We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, family freindly, dog freindly, clean hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Ranked #63 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, family freindly, dog freindly, clean hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have stayed here numerous times. We have always enjoyed our stay. We always ask for a room on the bottom floor, near the adult pool just for a little bit of peace and quiet. I have done better on the room rate when i call direct to the hotel. They do match rates found on other sites. Oh and if you enjoy Cuban food Ricks restraunt right next door is great!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katieteresa1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    118
    64
    34
    39
See reviews for
73
120
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

My daughter and I went to Silo Inn on 7/16/11. We got there early and were given a room by two very gracious desk employees. The room room was clean, there was coffee and all the soap shampoo, etc. that was needed. We called for some towels for the pool and they were there in about 10 minutes. What wonderful, big towel they were. We were given 4 of them, which was perfect. 2 to cover the lounge and 2 to dry off with.

The pool was wonderful. A few steps outside of our room. And, the fact that there are two pools (one for adults only) was a blessing. I love kids and work with them, it was great to be in an adult pool without all the screaming kids that are having fun. One thing that was amusing, while I was in the pool I turned around and saw some bare cheeks. There was a guy with a G-string on. Got a laugh and am still laughing telling the story at work.

This is my second time at Shilo and will stay there next time I go back. People were having fun at the pool, but there was no crazy stuff going on. This is now my go to place in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninachka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Hubby and I escaped overcast San Diego for some desert heat. Found Shilo from a friend. Large rooms, conveniently close to downtown palm springs, nice helpful staff, green grounds and two pools to lounge. Easy parking, check in and out was simple. We will be back.

Room Tip: Book the day of your arrival - got a good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiegoxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed at Shiloh Inn 2011. I had a so bad experience that it was the last time that my friends, family and I stayed there.
They kicked me 2 hours before check out time out of the room. Never happens something like that to me before.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patschil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed here from July 1st - July 3rd and unfortunately we will never stay here again. We have stayed here in the past and it seems like this place has really gone downhill. I found a huge cockroach in the bathroom and I saved it in a plastic baggie to show the front desk. Well, that accomplished absolutely nothing as the front desk clerk did absolutely nothing other than say he would let his manager know. He did say, "Previous guest must have left it behind". I don't know too many people that travel and stay at hotels and bring cockroaches along for the ride. I wasn't expecting anything in return but an upgrade or a room change would have made the situation a little better. I am glad I found it and not my wife or daughter because we would have been half way home!!! Also, the adult pool was not real clean as there was dirt on the steps and it needed some attention. My advice to anyone reading this review is to save your money and stay elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jp92506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

My sister and I stayed two nites in Palm Springs 4th of Jully weekend at the Shilo. The hotel and staff were so accommodating. We had a wonderful stay. Enjoyed the water and sun. We loved not having to drive once we arrived. The shuttle was very helpful.

One of the front desk employees was our favorite. His name is Javier . What ever we wanted he was there to take care of us. Always had such a nice smile. :) One day the shuttle wasn't available to take us downtown shopping and his boss let him drive the 76 Cadiliac. He was tickled pink.

Thank you again for a great weekend at the Shilo. Until our next visit,

The "Twins" :)

Room Tip: I like the 2nd + floor for my stay. The adult pool was great, no noisey kiddies!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b0bsytwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

I had a relative visiting from NY and she and my 13 and 16 y.o. went from San Diego to Palm Springs for a 2 night stay. Our room was on the first floor with an adult pool view. It was nicely appointed with a small refrigerator, mirowave and small dining table and chairs. We brought food for our stay to keep the costs down and ate very nicely. We did however carry a large cooler which we replinished with ice during our stay. The grounds were absolutely beautiful with palm trees sourrounded by spring flowers. We used the adult pool and it was quiet and clean. The breakfast was great with all sorts of hot coffee drinks, OJ, bagels, yogurt, toast, cereal, etc. We took our breakfast outside and sat in the gazebo. We had a very nice time and even got a later checkout so we could enjoy the pool a little longer. The desk personne were very friendly and helpful. We will be back to this hotel instead of the Holiday Inn which we normally stay at. Don't listen to the negative reviews. This hotel is a diamond in the ruff. Lastly, the view of the mountains and snow on top - breathtaking!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree0053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
4.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
3.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bryce Canyon Country Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Property: The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Address: 1875 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-2917 (Formerly Shilo Inn Palm Springs)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, a 100 percent smoke free hotel, offers affordable rooms and suites in Palm Springs, home of over 100 golf courses. For onsite recreation, guests will find an outdoor adults only pool, outdoor family pool, two whirlpools, a sauna, steam room, and fitness room. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast with their room rate. While there is not a full service restaurant inside the hotel, there are dining destinations nearby. Guests will find Billy Reeds Restaurant and Lounge across the street, Bakers Square in one block, and many more restaurants within a short drive. Conveniently located on Highway 111 close to downtown Palm Springs and the aerial tramway. You will find yourself surrounded by luxury in each of the 124 exquisitely appointed suites at this lovely hotel situated amidst beautifully landscaped courtyards and pools. Children 12 and under stay free with an adult. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. The Palm Springs airport is approximately four miles from the hotel. There are 124 rooms, including suites, on two floors. Standard amenities include air conditioning, alarm clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, telephone, free local calls, and television with ShowTime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing