We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay at this hotel”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The service was poor, the continental breakfast was horrible, the hallways and balcony were dirty. When I mentioned to the manager that the breakfast left something to be desired, his response was flip and uninterested in hearing feedback. We stayed at numerous hotels and motels during our trip from northern to southern california, and this was by far the worst. For the money especially I felt we were truly ripped off.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elixabethv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The hotel staff and management work diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience to each of our guests. We look forward to another opportunity to exceed all of your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    118
    64
    34
    39
See reviews for
73
120
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale , California USA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We went there Nov 23-24, 2013. The hotel is on the Palm Canyon Strip on the Northern Side. A bit far from downtown if you walk leisurely about 10-20 mins and with driving around 5 mins.I booked using Hotel Tonight app on my phone and really get a great rate. We came around noon time but check in is around 3 or 4 pm? but asked if there is available room and they told us there are some. The booking engine I used will let me know the room/bed configuration upon check in (hence they're really cheap).I requested a room on the first floor the patio facing the family pool with 2 beds and they easily accommodated us. The room are huge , but dated. no flat screen tv, bathroom fixtures as well as the room fixtures are all dated. You get a small fridge and an old fashioned (rotating knob) microwave and a coffee maker. But don't let this hinder you from booking. If I wanted to stay at a fancy hotel with all state of the art amenities and deciding to stay at the room/hotel all the time, i will not book this one. But for the basic, they were great! They have 2 pools, one adult only (18+) and one family that comes with a whirlpool as well. Pool closes at 10 pm. The pool is heated.Pool towels are available at the front desk,The views at the back of the hotel is awesome.The breakfast is usual basic not fancy. Toast, bagels, cereals, oats, coffee, milk and some danish bread. if your expecting eggs, bacon, sausage among others, go somewhere else. The breakfast is just right to start your day or keep you going. The towels at the toilet are great, really white but not that soft, but at least, it's white and sparkling. The lotions,soap ,shampoo and conditioner are on the wall. So do not expect those bath amenities that comes in separate containers. check out time is 11 am but you can get till 12 without charge. the cleanliness of the room is ok, the bed is just right, but the bedding's, somewhat has a certain smell (probably one of the drawback) , you can request to have it changed but we did not bother since we were just staying there overnight. WiFi is good . parking free, breakfast free, WiFi free, no resort fees whatsoever, Overall, if you really just want a basic place to crash at the end of the day, and your not that picky as well, this might work for you! i just cannot imagine why other people rated this hotel on so much negative side. As what they say, not everything you see in the internet are true, you can use it as a guide and just use your judgement.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Michael,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel management and staff strive to deliver the best overall hotel experience to each of our guest's. We look forward to your next stay with us when your travels take you to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This Hotel has several advantages: It was quiet, the rooms were spacious, the mattress was comfortable and the shower was good.

The staff was very unhelpful. On Sunday, the room was not cleaned and when we complained, they lied and said we left the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. (it was NOT on, between 11:00 AM and 5:30 PM when we came back to the room). Of course, by that time they could not clean the room. When we arrived there were hairs left on the walls of the shower and the toilet bowl was dirty. There was blood on the duvet. There was a lot of difficulty getting the key cards to work the door to the room. They actually changed our room because they could not get the lock to work. There were ants crawling on the sink, even after they sprayed. To top it all, there was no manager on duty when the room was not cleaned, nor when we checked out, at 11:00 AM on Monday. The next day, he refused to talk to us on the telephone. We would DEFINITELY NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DVMOUSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff and management take great pride in delivering the best overall hotel experience for each of our guest's. The vast majority of comments about our hotel are very positive and your experience was certainly the exception and not the rule. We look forward to exceeding all of your expectations on your next stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here in sept for 2 nights. Was worried after reading some reviews but was happy with room, staff & yes the pool had some leaves in it but it was windy the days we were there so leaves were getting blown into pool all the time. It's about 10-15 min walk to main part of town but this didn't bother us, we liked taking our time looking in shops. I would say if are used to 4 & 5 star accommodation stay elsewhere but It's great value for money for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
The hotel management and staff would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff works diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience for each of our guest's and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels take you to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms reasinable priced. Staff was great. Polite, friendly and helpful. Arrived early, checked in immediately. Rooms spacious and clean. Located close to all activities. Only complaint was the pool needed cleaning, but will definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank funoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel management and staff strive to deliver the best overall hotel experience to each of our guest's. We look forward to your next stay with us when your travels take you to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I agree with the other reviewer... the managerial staff is unprofessional and rude. The owners and management need to be reminded that they are a part of the hospitality industry. The rooms are in disrepair, the pool and Jacuzzi were dirty. We had to ask multiple times to have the Jacuzzi cleaned, it was full of grass clippings which was a joke because the grass hasn't been cut in a long while. The overgrown lawn area was full of goat head thorns. The sprinklers come on right at 10 o'clock (when they padlock the pool gates) in the grass area, maybe to make sure all of the guests go to their rooms. The night manager must have a problem with senior citizens because he feels comfortable cussing them out ( he really likes the [---] bomb). The support staff was very helpful even though their hands were" tied " by management. Good bye Garden Vista we will never return. We have been coming here for over 20 years...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klewisacri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The hotel staff and management work diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience to each of our guests. We look forward to another opportunity to exceed all of your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have stayed here one time before. We came back because it was a nice and cozy hotel.
The rooms were large and the pools were fine.

This time things were changed. The complimentary breakfest was poorly regulated.
The machine for getting juice, the orange juice part didnt work. Instead off, they had cans of juice half filled. I havent seen any hot water for tea. They had 2 toasters for 6 slices of bread/bagels to toast. But 2 slots were broken. The second day, they only brought up the toaster with de broken slots.

And the swimmingpool was not clean at all. We had an evening with thunderstorm and rain.
But nobody didnt even take care off the sun beds/matresses or sunshades.
And we even havnt seen anyone cleaning the pool after everything what went into the pool.(leaves sand and dirt)

By checkout I asked for a receipt. But unfortunately this was to much effort to print I think.
The answer was: you booked online so you can find your receipt online! (which didnt - I booked by a third party which wasnt online)

Not to forget: they watering the grass at the courtyard at ± 22.00 without warning. So lounging on your little patio is an option untill ±22.00 unless you want to get wet.

The only good thing was that the cleaner understands her job. And everything smelled very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The hotel staff and management work diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience to each of our guests. We look forward to another opportunity to exceed all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,842 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
667 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
627 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bryce Trails Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Property: The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Address: 1875 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-2917 (Formerly Shilo Inn Palm Springs)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, a 100 percent smoke free hotel, offers affordable rooms and suites in Palm Springs, home of over 100 golf courses. For onsite recreation, guests will find an outdoor adults only pool, outdoor family pool, two whirlpools, a sauna, steam room, and fitness room. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast with their room rate. While there is not a full service restaurant inside the hotel, there are dining destinations nearby. Guests will find Billy Reeds Restaurant and Lounge across the street, Bakers Square in one block, and many more restaurants within a short drive. Conveniently located on Highway 111 close to downtown Palm Springs and the aerial tramway. You will find yourself surrounded by luxury in each of the 124 exquisitely appointed suites at this lovely hotel situated amidst beautifully landscaped courtyards and pools. Children 12 and under stay free with an adult. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. The Palm Springs airport is approximately four miles from the hotel. There are 124 rooms, including suites, on two floors. Standard amenities include air conditioning, alarm clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, telephone, free local calls, and television with ShowTime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing