We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oak Motel Palo Alto - DO NOT STAY HERE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oak Motel Palo Alto
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oak Motel Palo Alto - DO NOT STAY HERE!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Absolutely the worst experience I have ever had! Disgusting rooms, smelly and dirty! Management is extremely rude and on the scary side! DO NOT STAY HERE! It is dirty and not safe! If no other choice, stay in your car! At least you will not have to worry about scary managers and rats in your room! Run from this place, in fact don't even bother going! Again, DO NOT STAY AT THE OAK MOTEL PALO ALTO!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
As you can imagine, I'm disheartened to hear this, Monica. We hold our cleaning staff to a high standard, so I'm disappointed that your room wasn't up to par. We've heard your complaints and are working on remodeling right now. I hope you'll give us another shot next time you're in Palo Alto and come see our new amenities!

Hoping to have you back soon,
Oak Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    6
    8
    11
See reviews for
3
6
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Wow. not worth even $20 per night. This is a scam hotel. Dirty , disgusting, dishonest. You stay here because the jail is full for the night. The manager was abusive. Many reviews online make the same thing clear.

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel under any circumstance. It is a criminal operation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana J, Owner at Oak Motel Palo Alto, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
While we always welcome constructive feedback, it’s truly disappointing to read this review. It’s disheartening to hear you found our hotel “dirty,” “disgusting,” and “dishonest” as that’s not feedback we typically receive, nor is it the impression we wish to leave on our guests. We would never dream of disrespecting our guests, and cringe hearing you’d prefer a jail cell over one of our rooms. That’s a very bold statement and we can’t help but question its validity. Overall, if you have any constructive feedback to share, we’d love to hear it. We believe our customers deserve to be treated with respect, and we hope you’ll show us the same courtesy.

Regards,
Oak Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is a place to stay for the night, nothing more. Despite being less than I would like, I've stayed here more than once because of the location and the price, since all I wanted was a nights sleep.

Pluses: The prices are fairly reasonable as compared with motels of equal quality in this area some of which have doubled in the last two years. The location is near enough to Silicon Valley and Stanford to make it quite convenient. There is TV and free wireless internet.

Minus: The rooms have a odor to them; it might be mold or mildew from the air conditioners, but its not pleasant. On one of my stays the rug near the bathroom was soaking wet, hopefully just tab water. The rooms and the premises could use a little spiffing up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I was told by my boss, who gave a high rate. So I chose this motel this time with my family. It is really very close to my company, and price is reasonable. The free breakfast is also acceptable, Mike, coffee, bread and donuts are all offered. It would be great if eggs can be added to its' breakfast. I prefer to stay at this motel next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qiming c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

the room was so gross, snot stains on the wall. please don't ever go, sleep in your car if you must! at 1. I heard a shuffle going through my bags and that's when I had enough. I went to the front counter and asked for a 10 percent refund on my credit card and he told me ”No”! I explained that there was a rat in my belongings that came from his hotel room, surely i didn't bring it 300 miles with me. he then told me that someone was living there for a whole month and checked out the morning I arrived, and never complained of a rat. The man at the front counter was the owner I found out, he was unapologetic, rude, & had bad business practices when it came to customer service. This motel is more for the homeless looking for shelter for the night or a drug addict looking for a place to take a hit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toccara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Really basic motel with outdated decor, bathroom and old tv. The bed was REALLY soft, almost like a waterbed. Breakfast was very plain and there were not tables to eat. Absolutely nothing special but nothing wrong with it. It was clean and is fine for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amander97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The hotel was clean, and the service was pretty good. However, the room itself was seriously lacking. Our bathroom didnt even have handsoap, and this is the first hotel ive seen where an iron wasnt provided per room.. When we asked for one, the front counter stated that they had once iron, but didnt know where it was. Needless to say I expect for for a room that cost over $100.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
1.3 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#19 of 27 in Palo Alto
75 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Palo Alto Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#21 of 27 in Palo Alto
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
970 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanford Terrace Inn
Stanford Terrace Inn
#24 of 27 in Palo Alto
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Motel Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Motel Palo Alto

Property: Oak Motel Palo Alto
Address: 4279 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4400
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Motel Palo Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Motel Palo Alto in CA offers newly remodeled guestrooms, continental breakfast, and a variety of amenities for a great price to ensure you will enjoy a perfect night's sleep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oak Motel Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Motel Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing