We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly”
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This was my third stay at the ACE and I'm already planning my fourth visit.
Don't let the word 'hipsters' put you off, there is a friendly vibe here and guests of all shapes and sizes will give you a smile and a hello. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. The service can be a little slow at times but if you're in a relaxed holiday mood (you will be after a day by the pool enjoying the view and cocktails) it won't be too much of a concern.
Kings Highway food is still very good and affordable - you can eat here for every meal and try something new each time.
I had a massage at the spa and it was fantastic. Can be a little pricey but it's worth it if you really want to unwind.

My only complaints would be that housekeeping were a little sloppy this time - a few things were missing from my room when I arrived. There was also an unpleasant smell coming from the restrooms near the lobby. Small things but one of the great things about the ACE chain is their attention to detail.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    248
    126
    68
    43
See reviews for
127
302
57
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My wife and I celebrated our one year wedding anniversary at the Ace Hotel earlier this month and can't stop talking about it.

The entire staff was courteous and accommodating. Nicole checked us in and made our stay even more amazing when she sent up a bottle of champagne to help us celebrate our anniversary. What a great hotel and a fantastic pool! Highly recommended to anyone looking to enjoy a hipper version of a high quality hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthloveshotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa monica, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This is my new Palm Springs "spot". Ace has created a very cool space for hipsters to visit at incredible prices. NOT a good place for families - more of a party environment. We visited on a Thursday and although it was quiet the scene was decidedly couples and girlfriend's getting away.

The menu is fresh and innovative and was created by their own personal chef. The desserts are made each day - we tried the Key Lime pie and Vanilla cheesecake. SO good our feet were tapping. We also had the burger, chilaquiles, and the salad with champagne vinaigrette during our stay - A+. Highly recommend a margarita with salt while you bake in the desert sun. The view from the pools are incredible - desert mountains. We felt that everything was reasonably priced - cocktails by the pool will get expensive (no matter where you are).

The room we stayed in had it's own patio and the bed was WONDERFUL. Soft but still supportive. The headboard is actually a long pillow which was nice for lounging. LOVED the new record player and the nice selection of records in the room. Anything on vinyl is decadent.

Really appreciated having access to their bikes to ride around town, although they need some tuning up. My handlebars moved and I had to keep pulling them up. My friend's bike had a wonky seat that wasn't comfortable no matter how she adjusted. Would be nice to get the bikes for more than 2 hours so you can stop along the way. Still grateful to them for providing the bikes though.

Also, the photo booth is cool; but, expect the last image to get cut off. It's an old machine and the last frame doesn't get fully developed.

Also wish they would clean the patio furniture (attached to our room) - our was so dirty and dusty we didn't want to sit on it. A shame b/c it was so cute.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms by the pool that closes at midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

fun place to stay in palm springs. the rooms are really cute and different, but i think i'd rather stay somewhere with more amenities (nice spa, better restaurant, etc). it's too much of a hipster haven.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haryun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed at the Ace Hotel in May and had a patio room with fireplace.
Positives: gorgeous room, fab shower & nice products, great food in the diner (best veggie burger ever), wonderful location. We loved hanging out on our patio (with the fire on in the evenings), and there's a place nearby where you can go horse riding which I highly recommend. The art museum and architecture tour are definitely worth it too.
Negatives: no rug/cushions on our patio like in the picture, and we didn't get any when we asked, slow service on the terrace, the bikes don't have brakes (you have to pedal backwards). I'd also give the 'Village Fest' thing a miss - hoards of people and touristy tat on stalls.
All in all though, I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyuiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I stayed 3 nights in a fireplace suite (w/my dog). It was a very comfy bed, decent sink/fridge/in room snacks and bar. Tiny bathroom, but functional. Actually this place would be a cool apartment, if it had a kitchen.Canvas chic. There should've been a full length mirror on the bathroom door, for getting dressed for a party...It was a busy weekend - Stagecoach Festival and the hotel was full. But it was quiet and comfy on my side, near the dog patch and second pool @ 425.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrManTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I stayed at this hotel over the Coachella music festival and loved loved loved it! I saw it once before last summer and fell in love then so I had to come back and stay for real this time. It was the perfect place to stay over the festival. Various bands played during the few days, boutiques set up shop, specials were on offer in the spa - all so fantastic.
The vibe & the crowd were all so eclectic and different. The Ace is doing something so different in Palm Springs and damn do they do it well. The rooms are spacious, the staff are great and the diner is a fab place for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The rooms are very affordable and such great value for money.
I heart the Ace Palm Springs and will defo be rebooking for Coachella 2012!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoteluvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#10 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#16 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.1 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#45 of 73 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel and Swim Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel and Swim Club

Property: Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Address: 701 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8811
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#25 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel and Swim Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dine at King’s Highway, drink at the Short Bus, late night at the Amigo Room, swim at the Club, massaged in a Mongolian Yurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ace Hotel and Swim Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel And Swim
Ace Resort And Swim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing