We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, very average.”
Review of Royal Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sun Inn
Ranked #22 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average, very average.”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Large room with TV, fridge and microwave. Large bed which was too soft for my liking. Average breakfast. Poor WiFi. If you like "average" you'll love this place. It's nothing special. I'd try somewhere else if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsuninn, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing the Royal Sun Inn and for your recent stay and the review.

We appreciate your straight review.

We definitely appreciate every kind of criticism and suggestions about our hotel.

In fact, it’s one of the only ways we can improve.

We are however continuously working to improve our service and amenities to the best level possible.

We shall offer a still wonderful experience with us during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    94
    61
    31
    35
See reviews for
35
133
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

1. Charged my CC without permission. Booked through Expedia under "Pay when you arrive". Gave my CC to hold the room, as I agreed to be responsible for it even if I didn't show up. Got there 2:30pm, 30 minutes before check in time at 3:00pm. Went to pay cash (don't like debt) and the clerk said very quickly, "were all booked up so we had to charge in advance." Told him about the Expedia program and got no reply. Currently trying to contact Expedia.

2. Gave my lady and I a room that had clearly been painted probably that morning. Like a toxic tent in there. thanksgiving eve so all motels were booked. Horrible.

3. There was a pile of dog poop in front of our door that never got cleaned up.

4. Location was decent, breakfast buffet eh

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamradioelijah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsuninn, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Royal Sun Inn during your recent visit.

We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously- for improvement.

We are investigating the Credit card charge issue with the hotel staff and shall take all necessary steps to avoid such unpleasant incidence.

We have enforced an effective cleaning program, and the housekeeping and maintenance staff have been specially instructed to check and confirm.

We also have given special instructions to the hotel staff to offer the best hospitality to all guests.

We are confident that you may consider staying with us in future and have a new satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Lochristi, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

At first we we're looking to find a not to expensive motel and this fitted our criteria. We got a room but upon arriving there we noticed that the room was really outdated and smelled moldy. So basically the room was old, not up to date and well.... run down... but we we're happy to live with that. Now the really bad part was the breakfast that is included. We wanted to get coffee and my girlfriend wanted to get thee. As usual I add milk and she adds vanilla flavored milk to her coffee with those little cups. I open mine up and it was all ..... gobbly and stinked enormly... I emptied it in the trashcan and looked on the bottom... OH MY GOD, the expiration date was 1999..... That's 12 years over date. My gf's vanilla cup milk was worse.... way worse. Expiration date 1982... I am not kidding. And we went back and got like 5 more and they we're all from that date. DO NOT eat breakfast here! The pool is horrible and really dangerous to walk around. The floor is cracked and will cut your feet if you walk there barefooted.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fish2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsuninn, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Royal Sun Inn during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously for improvement.

We apologize for your experience howsoever it might have happened.

We have engaged a professional team to check all the points mentioned in the review and to ensure the rooms are in the finest condition before a new guest is checked in.

We are redoing the pool also shortly.

We request you to make a note of our efforts and request you to stay with us in future and have a new satisfactory experience.

Regards,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Habra, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I've stayed here with a friend or two for 2 years for the CMC-South math conference. The conference is held at the convention center but those hotels are SO much more expensive, so my friends and I stay here instead. It's clean, has nice views from the patios, has a pool and jacuzzi, and continental breakfast. I would totally stay here for a weekend with my hubby too. Not romantic, but cheap and clean. I love this place.

Room Tip: look online for "manager's special"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y3kpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hotel is Older but Clean with a patio. Booking the last minute does not help get a good price. I thought I was paying toooooo muuuuch! The Front desk person was busy writing something and didn't even acknowledge me for a few minutes... is this the way everybody gets greeted? I was very pleased with the service (Lady) in the Breakfast Room,.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoly6219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsuninn, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Royal Sun Inn during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate you for the review and also take it seriously towards improvement.

It is heartening to note your comment on the room.

We have provided the front desk extra training to ensure the highest degree of guest relations. The lady staff has been appreciated on your behalf.

We hope that you will consider staying with us once again and have a new experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Older hotel but was clean, each room had a patio. Clean big pool and Jacuzzi continental breakfast in the morning. Was on the south end of town but only minutes from downtown. Close to shops and restaurants. We stayed on 2nd floor and was quite. We got a good price too for a Saturday! Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Book in advance to get dates you want very reasonable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our third stay at the Royal Sun, so I guess that means something?
The hotel is not grand. It is however well situated, just down from the Palm Springs strip.
Booking in advance you can secure a really good price which is always to be considered when writing a review. Other Trip Advisors have mentioned the staff being 'unhelpful' and to an extent that is true. Some have complained about the breakfasts which personally I have always found to be satisfactory and plentiful. The actual hotel is somewhat 'tired' and in need of a bit of TLC and yes the walls are quite thin. (we had some fairly roudy neighbours of five of our seven days). Yes the air conditioning can be loud but if you're tired, you will sleep. . . we did!
Free internet is always essential for us and it's available at the Royal Sun but, yes there is a but, at the far end of the building (rooms 122 -126) it can be a little intermittent. The helpful guy on reception said when I mentioned it that, yes, internet does do that sometimes?
So in summary; Royal Sun is absolutely fine for a Palm Springs visit. The hotel is more motel than hotel but if the price is right use it and put up with a few 'drawbacks'. The pool by the way is utilitarian but OK not over heated it has to be said.
We'll almost certainly stay there again if we are visiting Palm Springs. For destinations further down the Coachella Valley we'd stay somewhere else. Don't expect too much and don't be put off be the overly critical reviews. It's a 2 star hotel and does what it says on the label.

Room Tip: All rooms similar stay nearer reception for better wifi. Top floor (3rd) rooms will be quieter - no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalsuninn, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Royal Sun Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• I am glad that you find our breakfast satisfactory and plentiful. Breakfast staff received our commendation.

• Staff received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

• Management and desk staff was reminded of their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests remember to be thoughtful of their fellow guests.

• Maintenance was informed of the Loud AC and Internet in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Royal Sun Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
#39 of 73 in Palm Springs
748 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#47 of 73 in Palm Springs
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Palm Springs
Quality Inn Palm Springs
#62 of 73 in Palm Springs
248 reviews
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#28 of 73 in Palm Springs
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knights Inn Palm Springs
Knights Inn Palm Springs
#11 of 23 in Palm Springs
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Inn

Property: Royal Sun Inn
Address: 1700 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8937
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sun Inn known as the “Best Kept Secret” in the desert, due to its ideal location in a quiet residential neighborhood, near the intimate Botanical Garden, away from the noise of the busy streets, yet conveniently situated to most attractions and the famous Downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing