We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great (Pets Welcome) Room for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our second over-night stay with our Border Collie in Palm Springs. On our first visit we picked the worst room ever (rhymes with "Smallity Inn") so we were determined to do better the next time. Our room was large with a modern, clean feel. The sliding glass door opened to the beautiful, grass and pool area. Nice comfortable bed. Breakfast is low-key. Will definitely search out Shilo Inns in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

We were just scouting the area as we had never been there before. The staff were the friendliest we had come across, so we decided to stay there. Loved the adult only pool and we had a lovely quiet end room. It is clean, although it is showing signs of wear. We didn't have enough wash clothes and towels, but no big deal. The breakfast is your usual average continental type. We would definately return on our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advisorfromthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This was one of few reasonably priced accommodations still available a month or so before the BNP Paribas Open tennis tournament at nearby Indian Wells. Because I planned to spend 12 hours per day at the tournament, I was just hoping for a quiet, clean room to crash in at night.
I had never stayed at a Shilo Inn before and didn't know what to expect, and was delighted with
my poolside, king suite. The "suite" was a large room with bathroom and additional sink and counter outside the bathroom. The room was spacious and clean, with tile flooring and excellent blackout drapes. Some of the furnishings were a bit shopworn, but nothing was dirty or in disrepair. What I really loved was the beautifully landscaped courtyard outside my sliding patio door, though I wasn't there during daylight much to enjoy it. At night, my first floor, corner room was very dark and very quiet and I slept better than I do at home.

I was checking out Sunday and discovered there was a 3:00 pm late check out with no extra fee, so I got to enjoy the adults only pool before getting on the road back to San Diego.

The breakfast was described as "continental," which implies cold, so I wasn't disappointed by the offerings, especially since there were 2 protein selections (yogurt and hard-boiled eggs).
The breakfast attendant was very cheerful and helpful, inspite of there being no tip jar on the counter.

I would absolutely stay there again, and hope to have more pool time next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank supersuemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

stayed here for 1 night on way to las vegas. It was in a very central position and easy to find.
The breakfast was ok not as good as other places we have stayed in. The room was very nice and also clean overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123doreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiloinns, General Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear 123doreen,

We greatly appreciate you for taking the time to provide a review regarding your most recent stay at Shilo Inns Suites Palm Springs. Our hotel has a very convenient location for our guests and is easy to find. We strive to provide top accommodations to all guests and we are ecstatic to read that you enjoyed our large, clean guest rooms. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the wonderful hotel amenities we have to offer as well; two pools and spas, workout room, dry sauna and our relaxing steam room. We greatly look forward to having you stay again.

Warm Regards –

Justin Haight – Regional Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is an old hotel that hasn't been updated forever. Old beds, old pillows, everything inside worn out. Don't even want to think about the bedspreads...Shuttle service was useless for the times it was in operation. Enamel coated sinks form 40 years ago. Horrible hotel. Difficult to get in, doors open to parking lot but guest cannot even get to pool without a key.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelConnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The staff was friendly. Complimentary breakfast was included which was average, nothing to be wowed about. This was a mystery hotel on Travelocity, so I did not know where I was initially staying in the area. I was not overly impressed. I wondered if I received a downgraded room due to this, because I've received this same impression when staying places booked through the priceline bidding process. The carpeting was old, stained, and in desperate need of replacement. The toilet kept making noise, so I shut my door. The shower curtain smelled bad, albeit looked clean. I even purchased Glade to spray on the curtain as well as the general room area which had a slightly bad smell.

The room was big. Pool was lean, quiet, and Very warm. The grounds were neat and clean. Location was convenient. Limited channels on the old clinker TV.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upnorth_wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at Shilo Inn for three nights for the February 2012 art festival. Large room, quiet and close to all the activities. However, we were concerned about the milky water from the faucets. We ended up buying our own bottled water for teeth brushing and drinking, as recommended by the front desk. There was no mentioning at check-in, no warning signs anywhere and would not have received the recommendation if we hadn't asked.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,052 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
697 reviews
7.8 mi away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
542 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Address: 1875 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-2917 (Formerly Shilo Inn Palm Springs)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range: £63 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, a 100 percent smoke free hotel, offers affordable rooms and suites in Palm Springs, home of over 100 golf courses. For onsite recreation, guests will find an outdoor adults only pool, outdoor family pool, two whirlpools, a sauna, steam room, and fitness room. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast with their room rate. While there is not a full service restaurant inside the hotel, there are dining destinations nearby. Guests will find Billy Reeds Restaurant and Lounge across the street, Bakers Square in one block, and many more restaurants within a short drive. Conveniently located on Highway 111 close to downtown Palm Springs and the aerial tramway. You will find yourself surrounded by luxury in each of the 124 exquisitely appointed suites at this lovely hotel situated amidst beautifully landscaped courtyards and pools. Children 12 and under stay free with an adult. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. The Palm Springs airport is approximately four miles from the hotel. There are 124 rooms, including suites, on two floors. Standard amenities include air conditioning, alarm clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, telephone, free local calls, and television with ShowTime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing