We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Ranked #63 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
North Palm Springs, California
1 review
“GREAT place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

It's not like me to put friends visiting me up at a hotel for a few days without first checking it out but I heard from another local friend that this place was pretty cool. Cool? The place is awsome! My friends enjoyed the hotel so much we spent most of their stay at the hotel pool and not mine! The staff was top notch, the grounds were very nice quiet (until our thrird cocktail poolside anyway..lol) and the rooms were extreamly comfortable. We also took full advantage of the free continental breakfast each morning and endless cups of coffee. The best part was, my friends have decided they would rather stay at the Garden Vista durring future visits instead of my place. Perfect! Less cleaning up after guest for me!!

Room Tip: If you choose a room on the back of the property you get a pool view from your patio and a mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Brad,
Thank you for the compliments and we are thrilled to hear that your guest's enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to their next stay with us when their travels take them to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    118
    64
    34
    39
See reviews for
73
120
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here when we first arrived in Palm Springs because it offered resonable value and was on the main drag. Rooms were OK but dated and could have been cleaner. However we find out that the room prices on weekends go from $79 to $299. The rooms are not worth that much, that to me is just price gouging. There is a breakfast in the lobby but it is a joke, go to Ricks or Dennys and get a decent meal.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floors if possible as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JagXKR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff and management work diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience to each of our guests and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us when your travels take you to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Ludlow, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Room 120 was: Moldy, musty, smelly, worn out, ancient lumpy pillows, dirty grout; scratchy, thin stained towels and washcloths; the shower curtain was stained and snagged. Walls are paper-thin so did not get one full night's sleep. Badly in need of updating--a good scrubbing, fresh grout and paint and new bed linens would go a long way. Not much of a breakfast on offer. The only upsides: cheaper than others, the grounds and pool were clean and the staff were attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Rita,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel is continuously upgrading the public areas and guestrooms to ensure that we provide the best overall hotel experience for each of our guests. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

After seeing reviews here we almost passed on this gem in the desert. Wonderful rooms, service, staff and facilities. We are booking another night and I hope to come for a week next year. We are two seniors traveling by car throughout southern California. Perfect for families and adults with separate pools for each. Very safe and a nice continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Amber,
We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us during your trip through the Southwest. We thank you for your kind words and will be sure to pass your comments on to the management & staff. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I booked the reservation on Priceline, only to get there and find out that the hotel had no record of my reservation. Turns out, they let one of the other people in my party (we had 4 people) check in under my name!! That's a huge no-no...did they ever hear of something called identity theft? But that manager - oh lord, he was a real piece of work. I showed him the Priceline receipt, which had a confirmation number and the dates of my stay and he spent like 10 minutes on his computer trying to locate the reservation. Finally, one of his employees came in and admitted that he'd checked another guest into my room and showed the manager the paperwork for my reservation, which had been printed out and placed on the desk. Okay, I get it, mistakes happen. But this manager had zero social or hospitality skills. The other 'clean and decent' hotels in Palm Springs don't have vacancies unless you reserve well in advance so there was no way I could've found another one that night. Otherwise, I woulda walked right out. And actually, the manager rudely said to us, "You wanna just forget this whole thing right now and you can go find somewhere else to stay?" (this was after he offered me a suite, the last room he had in the hotel, for $169 a night, when my original reservation was for $79). How RUDE! Oh - the room? Not bad. Plenty of space, nice view, comfy beds. Bathroom? Disappointing. The door was old and wouldn't close right. The toilet didn't flush and had to be serviced. They only gave 2 towels. Breakfast in the lobby? Cheerios and bran flakes, a bowl of soggy-looking oranges, packaged pastries, and pieces of wheat bread and bagels (which smelled rancid), super-diluted orange juice, and coffee. Holiday Inn Express and Best Western have the best breakfasts; everyone needs to do breakfast like that. I'd have happily paid another $10 a night if I could've gotten an edible breakfast in the morning...well no, why do that when I walk down the street to Denny's and get a huge breakfast including tax and tip for like $9.99? Free wifi, that's nice. The signal was actually better than it usually is in some 4-5 star hotels that I regularly stay in. This hotel is a former Shilo, and it's been a very long time since Shilo was considered a 4-star hotel chain. They need to scrape the Shilo logos off the doors and put their own logo on them. Anyhow, as I say, I would probably not go back. At least not as long as that manager is there.

Room Tip: Don't stay there. They should not even be in business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leon020201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Leon,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff and management work diligently to deliver a great overall hotel experience and it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay. I can assure you that the issues mentioned have been resolved and we look forward to exceeding all of your expectations on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

While this is an older facility, the grounds are well kept, the pools are clean and the hot tubs works! Both the wet and dry saunas were a plus and enjoyed by my family. Our rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. While it is not home, it was adequate for the time spent in the Palm Springs area. The downside of this hotel is the breakfast bar! It lacks fruit and organization so that there is not a large crowd with everyone trying to use it at the same time.
Would have like to have had coffee throughout the day, too!

Room Tip: Try staying in the middle of the facility! Away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
The hotel management and staff would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff works diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience for each of our guest's and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels take you to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
4.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
3.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bryce Canyon Country Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Property: The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Address: 1875 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-2917 (Formerly Shilo Inn Palm Springs)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, a 100 percent smoke free hotel, offers affordable rooms and suites in Palm Springs, home of over 100 golf courses. For onsite recreation, guests will find an outdoor adults only pool, outdoor family pool, two whirlpools, a sauna, steam room, and fitness room. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast with their room rate. While there is not a full service restaurant inside the hotel, there are dining destinations nearby. Guests will find Billy Reeds Restaurant and Lounge across the street, Bakers Square in one block, and many more restaurants within a short drive. Conveniently located on Highway 111 close to downtown Palm Springs and the aerial tramway. You will find yourself surrounded by luxury in each of the 124 exquisitely appointed suites at this lovely hotel situated amidst beautifully landscaped courtyards and pools. Children 12 and under stay free with an adult. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. The Palm Springs airport is approximately four miles from the hotel. There are 124 rooms, including suites, on two floors. Standard amenities include air conditioning, alarm clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, telephone, free local calls, and television with ShowTime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing