We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roach Motel - Do Not Stay Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Roach Motel - Do Not Stay Here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Wow, where to begin?! We were a group of 15 in 4 rooms with problems galore. I will try to list them all.

At 12:30am we returned from dinner only to find our shower and bed filled with bugs. We called downstairs and reached an unfriendly front desk person who said she would send someone to clean it up. We were disgusted with the amount of bugs in the room that we asked to switch rooms. Deb, the unfriendly front desk person, sighed as if it was a hassle for her to move us. After waiting a few hours for bell service, we were finally in our new room at 3:30am.

The next day we found cockroaches roaming across the bathroom floor and caught them with glasses. Again, we called downstairs, and reached Deb who said there was nothing she could do about it. I explained we needed a manager to come up stairs and remove the cockroaches from the room. She said there was no one on site, we would need to do it ourselves and hung up on me. When I called back down, she picked up the phone and said I can see your room number, I will continue to hang up on you every time you call. This repeated about 5 times until she answered the phone and said she was sending security to my room to remove me from the property for harassing her. I told her it would be appreciated if she sent security up stairs to remove the cockroaches from my room.

Security indeed showed up expecting to find unruly guests and instead learned about the cockroaches. When they called downstairs to say we needed cockroaches removed from the room, she told security there was no manager on site and to have us do it ourselves! Disgusting!!

Now let's talk about the pool service. When we checked in we were told there was an adult pool party at the Chiki pool with a DJ. We were very excited about this. We got to the pool and it was so crowded, there was no place to sit, no chairs, no tables available. Just a bunch of empty lounge chairs with towels on them. We finally found 1 chair for 15 people and decided we were just going to share the chair and put our stuff on it. We asked a pool staff for towels. He brought over used towels. Seriously, one was wet, another one had food on it and none were folded. We asked if they were used and he said "yes, but it's all I have right now." Gross!!

Another one of our rooms also had bugs in it. We called to alert the front desk staff and all they said they could do was come and bleach it and change the sheets. So we had them do this, but, honestly, to not even get a night comped or an apology from the management, or at minimum the management checking us on the next morning is absolutely unacceptable. This room also reeked of cigarette smoke.

There is so much more - hallways filled with dirty dishes and room service trays for hours (probably where the bugs come from), not enough staff on hand given that it was close to capacity, no manager available on night shifts, just a terrible experience for all 15 of us.

Gist - Dirty, overpriced, unfriendly staff, not enough staff.

With so many options in Palm Springs, you really should look elsewhere . There is no reason to stay here. Fortunately, we had great company and were able to enjoy ourselves. Just not the resort.

Buyer beware!!!

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here - Period!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank USCTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    614
    415
    269
    245
See reviews for
395
1,004
90
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel certainly has the wow factor as you enter, with a beautifully decorated mid-century modern mirrored lobby, piano player and a Veuve Clicquot bar (Sunday through Thursday they have a champagne happy hour with $6 glasses of Veuve). But that's about where it stopped for us. We arrived on Friday evening and street parking was available on the side of the hotel (being cost conscious, saving $35 a day on valet is worth it to us for a nice dinner or a few extra drinks at the pool).

We got a good deal on Groupon, and unfortunately our room reflected as much. The room was much smaller than the hotel pictures, poorly laid out with a balcony that over looked the (loud) generator. The carpet and furniture showed signs of wear, but overall the room was clean. The bed was comfortable, but some motels these days have equally nice rooms as the one we stayed in (I'm sure reserved for those who get cheap prices on hotel deal sites- so lesson learned).

On the plus side, we were located right off the lobby and near the pool. This hotel is deceivingly large, so it was nice to be near the pool and front entrance. We didn't eat at the hotel, as the Riviera is convenient to downtown (~$6 uber ride) and there were many restaurants we wanted to try, but the food did smell delicious.

My boyfriend and I are in our mid-twenties and still up for a good time, but the crowd was a little too "jersey shore" for our tastes. It took us almost a 30 minutes to check out on Saturday morning (checkout is at noon) as lines of young people were streaming into the lobby to check in and claim their wrist bands for the pool party. The "pool party" takes place at the back pool and if you don't get there at least by 10 am on the weekends, don't expect to get a lounge chair. Which was fine with us since the pool was already teaming with bachelorette parties in bikini tutus and flower crowns and young fedora clad, party-types bouncing around to the DJ.

We opted for the main pool which was a little more relaxed, but at 12:30pm we were still hard pressed to find two chairs together. Surprisingly the drinks are reasonably priced and well made (all the bartenders here gave generous pours). Hint: There is a nice liquor store across the street that sells a nice selection of champagne (and everything else) at reasonable prices so we opted to make our own Mimosas in the room before heading down to the pool.

While overall the Riviera is nice, next time I think we'll opt for a smaller boutique that is less about the party and more about attention to detail.

Room Tip: Request a room near the main pool for convenience and to avoid noise from the pool party on the week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenMarieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We're glad to have welcomed you and appreciative of your time and thoughtfulness in lending this feedback. While our site certainly exudes a playful vibe, we balance this with our more intimate Chiki Pool, spa services, and more--amenities that cater to a more escapist feel. We'd certainly love the chance to welcome you back and to help create a more tailored experience to your preferences, and we encourage you to reach out again the next time you're headed this way. All our best until then, and many thanks for this recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Beautiful rooms, great service all around. Restaurants are all very good. Pool service is terrific and the food served is excellent.
Fabulous spa!!

Clearly one of the best hotels in Palm Springs. (Not to be confused with the other Riviera Hotel)

Valet or self park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
It's such a pleasure to have shared this visit with you and to hear that you enjoyed it so thoroughly, Robert. We hope to welcome you back and to building many more memories alongside you, and we encourage you to reach out again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Staying at the hotel currently. On my floor I have found so far broken glass and a really dirty hallway. Upon arrival to my room I found a bunch of pubic hair in my bathroom and on the floor and shower. I really had high hopes from the website and pictures.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lasbrisas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We're glad to welcome you to our site and apologetic for any shortcomings you've encountered. We certainly strive to afford an attentive and unrivaled experienced visit for each of our guests, and we're so sorry to have started out on this footing. We hope that you'll reach out to our management team and afford us the opportunity to showcase our site and services at their more typical and finest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The resort itself was very nice. Clean rooms. Nice pools. Every staff member we came across greeted us and was very welcoming, with the exception of one bartender in the bar (blonde female). However, Alfred (front desk) was extremely nice. He was very helpful and when we actually had a problem he addressed the issue quickly and with great customer service. Also, Lauren (waitress) at the Chiki pool, was very nice. We will definetly return and recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: valet was $20, self parking was $8
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n. b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed our attentive services and the playfulness of our site, and we hope to welcome you back to an even more consistent experience the next time around. We thank you for your feedback and encourage you to reach out if there's anything we can do to make your return even more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Riviera is extremely overrated for the quality of service provided and the quality of their pools. What do you go to Palms Springs for if not to lay in a nice cool pool?!?
The Riviera pool is hot and has no cooling system. You know when you are a fresh pool, it has a completely different feel as to when you step into a hot swamp type pool that just sits there in the sun.
Honestly, that's why I paid a little extra as I thought I would be able to enjoy the pool area and ended up being disgusted with the pool water...
Food was okay, hotel food in the end.

Service was disorganized and delayed...

I normally do not moan, but I really don't have anything nice to say except, the rooms are clean and it is peaceful at night and close to everything in the center.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dparkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We're glad to have welcomed you and appreciative of this feedback. While we're glad you enjoyed our hospitality, we apologize if your pool experience came up short. We certainly strive to showcase an incomparable visit of fun in the sun, but we're sorry the heat hindered your experience this time around. We'd welcome the opportunity to further discuss this with you and to welcome you back, and we hope that you'll join us again the next time you're in Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holte, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice boutique hotel with alle the right intentions when you judge by the stylish interior... But it is a bit worn down and could use better maintenance. We had a very nice and spacy one bedroom suite. Two pool areas that were both rather calm durin our three day stay. Staff should get a kick by management. There seemed to be a lot of employees aroud the premises, however the pool area neede to be sweeped with a lot of leafs all over. And in the restaurant we were met by 5 different people serving us during one breakfast... But all in all a good place to stay a little outside the center.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeppe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
It's such a pleasure to have welcomed you to our site, and we appreciate the thoughtfulness of your feedback. We work diligently to ensure our team is affording our guests the very finest in hospitality, and we will surely use this feedback to improve on our services. We look forward to welcoming you back and to showcasing our continued evolution, and we encourage you to reach out again the next time you're headed this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#21 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#32 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#47 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Palm Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Palm Springs Resort

Property: Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Address: 1600 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Palm Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and styled, eclectic, cool, bohemian getaway. Inspired by the nonchalant elegance of Slim Aaron’s photographs, The Riviera is free spirited, vibrant, playful and bohemian with a sprinkling of retro nostalgia. The whimsy of Hollywood Regency in the guest rooms merges with the eclectic spirit of the public areas and makes for a perfectly unique resort getaway in Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Palm Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Resort And Spa, Palm Springs
Riviera Resort & Spa, Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort Palm Springs
Palm Springs Riveria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing