We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ace Hotel and Swim Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could have been better!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and didn't have a great start. During check-in we waited for at least 2 hrs before getting the room. As they have just finished cleaning, the room smells of chemical products. We just open the doors and windows to let the smell out.
The foods in the restaurant is ok, the breakfast is better than lunch though.
The pool is a decent size and has a spa next to it.
Don't expect any valet people to park the car. You have to park the car yourself.
When we checked out there was a power cut so they have to sent out the invoice via email.
The good thing here is the wifi as its has a very strong single throughout the hotel area.
Overall for my experience, I will look for other hotels around the area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank generationspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    239
    123
    67
    43
See reviews for
123
291
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was a fun, inexpensive, hip hotel to hang at over the Spring holiday. I stayed at the Ace Hotel in NYC (that 's the beard reference) and had a pleasant stay so I was looking forward to the same experience in Palm Springs. We were not disappointed.

My wife and I took our teenage daughter and her friend for two nights. We received a free bucket of beers upon arrival (part of the special $100 per room package). Headed directly to the main pool to check it out. It was kid-central but there were plenty of chairs at the pool towards the back. Had to hang some towels over the speakers due to the fact they were cranked up for the people closer to the pool. Music was great though. There's also a "commune" pool nearby that's much quieter. Unfortunately for us it was booked one of he two days for a private party.

Rooms were very funky...in a good way. They were covered in a white type of canvas cloth. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was spit up. Shower and commode were in their own room, sink was part of the main room. We had had a small refrigerator that had a lot of soft drinks and booze. We of course let the girls know it was a "hands-off" policy on the liquor situation. Like the ACE NYC, they have their own TV channels which feature some off beat programming.

Restaurant was great! Good eclectic menu. Decent wine list. We really only ate off the property one day for lunch. Much like the New York City Ace, they serve "Stumphump" coffee which is full bodied and delicious. Pastries were great as well. You can also eat out near the pool but be ready for a noisy atmosphere.

The have bicycles for free. You can use them for 2 hours which was enough time to check out the original, retro homes near the Ace. They also have scooters but we figured the exercise would do us good.

As for the gym, my wife gave it a thumbs up. We never took advantage of the spa so I cannot comment on that.

We were surprised how many families with children were at the hotel. A lot of out-of-towners (read: Europeans) which made for an interesting couple of days.

We'll definitely go back. My family had a good time. It wasn't too over the top in terms of hipsters...just the right mix. I do agree with some of the folks that check out was a bit of a wait. There are only two folks doing the transactions but they're very accommodating, friendly and are clearly trying their best to get people on their way. Not sure how to correct that with the exception of checking out from your room. I think that's a possibility.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have their own parking lot and you can get directly to your room pretty easil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pkeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Ace is a great relaxing place to stay and escape LA for a couple of days. Family & dog friendly but also very inviting to the average young person. Good music around the pool.. I was surprised by the selection that ranged from Johnny Cash to Neutral Milk Hotel; I guess this place is for the hip youth like everyone is saying. Rooms were cute with canvas curtains, a fun wall with random pictures hanging on it, nice flat screen, and very comfortable beds. Kind of retro decor in the rooms and around the pool area. Loved the circular shade canvases that you could adjust over your lounge chair to block the sun. My boyfriend was really into the hammocks in the shaded area. Mom's favorite area was the viewing deck where you can get up a little higher to take gorgeous sunset pictures.

Robes were provided for everyone and we enjoyed wearing them around the pool while sipping on rum strawberry slushies and dipping our feet in the hot tub. The staff is really nice about letting you eat snacks from King's Highway restaurant (good place).. the waiter even brought our chips & salsa + margaritas to the edge of the hot tub so we could eat it while taking a dip. Children aren't supposed to go in the hot tub if they are under 12 but there always seemed to be little guys in it while I was there; they were respectful and behaving so it wasn't really an issue. Plus the hot tub is pretty huge so everyone had their own space. We got a room without a view of the pool to avoid noise.. it was very quiet where we stayed. The hotel also had a great location and it was easy to get to the tram, downtown, outlets in Cabazon (if that's your type of thing), and to Idyllwild for a nice horse ride. The $5 photobooth takes credit cards and provided a lot of fun for our group. It's always nice to take home 4 silly black & white photos to remind you of a good trip.

The one big downside to this place was the resort fee. We felt kind of tricked.. we purchased our 3 night stay in advance on expedia thinking we were getting a deal. While we were checking in we were told we'd have to pay an addition $20/night (total of $60) to use their pool and wifi. I don't really see why you'd have to pay for these things twice- the reason people stay here is partially for the pool!! We still had a great time and I'd definitely stay here again but there really was no mention of an extra fee so that is something you may want to consider.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Check in was delayed over an hour and yet no apology. Shockingly unprofessional service, despite of leaving three messages to the manager, we never heard from him.
The room stunk of bleach every time it got cleaned. Do people still use bleach for daily cleaning? We will never go back to this place or recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MILANO1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
192 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Not sure why this place is so pricy, we paid almost 300/night. Went for a bday party, so really didn't have a choice, wouldn't go back at that price. And to add insult to injury, it rained all day Saturday, so no pool party, which is what I hear attracts people to this place. Rooms are okay, beds are terrible, it was a Foton on the floor - are we in college? Cool patio w/a fire place, but couldn't use it since all the seating was soaked. Nightclub there was just okay, terrible music, went both nights we stayed and both nights were terrible. Reggae on a Saturday night - all night? Brutal. Location is also too far to walk to other PS hotspots, need a cab, which just adds to the expense. Next time I'll stick to the Marriott Palm Desert which also has a fun pool scene, but at least if it's raining there are other things to do at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cutecdnchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
park city UT
Level Contributor
164 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Spent three nights at the Ace and really enjoyed it. We had one of the suites upstairs and it was very cool. Chill decor, comfy bed, huge double shower and a really nice living room. The room did smell a bit moldy (which is a bummer for the desert) which I attribute to the shower design - they've set down a wooden slatted floor in the shower. It looks cool and feels good on your feet but basically it never dries and thus, mold. However, this was pretty minor overall. Generally the room was great. The pool is really nice, there are plenty of chairs and places to hang. It can get a bit crowded because, as the full hotel name states, this is a swim club as well as a place to stay. Thus, you'll find lots of locals hanging out as well as hotel guests. Generally I thought this was a good thing and the people that hang out here tended to seem pretty cool. The nightclub was clearly the best and most happening place in town, judging by the fact that every young hipster in town was there every night. Drinks were stiff.

The one thing that left a little bit to be desired was the food. Basically the menu was just lackluster and nothing really tasted that great. Some things that are hard to screw up - like a veggie pot pie - were in fact screwed up (in this case served cold!). Come on guys, you can do better!

The service at the hotel was great. All of the staff people we interacted with seemed genuinely pleased to be there and wanted to help and make it a fun trip. We got lots of suggestions on things to do and places to go. All in all I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank expeditiondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Had a great stay at Ace Hotel this past week in Palm Springs. I will defiantly stay there again and recommend to my friends.

Love the little communal fire places and couches.

Room Tip: I stayed in regular King room. I liked the bottom floor ones ... i.e. no stairs... friend was in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#11 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel and Swim Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel and Swim Club

Property: Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Address: 701 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8811
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#25 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel and Swim Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dine at King’s Highway, drink at the Short Bus, late night at the Amigo Room, swim at the Club, massaged in a Mongolian Yurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ace Hotel and Swim Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel And Swim
Ace Resort And Swim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing