We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, Accommodating Management”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Warm Sands Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Warm Sands Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay, Accommodating Management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Give this place a try! I stayed at the Warm Sands Villas under previous Management and had a pleasant enough stay. I booked my stay over the 4th of July before realizing the property had been sold. I then got on Trip Advisor and read several negative reviews. I'm really glad I checked the place out for myself.

ALMOST NOTHING HAS CHANGED, folks...

In fact, I received better customer service this visit than I did under the previous owners. I was always addressed by name and asked if there was anything I needed. I requested a very late check out and they were more than willing to oblige me.

I never saw a female employee (I'm guessing, having read the reviews, she is no longer working on site). But I would love to remind frequent guests that under the old management there was a female cleaning person who would WALK INTO YOUR ROOM.

It sounds like there may have been a rough transition for the new owners, but things seem to have evened out now.

This place is great. It's not high end, it never was. But it is friendly, clean, peaceful and has great Management trying to make a go of things. Furthermore, the prices offered on a holiday weekend were great, far below the other place I stay in the Warm Sands Area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    38
    9
    14
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
68
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Let me start by saying that I have stayed at many resorts like this one. In Palm Spring and across the country, and our expectations are pretty realistic. We came back to the Warm Sands Villas since our last stay a couple years back was pleasant.

Unfortunately, this time was not the case. We were greeted by a barren front desk area for a good 5 minutes, and then by unfriendly front desk people who notified us the room we reserved was out of service, we had reserved a Junior Suite which was bit more costly than the Standard rooms. They went ahead and put us into a disgusting closet type of room with the brackets from the flat screen tv's that were ripped off the walls, still on the walls (and replaced for 1980's box tv's). The room was really awful, not even the fridge worked.

We walked to the office and communicated this to the man and his response was to quote us the price we paid and ask us to upgrade. Confused, we went back to our room and returned to the office after regrouping. When we said we wanted an alternative Junior Suite or the original room that we reserved (since the pictures were so drastically different), he started haggling with the price again, as if telling us we did not pay enough and sent us back to the room with the handy man who told us he would be replacing the fridge. After sitting there for a good half an hour and missing further pool time and sun time before dinner, we rallied and made our third trip to the office, knowing he was going to force us to haggle on the pricing again in order to acknowledge our concerns. And we were told to "put ice in the refrigerator" - the handy man had been sent elsewhere and we were left sitting in the room (closet) like idiots.

If the Warm Sands Villas management is not happy with the pricing they set online when they offer reservations, they should change their pricing, not strong arm their guests when they have genuine concerns about the rooms after they have already made a reservation and are there. Furthermore, they should advertise an ice box instead of a refrigerator if you have to carry ice to your fridge in order for it to work. They are not willing to deliver on basic amenities advertised without asking you to pay more than you did on your reservation. They should not punish early planners like myself if they are not comfortable honoring the pricing for bookings made far in advance.

After 3 TRIPS to the office, there was an uncomfortable 10 minute stand off, where I had to repeatedly clarify to the man at the desk that we were unhappy with the room and the lack of maintenance (mainly the non-working fridge which we were counting on during a hot weekend) and after staring at us in silence for a long period that made us even more uncomfortable and upset, he sent us to another room. He also said they would notify us if another room opened up, which of course never happened.

The other room was not a Junior Suite, it had no microwave but at least the fridge worked. We decided to just stay there instead of wasting another hour arguing trying to be acknowledged by this man. We were effectively downgraded, but at least we got to go to the pool and relax before dinner before the day was over. The bathroom was disgusting, the tub was so nasty I took a picture that you can see on my post, wear flip flops...

At the pool we met another couple that boasted about being upgraded for free and even shared how much they paid, which was less than we did. So needless to say, something about us seemed to be the problem. Maybe the way we looked or the fact that we were younger? We will never know because this is the last time that we will be visiting this place. We are very disappointed with the way this was handled: severely poor customer service and unfriendly "make a deal" haggling attitude at the front desk. What happened to the nice people there from our last stay? Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank grommetick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is to confirm the new owners of Warm Sands Villas are making their mark. The very nice straight couple who are the new owners are operating the resort strictly as a business, and it's irrelevant to them whether it's a straight or gay resort. It's just a business proposition for them. At least, that's what they said. They also said the plan is to keep it gay.
During my week, there was no wine & cheese hospitality. In the past, I liked the evening cordial as a way to mingle with other guests and the owners - Matt & Doug.
Overall, the atmosphere isn't the same - it just feels empty and devoid of the personality it once had.
The buildings are very old and some rooms have very old and outdated bathrooms. The beds are good, most of the other furnishings are old and dirty. There's no way I'd sit in the upholstered chair in my room. In the past, I overlooked the worn & dirty furniture, antiquated bathroom and the crumbling and peeling concrete decking area surrounding the pool because of the redeeming qualities of the atmosphere and personality of the resort. But now, I find the aforementioned items disgusting due to the bland atmosphere.

My room had a newer flat screen TV, with a poor selection of channels. There were 2 (gay) porn channels. That surprised me with straight owners. Most of the gay oriented news magazines/publications that are in all the other gay resorts were missing.

The rates are reasonable. It's not the worst gay resort and there are a number of others that I won't stay at, but I don't plan on returning to Warm Sands Villas after many annual and semi-annual visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AMLatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

like others, I was quite concerned to find that Warm Sands Villas had been sold... and to someone outside our community. I'll admit to feeling a bit awkward upon check-in, having been a patron of WSV for years... new owners AND new staff kinda threw me. But everyone seemed nice and accomodating. My room and the grounds were as I remembered, which is to say they were fine... well-kept and well-maintained. True, the misting system was not working, but, as I understand it, was shut down due to a leak in the system which flooded a mechanical room. It wasn't really an issue for me, as the near-perfect weather didn't really necessitate the use of the misting system. As for the evening happy hour, it was pretty much what it has always been... some tidbits to nibble on (hummus/crackers and chips/salsa) and a few bottles of wine. I am no wine connoisseur, and never really based my stay upon the particular wines served, so it's fine with me. The happy hour is a nice, complimentary gesture on behalf of the owners & staff, and a good way to meet the other guests. I'll agree that they could probably be better about informing the guests when the wine & cheese had been put out. Similarly, the Memorial Day barbeque... many guests were not quite sure if there WAS one or not... no flyers or signs had been placed on the doors or around the property. The barbeque didn't start until around 2 PM. Some guests were not sure there WAS a barbeque, and already had their lunch. In my opinion, these are fairly minor quibbles... and are to be expected when you have new owners AND new staff, so I'll give them a "pass" for now. Most of the gay resorts in Palm Springs are perpetually for sale, and with new owners come different ideas and/or changes... and it usually takes a little time for them to find their groove. But they need to learn fast... and heed the comments offered by guests. WSV always had a loyal client-base... and we can be a demanding, fickle bunch... it doesn't take much for the herd to move on. Why a straight couple would want to own & run a pair of gay, clothing optional resorts- I have no idea... but really, there's no reason they couldn't. To my mind, they just need to buckle down & REALLY understand what their clientele wants... and expects, if they want to make a go of it. My 5 days at WSV were fine... a few awkward moments & occasional lack of communication, but overall, was pretty much as I remembered it. I'll reserve judgement for now, & give them a chance to get their "sea legs". I'm crossing my fingers that they don't mess with the "energy" that always made WSV special.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
11 Thank Slick1361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Unfortunately, I must agree with Don C. The new owners are nice enough, but they're changing things, and not for the better. No more torches around the pool. An insurance problem, they said. Really? No misters durng the day, either. What's up with that? Frank is still there -- bless him -- but two other employees quit during our stay. After years of staying at WSV, looks like we're moving on.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PHX3206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

My partner and I have been staying at Warm Sands Villas for 8 years, we had reservations for April 13 and we we arrived we found they have new owners..Was checked in by a female, who was nice, BUT, this is a male gay resort.

Warm Sands Villas is changing, new owners have only been there for about 3 weeks, but already the great Staff is upset with new owners and it shows(two staff left while we were there). Staff is very unhappy.

I umderstand the new owners are straight, which is ok (as long as they stay behind the picture).

Breakfast in breakfast room is a joke, and Happy Hour is a joke with cheap wine and Ritz crackers.

Place is still clean, grounds are kept up nice, but after staying there for 8 years, we will not return..The new owners do not have a clue how to run a Gay resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JnAn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

My partner and I generally stat at the Inndulge; however, we had plans changed and decided to go to Palm Springs.....of course the Indulge was booked full (as usual). Based on friends comments and web reviews of Warm Sands, we decided to give this place a shot.

The good: Nice grounds, solid rooms, and an overall very relaxing environement.

The bad: Happy hour is just so so. They put out three bottles of two buck chuck, with some ritz crackers. No mixers, no water. They made no effort in making people aware that drinks were ready....all of a sudden it just appeared. It is extremely quiet there, the place was just about empty.

The Ugly: The resort was just recently purchased by a straight couple (who also bought the Innexile...now the La Joya). We were checked in and out by a FEMALE (who is the new onwer). She was pleasant enough AND nothing personal, but I think I speak for 95% of all gay travelers who come to a clothing optional resort.....they want to be greeted by one of our own. The place just seemed to loose that "gay" feeling. The owners live on sight and eat dinner outside and breakfast in the breakfast room. No porn in the rooms (at either resort). The rumor on the street is that they want to turn one, if not both resort, into a straight guest house. This may not be true, but if they are reading this then.....hire a gay manager and stay behind the scenes. May of the returning guest that were there this week end, said they would not return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#21 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#4 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
2.2 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#46 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warm Sands Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warm Sands Villas

Property: Warm Sands Villas
Address: 555 S Warm Sands Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-7632
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warm Sands Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Sands Villas an enchanting resort in heart of Warm Sands neighborhood is very close to down town Palm Springs. Featuring charming Spanish architecture with today's amenities, Warm Sands Villas is known for its personal, friendly service and value. Large guestrooms feature new premium king beds, travertine floors, and in-room climate control that handles even the hottest days. Wireless internet access property-wide and upgraded amenity options like flat screen televisions. Relax and get sun in lush green expansive courtyard with views of the San Jacinto Mountains, night time by the fire and under an amazing array of stars - come experience desert hospitality our way. Book this private resort for your party, family gathering, wedding or business meeting. This is a great private venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warm Sands Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warm Sands Villas Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing