We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, well maintained, super friendly”
Review of Canyon Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyon Club Hotel
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here many times. Well maintained, comfortable clean rooms. Grounds immaculate. The pool is maintained at the perfect temperature. Gay guys from all over the world stay here. Clothing optional in an easy atmosphere for guys who like to hang out naked by or in the pool. Steam room, sauna, play room, garden. The staff is very sweet and welcoming. And there is a terrific low-price, good food restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pheel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Canyon Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Returned again this year and my comments remain unchanged except for one thing. I really don't mind the dated tiles and fixtures but do agree with other guests that a bottle of bleach and some caulk go a long way.

I will return but do wish that the housekeeping situation improves.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xjpc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was my first time at this hotel. Location is easy to get in and out. The front desk guy was very nice. The back door entrance by the parking is great, more discrete than resorts where you have to be buzzed in. Pool, jacuzzi and garden areas are nice and well taken care of. Steam room and sauna were clean. Garden area could be fun on a warm day with nudity allowed everywhere. The play room is fun, with glory hole booths, sling, bed and porn. The room was fine. Roomy, the bed was actually really comfortable, ample adult movies on the tv, the kitchen area was fine, cute decor. The bathrooms I agree could use some improvement. The toilet was new, but clogged. The tub/shower had really old tiles. Even though some things were new, it just didn't feel super clean for a bathroom. But it wasn't gross or anything!! It was a slower weekend, but still fairly good mixture of guys staying there. Overall I was satisfied with the stay. Not wowed by anything but not disappointed either.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Have stayed here maybe 3 times over a number of years. The first room we checked into had a rattling air conditioner and I know this would have driven me nuts so we moved to another room. I also noticed that the filter in that a/c was very dirty. The next room, the floor would move (loose boards) when walked on and the carpet was so dirty and old, your feet would get black. I got some type of allergy thing when staying in our room and it cleared up after we left, don't know if it was the mold issue that others talk about here. Also concerned that the roof may collapse as it looks so wavy and decrepit and has heavy concrete type shingles, room ceiling had cracks so also reason for my concern. The bathroom looks like something out of the 1960's and functions as well. The staff and owner seem friendly but oblivious to the mess going on around them. I understand some of the rooms have been renovated, just don't know where that may be. Crowd seems to be mixed and all ages, bears, twinks etc. and most folks friendly and cordial. Four or so twinks on Molly stayed in the room next door and partied all night in the hot tub and were quite noisy until almost sunrise. There appears to be no one around to watch the place on the third shift so anything goes, if you know what I mean. Also a hole in the hedge above the fence in the back, appears folks jump over, and god know who is wandering around at night. I placed a chair up to my door handle at night just in case, the dead bolt would not match the hole so it would not work and again who knows who has the keys to this antiquated system. For the most part appears to be a place "that time has forgotten" IMHO and the owners obviously don't care so time for me to stay elsewhere when visiting Palm Springs.

Room Tip: Maybe upper floor better.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lookingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Having stayed at Canyon Club a few times, I share the view of others about the bathroom mold situation. Palm Springs has a dry climate so there is no excuse for seeing so much mold and mildew in the rooms. And all it takes to remove mold is a bottle of chlorine bleach. It's hard to understand why the owners would not invest in a bottle of bleach to get better reviews and repeat guests. Really hard to figure this out...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times over the past 4 years. The first time, I was in a room near the steam room, HORRIBLE MOLD issues in the bathroom. I complained and they seem to not care. 2 years after that I stayed there for an event, stayed in a room upstairs in the corner, once again HORRIBLE MOLD issues in the bathroom. I thought ok will give them 1 more chance as the prices are reasonable, just got back from staying there this weekend, got the same room upstairs this time as 2 years ago, mold is even worse and horrible stains all over the carpet, my feet and socks were black from just walking around the room. There were some tiles chipped off in the shower and mold behind them as well. They had painted the room since I was there last to try and cover up the mold. Even though the staff is nice, they don't seem to care anymore if you complain, I would say they are used to it and it goes in 1 ear and out the other. ALot of the chairs around the pool were broke, pool toys were thrown all over the outside of the pool and the 2 1/2 days I was there, no one ever seemed to pick them up. The bath towels are torn and frazzled. I just don't seem the owner cares about what it looks like, very sad as I enjoy the clients that come to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DougJ602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

2.5 stars. Bath outdated. Just a tube of caulk would do. The staff very accomodating. Missing fixtures. Furnishings descent. Room lacked light. Too far from gay scene. Lovely gardens. Fix the path to garden. They do allow for pets.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dscottpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
0.4 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#32 of 73 in Palm Springs
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
#8 of 41 in Palm Springs
317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#1 of 41 in Palm Springs
474 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
#4 of 41 in Palm Springs
379 reviews
5.9 mi away
CCBC Resort Hotel
CCBC Resort Hotel
#3 of 6 in Cathedral City
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Club Hotel

Address: 960 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4422
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing