We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Monroe Palm Springs
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stylish and clean”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights and everything was perfect.. Room is clean and the property has been newly renovated. Staff are accommodating and location is ideal. Breakfast is incl across the road at the diner. Pool and spa facilities were great.. Ask for a towel at reception..

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Keffali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    122
    68
    17
    19
See reviews for
69
116
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I normally like to stay a little closer to the main strip but left my booking until the last day, so the monroe looked a good bet for under a C-spot. It's on the north end and recently redecorated - quite decently as well. I was travelling with my daughter as well and so this one one of the few that had two beds, further narrowing the search. I'd have given it a three star were it not for the excellent management - there were three problems with minor things in the room (lights, light timer and bathroom door latch) and all three were fixed while we went out to dinner. Of all the hundreds of hotels I've stayed in, this is the first time that such things were fixed so quickly and so properly - kudos.
Both Canyon drive on the back end and Palm Canyon on the front side are busy roads and noisy in the morning, so a poolside is quieter. The pool is also nice.
You get $3 per person coupons for Rick's across the road for breakfast, which I can tell you, doesn't go far there, although it is a great bacon and egg joint. On the second morning, we went down the street to the Mariposa Cafe in Los Arboles for a lovely courtyard brekky.

Room Tip: poolside rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Free WiFi, HOT breakfast and parking included in the price. Recently renovated sleeping rooms with a comfortable bed and a large screen TV. Staff is very friendly and accommodating, service with a smile. Unexpected amenities (coffee, fruit and breakfast bars in the morning; water, lemonade and cookies in the evening) are provided at the registration area. Would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Palm Springs, may not be as close to downtown as other properties but it is just a cab ride away and less expensive (no resort fees) overall.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornbrook
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Monroe Palm Springs is a wonderful place to stay. It has recently been renovated and I highly recommend it. We stayed 6 days and found the staff was friendly and bent over backwards to make our stay perfect. The room was warm in color, the beds comfortable, they had a good price and the pool was just the right temperature. They offer a breakfast coupon for a Cafe across the street from the hotel. The food was good. If I lived closer I would use this hotel for a mini get-away.

Green Features: Since I have allergies they used environmental friendly cleaning products in my room. Also they provide organic shampoo, conditioner and lotion.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Very good hotel, good location, nice pool. Very good to explore Palm Springs and the area. Breakfast in Ricks Café is cool, you feel like back in the 80s – super!!!

New renovated hotel and very helpful and friendly staff. They made us a perfect stay.

We came from LA and enjoyed the stay going to the Joshua Tree Park.

We staid there two times one time in Mai and in August.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilly1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This Monroe Palm Springs was our 'home base' for 44 people (and 22 old cars) during a 'mini-tour' event with our car club. We arrived Sunday afternoon with one from as far away as Oregon (but most from the S. F., Bay Area) and departed early Saturday morning.

During our stay the staff was very accommodating with Denise, Stephan and the others tending to all of our daily needs. Each day, the house maids made the beds and replenished the towels in all of our rooms making us feel quite comfortable when we returned from our 'day trips' into the desert.

Just to elaborate on one example of outstanding service was when I needed to have a reference document printed from the Internet (an automotive wiring diagram). I asked Denise if I could send the information to her embedded in an email so that she could print it for me. This document was extremely helpful in solving a nagging problem with one of the 'old cars' on our tour and we had it 'repaired' and back in service very quickly.

Thank you 'big time' Denise!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor may be a bit 'quiter'. Back of the motel get the early morning sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This place is a good deal in Palm Springs when you are looking for a clean and updated hotel. It's a mid century building which has undergone a nice makeover this year. Upon arrival I was given a room on the 1st floor around the corner of the reception close to the street.There was quite some noise from the street so I immediately asked for another room. This was no problem and I got a nice room in the middle of the property but still facing the pool.

Rooms are quite basic but decorated in nice colours and wooden like floors. My bed was comfortable. Breakfast at the DIner across the street was tasty. I did not order the eggs on the voucher so I got a 3 dollar discount on my food instead.

Stayed here for 3 nights which gave me time to enjoy the decent size clean swimming pool and sun loungers. Location is quite OK but perhaps a bit too far from Downtown if you want to walk during summer time.

Normaly I go to the Rendezvous in Palm Spring but as it was fully booked I choose the Monroe which was a nice alternative at a very good price. It's not a boutique place but comfortable enough.

Room Tip: try to get a room closer to the middle of the property so you have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerhardvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
3.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#47 of 73 in Palm Springs
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 73 in Palm Springs
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#35 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#28 of 73 in Palm Springs
404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
391 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caliente Tropics Resort
Caliente Tropics Resort
#44 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monroe Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monroe Palm Springs

Property: The Monroe Palm Springs
Address: 1900 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-2920 (Formerly Palm Springs Super 8 Lodge)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Monroe Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monroe Palm Springs is ideally located within walking distance of the Designer District and only minutes from Downtown Palm Springs. Exciting Palm Springs has been a favorite getaway for celebrities and is rich with Hollywood History both past and present. A great destination for all and something to offer everyone including amazing World Class Golf Courses, Spas, Casinos, Nightlife, Celebrity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Monroe Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing