We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colony Palms Hotel
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I expected more from this hotel and was sad not to get it. I was there for the first week of January, 2014. The property is very pretty and upon first arriving it looks and feels great. Reception staff are friendly and welcoming, the grounds are appealing and the initial vibe is nice. Our room though, and the rooms of our friends and other guests we spoke to, were a disappointment. Granted it is an older place, from the 1930s, but the closet was tiny, there was no place to sit comfortably, the bathroom was poorly lit, not well equipped and a bit drab. For the tens of millions of dollars they say was spent on a recent rehab, it is hard to see where the money went. Some additional hooks and towel racks would be nice, the hot and cold faucets were on the wrong sides, the shower was huge but with awful lighting and was just ordinary.

As far as service the restaurant seemed chronically understaffed, with one person doing multiple jobs and clearly overworked. It just needed to be crisper and in line with the expectations of the people it is marketing itself to.

Room Tip: Ask about closet space, room size etc. The locations is good - near town and walkable to shops and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DJJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    181
    80
    33
    32
See reviews for
87
437
53
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

All the basic parts are there, but something is off. The room was only okay for the price (bed and pillows are fine); what's with the strange black and white photos on the wall? The bathroom was standard with terrible lighting and no wow factor (which could easily be fixed). The pool area seating (for sun) was limited at best - granted it was very busy. The restaurant bar was understaffed and food service slow (and somewhat odd). The landscaping and grounds around the pool (which most rooms encircle) were very nice. The place was pleasant , but just seemed to be lacking an identify or someone in charge making the hotel identifiable as a vacation experience. All in all it was a perfectly pleasant stay, but nothing fun or hospitable beyond the basic room and nice landscaped pool (and great Palm Springs weather).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCWGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

There were many aspects of the CPH that we liked - it was very private feeling and the restaurant by the pool was lovely. But all the greenery also made the room really dark. Our room was quite small and the sliding doors to our bathroom didn't glide smoothly, didn't close properly and one of the doors was, broken. The bed was comfortable. We enjoyed our stay but not so much our room. Not sure that we would return at this price.

Room Tip: Maybe look for something on the second floor to get more light in your room and not hidden behind sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

There is so much right with this hotel, it is a shame the service is not better -- which it could be with a modicum of effort. Our nicely decorated Casita Room with outdoor seating and whirlpool was secluded, quiet, and lovely. (One drawback -- there are no drawers in any of the furniture so clothing stays out, in suitcases or on the one crowded shelf in the closet.) The charming and beautiful pool area in the center of the hotel truly is an oasis. So, what was the problem? We arrived to a backed-up valet parking areas with multiple cars stranded in the driveway; the front-desk assigned us to a lower category room than I prepaid, and when I pointed that out, the staffer did not apologize and simply said "it will take a while to get you your room. You can wait in the bar." (No offer of a drink to make up for the mistake.) Throughout, the front desk staff was marginally cheerful and solicitous -- certainly not at the level of a top resort. As an early riser, I ventured out of the room to work on my laptop and then to workout in the fitness room. I ended up sharing the area around the firepit with the night security guard sitting in an adjacent lounge chair who was watching a loud Japanese action film on his portable device which he continued watching after I arrived, and the table in front of the firepit was strewn with empty wine bottles and dirty glasses leftover from the previous-evening's revelers. (I would have thought someone on the night staff could have cleaned it up.) Later, when I asked the guard -- then seated in the lobby -- if he could open the fitness room at 6:15 AM, he reacted as if I was crazy until the front desk representative said to him that it was OK, never saying a word to me (like "Of course, we will be happy to open it for you to use.") All of these service glitches could easily be remedied. By contrast, the housekeeping staff was superb. The room make-up and turn-down were prompt and unobtrusive. The massage therapist in the spa (Scott) was one of the best I have experienced. So, a very pleasant stay marred only by surprising service glitches.

Room Tip: The Casita Rooms are worth the extra money. The outdoor space serves as a living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capcityman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed in early December for a little under a week and had a great time. The staff are awesome and the food is excellent. It's not in the main part of town, which makes it a little quieter, but it is one block from the northern most part of the main strip, so relatively close.
We found the service to be excellent and pretty prompt. Very relaxed and casual atmosphere.
Some tips: Make sure you get a Colony Club Membership if you're staying for several days - it gives you 10% off the room rate and discounts on room service, but you have to tell the staff when they are preparing your final bill, otherwise you may miss out.
Note that there is a $26/day surcharge on all rooms to pay for wifi, the pool, etc. This was not advertised anywhere I could see on the website.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmo1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsted, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was our second stay at the Palms. We had a wonderful room (#20) with a fireplace and views of the grounds and distant mountains. Once you get into the place you enter another world. The grounds are well maintained with lots of little private getaways, one with its own fireplace – very romantic! Soft French music wafts through the place adding to the relaxing and romantic atmosphere. The large pool and hot tub are great for gentle exercise and visiting with other folks. I will say it was a bit cool (50's) this time so the pool was a little less inviting. As mentioned in some of the reviews there are a few dings and bruises here and there but you have to remember the place was built in the 30’s and they have worked hard to maintain the original Spanish/Moorish motif. The Purple Palm restaurant on the grounds in excellent as is Jake’s which is just a short walk. If you are a fitness buff you may find the fitness room in need of a little sprucing up. With the $26 “resort fee” you may find it a little pricey but the grounds, atmosphere and amenities are exceptional. We plan to back again.

Room Tip: Like Room #23 and loved #20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The fantastic website had me thinking this would be more upscale honestly. Though they have done a good job remodeling this place when they took over, and making it very "Palm Springs", it misses the mark on the luxury party. The pool is small, the food was fine (not great), and certain things need updating and replacing. My room was fine, but for the price, I could have had a nicer, larger room in the same area.

The pros are that it's a quick walk to Downtown PS, but you are not immersed in the downtown area so you can relax here. Staff was nice enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrchidGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.1 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#15 of 73 in Palm Springs
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#11 of 73 in Palm Springs
288 reviews
3.6 mi away
Parker Palm Springs
Parker Palm Springs
#31 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Property: Colony Palms Hotel
Address: 572 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6030 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1936 by reputed Purple Gang Mobster Al Wertheimer, the Colony Palms Hotel was once a saloon, speakeasy and gambling house that later became a playground for Hollywood ICONS including Humphrey Bogart, Marilyn Monroe, Clark Gable, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin & Rita Hayworth. Colony Palms Hotel has maintained its nobility as a stunning four-star boutique hotel spread out over a three acre property. The rooms promise subtle sophistication with brilliantly colored mosaic tiles and fabrics, rich woods, and suzani headboards. Many have fireplaces and claw-foot bathtubs. Mature gardens throughout the property provide privacy, and intimate outdoor spaces, and the rooms open to the a central courtyard with pool. The hotel’s restaurant, the Purple Palm boasts exquisite cuisine and a stunning view of both the pool and San Jacinto Mountains. The newly redesigned Spa offers a serene atmosphere and top of the line treatments. Colony Palms Hotel also plays host to a variety of stunning weddings and events, with the option of utilizing a newly refreshed private event space or a full property buyout for a truly intimate celebration. Colony Palms Hotel is a mix of modern luxuries with a dash of romance and tranquil getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing