We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Monroe Palm Springs
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Riverside, California
2 reviews
“Sweet Spot”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here two nights for Modernism Week (Vintage Trailer Show)- nice room, very comfortable beds. Pool area is great- heated pool and a jacuzzi. Staff was very friendly- a worker even went to the office and got us towels while we were in the pool. We didn't ask- he offered! Check in was fast- very clean hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Eat at Rick's Coffee Shop right across the street. Food is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkashefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    122
    68
    16
    19
See reviews for
69
115
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was introduced to this hotel as part of our stay and involvement in Modernism Week and the Vintage Trailer Show. I am pleased to say that they helped make our time in Palm Springs a great success. The staff was polite and friendly. I loved the clean and sustainable way they approached the rooms. Prices, beds, bathrooms and ease of getting in and out. Ricks across the street for breakfast. They get an A+ in my book and I will certainly return! Thank You Monroe for going above and beyond for all of us Vintage Trailerites!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janazart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend with the other participants on the Vintage Trsiler Show that was part of Modernism Week. It was perfect for our large group. Service was super friendly, and our room was great: clean, well-outfitted and comfortable on all levels. Near everything in Palm Springs. Rick's restaurant across street was nifty breakfast place and fun BBQ at Cowboy BBQ next door. Also, nice pool and jacuzzi. Only down side was Internet was spotty and on busy street. I would happily stay here again!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I am constantly on the lookout for great hotels in the Palm Springs area since it is one of my boyfriend and I's favorite places. I came across The Monroe while searching for an affordable choice for the Valentine's weekend. We were very pleasantly surprised.

The location is just north of the main strip and only a few minutes drives to all the shops and dining. When we pulled up I did have to warn my boyfriend that I had seen pictures of the hotel online and that he shouldn't judge but the exterior. It definitely is in need of a major overhaul of the outside paint and stuck in the 80's stucco style. The hotel clerk was very friendly and accommodating as he quickly gave us our keys and free breakfast vouchers. The vouchers are for a diner across the street. We did not end up using them so I am unable to tell you how good the breakfast offerings are.

We booked a single king room. When we opened the door I actually thought we were in the wrong room. It appeared to be a suite. Much larger than what I expected! Still not sure if we got an upgrade or if this is how their king rooms are. Besides the bed there was a couch and chair along with a small dining table and 2 chairs. Everything had been renovated to a modernistic style. In the vein of mid-century. Colors are vibrant and appealing. The floors are done in a vinyl type hardwood pattern. Many previous reviewers made snide comments that the floors aren't real hardwood. I might be wrong but i'm pretty sure the hotel doesn't claim it is real hardwood so get over it people. I much prefer the fake to nasty carpet anyways!

There is a large tv, safe, microwave, refrigerator as well as a small table area for your coffee maker, free coffee and tea pods as well as the ice bucket and glasses. There were two robes and two pairs of slippers offered for our use along with the standard shampoo, conditioner and lotions. There was a hairdryer and a lighted magnifying mirror in the vanity area which is outside the actual bathroom. My only complaint was that the huge counter space would have been much more inviting with a second sink and more outlets. My boyfriend and I trying to share that small area near the sink & outlet was a bit inconvenient. The bathroom was functional. A toilet and bath/shower combo were the only things in the room. Unfortunately, our toilet did not flush well but we learned to hold the handle down after use. Not a deal breaker, just an inconvenience. I made sure to let the hotel clerk know and he wrote it up on their maintenance form right then and there. The shower worked fine. Water pressure could have been better but isn't that always the case at hotels? :-)

There is a king sized bed with nice linens and nightstands on both sides. Plenty of soft, comfy pillows as well. I prefer very firm mattresses and this was fairly soft. If that's a deal breaker for you then this may not be the place for you.

We only stayed one night and this place was definitely a good value. However, we stayed in room 118 and it was right on the corner and facing the parking lot and the stairwell. All of which made for a very noisy stay. It's on the main walkway to the pool and we were constantly hearing people as they walked by or came down the stairs. The room could use some sound-proofing. I am definitely open to staying again but my boyfriend and I agree that we want a room on the backside of the hotel away from the walkway and main parking lot.

Room Tip: Rooms at the backside of the hotel seem like they'd be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Monroe is a like an unexpected but wonderful surprise - the rates are low enough that it is easy to arrive with fairly low expectations. From the outside the hotel does not impress, but the management, amenities, and comfort are what win you over. We stayed in a room with two queen beds that comfortably slept 4 adults (not always an easy task) and since we were not in the room for long periods during the day, the size of the room (ample enough to freely move about, but not spacious) was not a problem. There is an unstocked mini-refrigerator in the room and bottled water provided. There is food in the "lobby" as best we could tell round-the-clock - what a nice touch to offer fruit, oatmeal, granola bars in the morning in addition to the breakfast coupons, as well as treats in the afternoon/evening. In addition to coffee/tea in the lobby there was also always something cool (lemonade or apple juice) to drink. These little touches are always welcome.

It is important to keep in mind that not only is the rate affordable for a hotel room in Palm Springs, but the rate includes breakfast coupons to the restaurant located across the street which provides at least an additional $6.99 (no tax)/person value. For four people, this was a savings of over $30 since we did not have to pay tax either for breakfast (we did leave a nice tip of course!).

One final note - the property is located on the north side of downtown Palm Springs making it extremely convenient to both Palm Springs proper and to the freeway which is useful if visiting other parts of the Coachella Valley.

Room Tip: The 100 building is a bit closer to the street than the rooms in the 200 building. The rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldexplorer88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Very nice, very clean and very well managed. Desk personnel extremely friendly and knowledgeable of Palm Springs and surrounding area. Located within walking distance of shopping and many fine restaurants. Reasonable rates, very competitive. Won't disappoint.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2223hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This place is my home away from home! I live in Los Angeles, and go to Palm Springs a lot, with and without my roommate. He loves this place as much as I do. When I first started staying here 3 years ago, it was an AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN, and when it came under new ownership since then, it went from being ok, to really a comfy, as well as enjoyable place to stay. The place was remodeled, and a free breakfast @ Rick's Restaurant across the street was added. The wonderful staff makes us feel like welcome guests and the newly restored rooms quiet and relaxing. I have stayed here many times, and never had a problem with anything. Maybe I should just live here! We'll talk about that later.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
3.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#46 of 73 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#35 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
1.6 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#21 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#42 of 73 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caliente Tropics Resort
Caliente Tropics Resort
#45 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monroe Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monroe Palm Springs

Property: The Monroe Palm Springs
Address: 1900 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-2920 (Formerly Palm Springs Super 8 Lodge)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Monroe Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monroe Palm Springs is ideally located within walking distance of the Designer District and only minutes from Downtown Palm Springs. Exciting Palm Springs has been a favorite getaway for celebrities and is rich with Hollywood History both past and present. A great destination for all and something to offer everyone including amazing World Class Golf Courses, Spas, Casinos, Nightlife, Celebrity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Monroe Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing