We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service from staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Ranked #66 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
2 reviews
“Exceptional service from staff!”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I wanted to give the Shilo five stars. The staff definitely deserves special mention, especially Lorraine, who made sure that allergy-safe Cheerios were available for breakfast! This has been our family get-away spot for the last 25-30 years. We now take our "kids" with their own children. It has always been a clean, low-stress, old-school "park outside your door, walk thru the room to your own patio, with pool straight ahead place." Seems like the economy is taking it's toll here, though, e.g., ice machines were missing, rooms need some updating, etc. All in all, still a very pleasant, affordable place to visit, kick back, & enjoy fun in the sun! They also accept dogs, and I love that the rooms have tile floors (no carpet showing evidence of past pets)!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookhillj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    118
    64
    34
    39
See reviews for
73
120
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Overall, nice place, and reasonable rates. Certain drawbacks, ie: aging facilities. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, informing us of what was going on in town. Rooms are well appointed, with microwave and fridge. The big draw for us, however is the ADULTS ONLY pool!

Room Tip: We always ask for a room with access to the Adults-Only pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shawt1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles County
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The reservations desk met our specific room requirements (adjoining, queen beds, by pool & ground level) and accommodated our pets nicely. The rooms are clean, spacious, modern, and had refrigerator, coffee pot, cable T.V., internet. The grounds are well-maintained (pretty landscaping); two pools are clean-fresh; sauna and exercise room are available and family members enjoyed them. They provided a lovely light breakfast (hot/cold cereals, juices, milk, pastries, breads/bagels, coffees/cocoas/teas, hb eggs, jams, etc.). Staff was easy-going and friendly in the Southern California/Palm Springs style and were ready to assist us in any way. They were just neat people. We had a relaxing and fun time and stayed an extra day. They made our trip easy--no stress.

Room Tip: Rooms surround the pools/courtyard; talk to office about your needs, they'll meet them if they c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have stayed here numerous times. We have always enjoyed our stay. We always ask for a room on the bottom floor, near the adult pool just for a little bit of peace and quiet. I have done better on the room rate when i call direct to the hotel. They do match rates found on other sites. Oh and if you enjoy Cuban food Ricks restraunt right next door is great!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katieteresa1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My daughter and I went to Silo Inn on 7/16/11. We got there early and were given a room by two very gracious desk employees. The room room was clean, there was coffee and all the soap shampoo, etc. that was needed. We called for some towels for the pool and they were there in about 10 minutes. What wonderful, big towel they were. We were given 4 of them, which was perfect. 2 to cover the lounge and 2 to dry off with.

The pool was wonderful. A few steps outside of our room. And, the fact that there are two pools (one for adults only) was a blessing. I love kids and work with them, it was great to be in an adult pool without all the screaming kids that are having fun. One thing that was amusing, while I was in the pool I turned around and saw some bare cheeks. There was a guy with a G-string on. Got a laugh and am still laughing telling the story at work.

This is my second time at Shilo and will stay there next time I go back. People were having fun at the pool, but there was no crazy stuff going on. This is now my go to place in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninachka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Hubby and I escaped overcast San Diego for some desert heat. Found Shilo from a friend. Large rooms, conveniently close to downtown palm springs, nice helpful staff, green grounds and two pools to lounge. Easy parking, check in and out was simple. We will be back.

Room Tip: Book the day of your arrival - got a good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiegoxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed at Shiloh Inn 2011. I had a so bad experience that it was the last time that my friends, family and I stayed there.
They kicked me 2 hours before check out time out of the room. Never happens something like that to me before.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patschil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
4.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,722 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
651 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
623 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Property: The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Address: 1875 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-2917 (Formerly Shilo Inn Palm Springs)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, a 100 percent smoke free hotel, offers affordable rooms and suites in Palm Springs, home of over 100 golf courses. For onsite recreation, guests will find an outdoor adults only pool, outdoor family pool, two whirlpools, a sauna, steam room, and fitness room. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast with their room rate. While there is not a full service restaurant inside the hotel, there are dining destinations nearby. Guests will find Billy Reeds Restaurant and Lounge across the street, Bakers Square in one block, and many more restaurants within a short drive. Conveniently located on Highway 111 close to downtown Palm Springs and the aerial tramway. You will find yourself surrounded by luxury in each of the 124 exquisitely appointed suites at this lovely hotel situated amidst beautifully landscaped courtyards and pools. Children 12 and under stay free with an adult. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. The Palm Springs airport is approximately four miles from the hotel. There are 124 rooms, including suites, on two floors. Standard amenities include air conditioning, alarm clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, telephone, free local calls, and television with ShowTime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing