We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice outside-dinner nearby the pool”

The Purple Palm Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Purple Palm Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 318 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Alejo Drive
Description: Located at the historic Colony Palms Hotel in Palm Springs. Serving Chef Nick Tall's innovative and sumptuous New American Cuisine. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner daily. Join us for "Sunset Hour" daily from 3-6 pm
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice outside-dinner nearby the pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I think,the best time to eat at the Purple Palm Restaurant is the evening - if you can get a table outside (betimes reservation recommended). So you can sit nearby the pool, when it gets dark, it is a very, very nice outlook to the gardens, mountains an the stars above. The food in my opinion is inspired a litte bit mediterranean. Whe had different menues (salad, fish, meat) - everything was not absolute top, but tasted very good. The price for the dinner was adequate, the service quick and very friendly - thanks for this, it is not ususal everywhere. Whe spent a very nice evening, and if we would bei at Palm Springs, whe want come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    64
    18
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

The Purple palm probably has the best overall meal I have had in Palm Springs. Nice atmosphere, good if not great food. Service was better then what I have experienced in all of Palm Springs. Nothing negative to say. In fact order the scallops they were divine!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KJKSOHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved It!!! Romantic in an old Hollywood style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had a beautiful dinner on a recent trip to Palm Springs! Our server was so nice and attended to our every need. We were seated overlooking the pool which was a very romantic atmosphere.

The food was served in timely manner making sure to let us savor each course. Try the dates as a starter they were out of this world.

The restaurant is expensive but worth the memory and experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern cal
Level Contributor
156 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Great place if you don't mind spending a few bucks. The ambiance by the pool is fantastic. The service and food are top notch. Nice place for a special occasion. Enjoy the firepit next to the restaurant after dinner for a nightcap.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rocknrollal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice food but dark at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

enjoyed the variety of food available. I had a few meals here as I was staying at the resort and often ended up getting 4-6 small plates and salads which gave me the chance to try lots of different food. At night the table I was at was ridiculously dark to the point where I couldn't really see what I was eating which did annoy me a bit. Overall a good place to eat.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EDinoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Purple Palm Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to The Purple Palm Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing