We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place doesn't meet the expectations from their web site...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Canyon Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyon Club Hotel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This place doesn't meet the expectations from their web site...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We went there for a visit since we were planing to stay there for a couple of days. Their web site is impressive. We went there during the week-end and the only employee that was there at the office was obviously not well organized, the reception being a mess... There were a lot of guys all over the place but it was not clean so we decided to go somewhere else...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Can2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    50
    23
    9
    13
See reviews for
1
49
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Rooms are newly painted and clean
Its ok at weekends,but as we where only gueasts midweek felt odd/if you get cheap rate good optiuon/lovely garden

Room Tip: pool view only are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clivebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

we were here for 2 nights in this very nice hotel. the hotel is totally closed so no one can take a look inside. you can be there on the pool or you can go in the garden to have fun with others guys. The owner is very friendly and he even gave us a better room as expectet. the breakfast was okay. the room was clean and the bed was okay. without aircondition in the summer period it is not possible to survive :) there are coming also guys from the city in order to relax on the pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

we where sleeping here (unfortunatly only for 2 nights) in this hotel. we made a small trip to palmsprings in order to visit the city. the owners are very friendly and they even gave us an upgrade of the room. so we had one of the best rooms in the hotel. Very nice! the pool in very refreshing in the hot summer periode. it is also a garden available where you can meet other guys and have fun. the hotel is very clean and the comfort of the bed is very good. tested!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corny110980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I found the hotel overall nice stay. The rooms need some updates. The pool area was very nice and the staff very friendly

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fervijeeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Just returned from a weekend stay at Canyon Club -- which was my second visit in the past year. Since it's late July, the desert was scortchingly hot and the crowd was predictably sparse, which was fine with me and my buddy since we like the heat and we were there primarily to enjoy each other's company.

We arrived at noon and were very pleased when the desk clerk offered us a complimentary upgrade to a King Suite, complete with a full kitchen — and I must say that the hotel's generosity has changed my mind forever about the room I will want to reserve! No more studios for me!!

Since my last stay in September 2010, they've continued to make some wonderful improvements — and I'm sure routine maintenance on such a property in such an envoronment requires a huge ongoing investment. That said, everything in our room was in working order and the entire facility was clean and cared for. I particularly appreciated the new in-room safes. We didn't make use of the steam room, sauna or hot tub (for pretty obvious reasons) but we did spend a good deal of time in the pool and enjoying the park and the playroom. All in all, everything was GREAT!

For those of you who are new to visiting the desert, it's important for you to understand some of the unique laws under which desert resorts operate, particularly when it comes to continental breakfast — and I'm sharing this because of a criticism I heard one of the other guests make about the pastries. For continental breakfast, Canyon Club offers everything you would expect — cereals, breads, muffins, bagels, fruit, coffee, juice — and even hard boiled eggs — but don't be surprised when you see that almost all of the pastries are individually wrapped because THAT'S THE LAW. It's simply unsanitary to have pastries sitting out in the open in a place that is so HOT.

If you want something more substantial for breakfast (or lunch or dinner) there is a restaurant called John's immediately next door to the Canyon Club. John's serves up fast, cheap and pretty darn good food for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Ask the front desk for a menu, phone in your order and in less that 10 minutes your food will be ready for you to pick up and bring back to the resort to enjoy poolside.

And while we're on the subject of the pool (which was very clean and just the right temperature) BE SURE TO BRING YOUR FLIP-FLOPS. The pavement around the pool and on all of the staircases and walkways really soaks up the heat -- and if you're a tenderfoot like me, you'll be hopping, jumping and swearing just making it from your lounge chair to the pool!

Thank you to Canyon Club's friendly and professional staff for making us feel so welcome. We look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GayNaturistTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

After trying 3 other resorts in Palm Springs, Canyon Club was the next.

Gay resorts i PS are a bit like a lottery, depending on what you are searching for, silence to unwind or other gay people to hook up.

Canyon Club is one of the more crowded places from we could tell, though only 7 other rooms were occupied when we got there, but that changed much later.

The resorts is very worn down. It has was you need, but lot of cracks and worn paint and tiles both inside and out.

It features a large pool, one of the largest we have seen is PS yet.

Our night at the pool came with 2 surprises, first the unpleasant "attack" of cockroaches, jumping all over a trying to suicide themselves in the hottub. Maybe first time we experienced this due to the very dimmed light Canyon Club has at night.

The second surprise was several other guests we had not seen before arriving late, but they all came from the garden Canyon Club has.
It was confirmed next morning that it was locals and probably other PS visitors jumping the fence/wall to the garden and cruising around for "adventures"
Though this kinda acts as a bonus to Canyon Club it also leaves some concerns that less trustworthy people easily can get access.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
1.7 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#4 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.6 mi away
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
#15 of 43 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
#7 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
5.9 mi away
CCBC Resort Hotel
CCBC Resort Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cathedral City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#3 of 43 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Club Hotel

Property: Canyon Club Hotel
Address: 960 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4422
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing