We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Finest in Palm Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolute Finest in Palm Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

When my wife and I travel, we typically look for a hotel that is smaller and offering the best accommodations without breaking the bank to do it. This was our first trip to Palm Springs, for an automobile concours and the initial review of hotels/motels all looked like a "pool scene" which may be popular for many couples, but was not our cup of tea. We wanted something more refined and definitely found it with this historic residence turned into a B & B, The Willows. What a Gem!
Location was perfect on the edge of town being just a couple of short blocks away from all the main street hub-up and next door to the golf course where the concours de elegance was being held. We were fortunate to get one of the remaining rooms at very short notice. It was the spacious 'loft' and in addition to lovely views from all the windows, was on the upper (most quiet) floor and had an extra bathroom, perfect for the guy. For the price of this room, I think it may be the best value there, but enters using a steep narrow staircase, which for some people with lots of baggage or very elderly, could be a negative. If so, chose another room. I felt it was an advantage as it put you on top of the entire residence.
Don't miss their "Happy Hour" with good wines and freshly prepared hors-d'ourves, which were excellent and included in the price as well as an outstanding breakfast with linens and proper silver service. Across the street there is an old, but very established and well kept French restaurant with terrific and well prepared cuisine (bit pricey, but worth it) and many other lesser restaurants within blocks and an easy walk.
This is a hotel where one would not normally find children, nor go there with them. Should we ever have a reason to be in the area again, we would make it a point to stay again in this wonderful small hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexofsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
138
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
paraguay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

This is a wonderfull place, over rankink place, service, location. I'v seen only 10 ranking in BB! hope! people don't know about this gem in PS!!!

No pics at this time, need not pics only the sound, the spirit of Albert (Einstein) and Marion davis

  • Liked — discretion, style, respectful
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asucion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

I stay at this wonderful paradise once a year. The rooms are so beautiful with the antique furniture and the linens they put on the beds, to the nice soft robes provided to use after a nice bath in the claw and ball bath tub. The room I stay in has a firepalce, that is already turned on for me when I arrive, to cuddle in front of after my long drive on a cold november afternoon. Around 5:00P I wonder down to the beautiful living room with a view out to the pool from the balocny or one can mosey outside and sit under the fresco painted on the ceiling, and enjoy a glass of wine with a variety of cheeses and fruit to chose from. Then off to dinner to down town Palm Sprngs which is walking distance, or you can drive your car that is parked behnd the security of a large gate. Since they give you your own key one can come and go as they please.
The staff, one cannot say enough of, so friendly and respectful of ones privacy. To top off the stay the 3 to 4 course breakfast in the lovely dining room with a painted ceiling and waterfall just right outside your table is wonderful, one can take there time to eat. I was never rushed, all and all the stay was a dream I love this beautiful inn so much I go back year after year. The house is full of lovely antiques and it is very comfortable. One can swim in the heated pool or take a jacuzzi if you so disire, or walk the lovely grounds where Enstein loved to go and Clarke Gable and Carole Lombard. Marion Davies also loved this home the inn has a room named after her since she did live here at one time.
so much history is here, if you are into hollywood history this is the place for you, or if you are just after comfort, nice people and privacy this is it. You will love the Willows Inn, I go year after year.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ginger463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2007

I just returned from a stay at the Willows Inn in Palm Springs. It is one of the loveliest properties to have a quiet "getaway" weekend. You are surrounded with the most elegant and luxurious and surrounds imaginable. You are given the "keys" to your own private "villa" with security gates to ensure the utmost repose. You can wander along the same paths of the gardens as Albert Einstein, Marion Davies, Clark Gable and Carole Lombard's feet once walked. Dine with a gourmet three course breakfast each morning served by excellent and unobtrusive staff with antique silver and china, table linens and fresh orchids while enjoying the sound of songbirds with the peaceful and tranquil sound of soothing water from a 50 foot waterfall as the backdrop. Enjoy a room with unique mountain, garden and waterfall vistas with exquisite decor of antique furniture, live palms, luxurious bed linens, pillows, bath linens and bath products, specialty wrapped "treats" for a snack, a refrigerator with complimentary beverages, and the glow of a fireplace to stay off a chilly desert evening. The staff is exceptional, most accommodating and eager to promptly meet your every need or request. Evening reception features fine boutique wines from around the world and a variety of delectable hors d'oeuvres. The Willows Inn is definitely a well kept "secret hideaway" to rest, relax and enjoy delightful surroundings in a quiet, serene and tranquil paradise. I will definitely be returning to The Willows time and time again! I will eagerly anticipate and "daydream" about my next stay here.....

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank franny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2006

My husband and I travel often and this was one of the best experiences we have had. The staff were professional and service oriented without being stuffy. The food was delightful.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
15 Thank connieandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2005

Year after year we visit the Willows.. and it always exceeds our expectations. The inn is beautifully maintained and wonderfully staffed. The rooms are all suberbl. We had to try each out before finding our favorite. I can't say enough about this very special place!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank bhoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.7 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#15 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.6 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
0.7 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 412 W. Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willows 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vacation at The Willows Historic Palm Springs Inn feels like a visit to a friend's country estate; or rather, an acquaintance who has welcomed some very famous friends into their home over the years. Nestled among stunning mountain vistas, The Willows Historic Palm Springs Inn has been a Hollywood favorite for nearly a century. Today, this Mediterranean villa has been meticulously restored to its original elegance of the 1930s. Mahogany-beamed ceilings and natural stone fireplaces are accented by modern amenities such as complimentary high-speed wireless,in-room DVD players and iPod docking stations. A three-course gourmet breakfast next to the waterfall and nightly wine and hors d'oevres are included in the rate, making for an exceptional value. Tour the extensive gardens or relax by the pool. From the luxurious comforters and Egyptian cotton towels, no detail has been overlooked in this secluded desert oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing