms have very old and outdated bathrooms. The beds are good, most of the other furnishings are old and dirty. There's no way I'd sit in the upholstered chair in my room. In the past, I overlooked the worn & dirty furniture, antiquated bathroom and the crumbling and peeling concrete decking area surrounding the pool because of the redeeming qualities of the atmosphere and personality of the resort. But now, I find the aforementioned items disgusting due to the bland atmosphere.

My room had a newer flat screen TV, with a poor selection of channels. There were 2 (gay) porn channels. That surprised me with straight owners. Most of the gay oriented news magazines/publications that are in all the other gay resorts were missing.

The rates are reasonable. It's not the worst gay resort and there are a number of others that I won't stay at, but I don't plan on returning to Warm Sands Villas after many annual and semi-annual visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AMLatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    37
    9
    14
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
65
64
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

like others, I was quite concerned to find that Warm Sands Villas had been sold... and to someone outside our community. I'll admit to feeling a bit awkward upon check-in, having been a patron of WSV for years... new owners AND new staff kinda threw me. But everyone seemed nice and accomodating. My room and the grounds were as I remembered, which is to say they were fine... well-kept and well-maintained. True, the misting system was not working, but, as I understand it, was shut down due to a leak in the system which flooded a mechanical room. It wasn't really an issue for me, as the near-perfect weather didn't really necessitate the use of the misting system. As for the evening happy hour, it was pretty much what it has always been... some tidbits to nibble on (hummus/crackers and chips/salsa) and a few bottles of wine. I am no wine connoisseur, and never really based my stay upon the particular wines served, so it's fine with me. The happy hour is a nice, complimentary gesture on behalf of the owners & staff, and a good way to meet the other guests. I'll agree that they could probably be better about informing the guests when the wine & cheese had been put out. Similarly, the Memorial Day barbeque... many guests were not quite sure if there WAS one or not... no flyers or signs had been placed on the doors or around the property. The barbeque didn't start until around 2 PM. Some guests were not sure there WAS a barbeque, and already had their lunch. In my opinion, these are fairly minor quibbles... and are to be expected when you have new owners AND new staff, so I'll give them a "pass" for now. Most of the gay resorts in Palm Springs are perpetually for sale, and with new owners come different ideas and/or changes... and it usually takes a little time for them to find their groove. But they need to learn fast... and heed the comments offered by guests. WSV always had a loyal client-base... and we can be a demanding, fickle bunch... it doesn't take much for the herd to move on. Why a straight couple would want to own & run a pair of gay, clothing optional resorts- I have no idea... but really, there's no reason they couldn't. To my mind, they just need to buckle down & REALLY understand what their clientele wants... and expects, if they want to make a go of it. My 5 days at WSV were fine... a few awkward moments & occasional lack of communication, but overall, was pretty much as I remembered it. I'll reserve judgement for now, & give them a chance to get their "sea legs". I'm crossing my fingers that they don't mess with the "energy" that always made WSV special.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
11 Thank Slick1361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Unfortunately, I must agree with Don C. The new owners are nice enough, but they're changing things, and not for the better. No more torches around the pool. An insurance problem, they said. Really? No misters durng the day, either. What's up with that? Frank is still there -- bless him -- but two other employees quit during our stay. After years of staying at WSV, looks like we're moving on.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PHX3206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

My partner and I have been staying at Warm Sands Villas for 8 years, we had reservations for April 13 and we we arrived we found they have new owners..Was checked in by a female, who was nice, BUT, this is a male gay resort.

Warm Sands Villas is changing, new owners have only been there for about 3 weeks, but already the great Staff is upset with new owners and it shows(two staff left while we were there). Staff is very unhappy.

I umderstand the new owners are straight, which is ok (as long as they stay behind the picture).

Breakfast in breakfast room is a joke, and Happy Hour is a joke with cheap wine and Ritz crackers.

Place is still clean, grounds are kept up nice, but after staying there for 8 years, we will not return..The new owners do not have a clue how to run a Gay resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JnAn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

My partner and I generally stat at the Inndulge; however, we had plans changed and decided to go to Palm Springs.....of course the Indulge was booked full (as usual). Based on friends comments and web reviews of Warm Sands, we decided to give this place a shot.

The good: Nice grounds, solid rooms, and an overall very relaxing environement.

The bad: Happy hour is just so so. They put out three bottles of two buck chuck, with some ritz crackers. No mixers, no water. They made no effort in making people aware that drinks were ready....all of a sudden it just appeared. It is extremely quiet there, the place was just about empty.

The Ugly: The resort was just recently purchased by a straight couple (who also bought the Innexile...now the La Joya). We were checked in and out by a FEMALE (who is the new onwer). She was pleasant enough AND nothing personal, but I think I speak for 95% of all gay travelers who come to a clothing optional resort.....they want to be greeted by one of our own. The place just seemed to loose that "gay" feeling. The owners live on sight and eat dinner outside and breakfast in the breakfast room. No porn in the rooms (at either resort). The rumor on the street is that they want to turn one, if not both resort, into a straight guest house. This may not be true, but if they are reading this then.....hire a gay manager and stay behind the scenes. May of the returning guest that were there this week end, said they would not return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I was scheduled to be in Southern California two weeks in a row with a four-day break. I decided to head over to palm springs for the long weekend instead of flying Home and turn around and fly right back again. I have heard of the all-male resorts in Palm Springs but I have never experienced them first hand So I decided to give it a try. You only live once.

After doing much research on the Internet, I decided on Warm Sands Villas. I lucked out and made a great decision. I was a little apprehensive at first for a few reasons. One, I was traveling solo. Two, the room seemed a little pricey. Three, I'm not one to get naked in front of strangers. My fears quickly diminished upon check-in.

I was given a tour of the complex and personally escorted to my room. The room was very nice. Comfortable bed, flatscreen HDTV, and a small kitchen with a view of the hot tub. The management and owners were excellent and very friendly. I really enjoyed the breakfast and complimentary evening social hours with beer, wine and snacks. The first night there I made some great friends and hung out with them the rest of the weekend. My stay at Warm Sands was well worth the price. I can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sawtooth27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

the fine folks at warm sands villas charged my credit card twice for the same visit. that's an extra $533 dollars! i'm still arguing with them to get that money back. if you like paying double for a hotel, then you'll love this place!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#29 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Grande Resort
Vista Grande Resort
#1 of 43 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century Palm Springs
Century Palm Springs
#10 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warm Sands Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warm Sands Villas

Property: Warm Sands Villas
Address: 555 S Warm Sands Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-7632
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warm Sands Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Sands Villas an enchanting resort in heart of Warm Sands neighborhood is very close to down town Palm Springs. Featuring charming Spanish architecture with today's amenities, Warm Sands Villas a gay hotel; favorite with its gay men guests for its personal, friendly service and value. Large guestrooms feature new premium king beds, travertine floors, and in-room climate control that handles even the hottest days. Wireless internet access property-wide and upgraded amenity options like flat screen televisions. Relax and get sun in lush green expansive courtyard with views of the San Jacinto Mountains, night time by the fire and under an amazing array of stars - come experience desert hospitality our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Warm Sands Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warm Sands Villas Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing