We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Compton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Palm Springs”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at the Shilo 13 & 14 July. We were able to check in before 4 pm which was great. They were all booked but we still had a great room. The price was great. The room was very modern, very spacious, and clean. The room did not have carpet which I really loved and very clean. And the hotel is away from downtown so you you don't get all that party noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grodriguez70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
The hotel management and staff appreciate the feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to them and we look forward to your next stay with us when travelling to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    118
    64
    34
    39
See reviews for
73
120
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I don't know how this place could get good reviews they are either fake and paid for by the staff or the people who gave the review have no clue about what it's like to stay at a REAL quality hotel.

The microwave was old and gross, the phone didn't work I was not even able to call the front desk, the blow dryer blew out then cut on by itself and the refrigerator was HOT. Granted the place is affordable and you get what you pay for. But at the same time, no matter what you pay for SERVICE is everything which brings me to this incident....

I was staying here with a friend and when we checked in, even though the room was paid for in full, they wanted to charge the card again. I later called the reception desk (from my cell phone since their phone didn't work) and asked for 3 towels. We had went to the pool earlier and then wanted to shower and wash our hair before going to dinner. They had to nerve to ask why I needed more towels when we just checked in and asked if someone else was there in the room with us. That was none of their damn business and whether I wanted 3 towels of 6 towels, I'm a guest and if that's what I want, that's what I should get. They brought us 2 towels even though I asked for 3 just be jerks.They also did not provide an invoice or receipt at check out and said "they don't do that". This place is just a complete JOKE. NO professionalism and NO customer service. And if you're going to treat your customers like crap, at least have appliances and a phone that actually work.

Room Tip: Go to Marriott or Best Western. The price is worth the service
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diamond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we appreciate your feedback. The hotel management and staff work diligently to ensure that each of our guest's has an enjoyable stay. Unfortunately, your stay was not pleasant and we can assure you that during your next stay with us that we will exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Though food, and in particular breakfast, is important, for me the setting in a natural environment is more so. The grounds of the Shilo Inn are beautifully kept. The room was clean with the usual equipment, including wifi, and I was greeted by a caterpillar on the floor tiles at the entrance. I was delighted. Unfortunately it would not eat any of the leaves and grass I offered and as I could not identify it, I had to put it outside to fend for itself.

If I ever found myself in the vicinity of Palm Springs again, I would book a room at the Shilo Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiedarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The hotel management and staff work diligently to ensure that each guest has a great overall hotel experience; I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent 12 days at the Shilo Inn. On about the 5th day we were advised that the hotel had been sold and new owners arrived. The hotel was very good and rooms exceptional. There was a shuttle bus to take you too and from the Airport an Down Town. The new owner "Frank" was very helpful too us nothing was too much trouble. He is going to rename the hotel and re vamp the whole place. If ever we go back to Palm Springs this would be our first choice of hotel.

Room Tip: We wre upstairs opposite the pool very good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn104764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
The hotel staff and management would like to thank you for sending us your feedback regarding your recent stay. The management and staff work diligently to deliver an amazing hotel experience and we are thrilled to know that we exceeded all of your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Frank and the staff; we look forward to seeing you again when you travel to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband and I go here at least once a year. It is a casual, drive your car to the back door type of place. It is clean and has nice amenities including an adult pool, hut tub, gym w/ sauna ,free breakfast and wi-fi. The rooms are clean and large enough for a few days stay in the warm desert sun. The landscaping is very nice, pretty flowers & palm trees. We bring our own ice-chest of various goodies and use the fridge and microwave. The proximity to all the downtown restaurants and activities is a short drive. Besy of all AAA rates are around $100-$130/nt , Try it!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level open up right to the pool. You can sit on your small patio or come &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socalgirlSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The hotel prides itself on delivering each of our guests an exceptional overall value.I will be certain to pass on your positive comments to the hotel management & staff and look forward to your next stay with us when your travels take you to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Beautiful setting in Palm Springs, against the mountains as a back drop and palm trees on the hotel complex. It's no longer the newest hotel, the room door stuck quite a lot but still very good.

Positives: Staff friendly and helpful, two pools, rooms facing into the courtyard area therefore quite quiet, balcony, microwave, breakfast included, large room

Negatives: extremely loud A/C which had to be switched off to sleep, meaning the night was very hot, like most american meals, a huge amount of waste produced after eating breakfast due to everything (including cutlery, cups, plates and all the packaging of each item) being disposal

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff and management work diligently to ensure that each guest has a great hotel experience. We will pass on your positive comments to the staff and management and we look forward to your next stay with us when visiting the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasadena
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

what a way to go in palm springs, im going out the layoff weekend for the courts, and we are going to relax in the adult pool, and party,and get some sun, and this hotel has great beds (very soft) and clean, with refrigs,microwaves in the rooms, very nice. I cannot waIT TO GO!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinyurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we look forward to your upcoming stay with us. Guests love the fact that they can choose between the adult only and family pools; the beautiful courtyard atmosphere and mountain views definitely enhance the overall experience. Thank you for being a loyal guest and enjoy your weekend with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,841 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
667 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
627 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bryce Trails Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Property: The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Address: 1875 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-2917 (Formerly Shilo Inn Palm Springs)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, a 100 percent smoke free hotel, offers affordable rooms and suites in Palm Springs, home of over 100 golf courses. For onsite recreation, guests will find an outdoor adults only pool, outdoor family pool, two whirlpools, a sauna, steam room, and fitness room. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast with their room rate. While there is not a full service restaurant inside the hotel, there are dining destinations nearby. Guests will find Billy Reeds Restaurant and Lounge across the street, Bakers Square in one block, and many more restaurants within a short drive. Conveniently located on Highway 111 close to downtown Palm Springs and the aerial tramway. You will find yourself surrounded by luxury in each of the 124 exquisitely appointed suites at this lovely hotel situated amidst beautifully landscaped courtyards and pools. Children 12 and under stay free with an adult. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. The Palm Springs airport is approximately four miles from the hotel. There are 124 rooms, including suites, on two floors. Standard amenities include air conditioning, alarm clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, telephone, free local calls, and television with ShowTime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing