We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place”
Review of Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My husband and I are both 76, from WA State, who are former owners of a 16 room hotel that was build in 1937, so we really admired what the owners of the Country Inn have done to keep a period motel up to date. Although the motel is located on El Camino, a major thoroughfare, the park like front garden with hugh trees make El Camino disappear and the new windows keep out the traffic noise. There is cable TV, free WiFi, A/C, fenced in pool area, BBQs available, lawn furniture in the front garden, free off-street parking, it is pristinely clean and there is hardly a dead flower on the many rose bushes around the pool. We loved the place and the price, which is right!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Fiancée was having surgery at the Veterans hospital. Needed a hotel to stay in. This hotel was perfect!! Clean and close to the hospital. Rooms very clean. Everyone here from the front desk to the housekeeper were very friendly. Endilisa was very friendly. This property is so nicely landscaped. The pool area is very inviting. I felt very safe staying here by myself. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memoies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This past weekend, my husband and I randomly selected The Country Inn to stay the night because the property was so appealing! The managers, John and Barbara, were very nice and so accommodating! We requested a king room and were quoted the price of $105 - our jaws dropped! Palo Alto is such an expensive area and thought we'd pay at least $150 or more for mediocre accommodations!

It was such a nice surprise when we walked into our newly renovated room above a beautiful pool appointed with quality pool furniture! The grounds were beautifully maintained and our room was set far back from noisy El Camino Road! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and immaculate! They also offer kitchens if you plan to be a long-term guest!

The value was fantastic for the price and the location is minutes from the Stanford Shopping Center, the Town & Country Shopping Center with some great restaurants, Stanford University and Hospital, and downtown Palo Alto!

We were very lucky to discover it! Not all the rooms have been renovated, so you may want to request a newly renovated room!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room over the pool! Keep in mind that in summer, it maybe a noisy locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My family stays here often when my sister is at Stanford Hospital for treatment. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and updated. For being off El Camino Real, the rooms are amazingly quiet. Like that they offer a discount for families of Stanford patients. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Love #17 on pool side - double queen bed rooms. We also get #18 with double double beds that connect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTravelsOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We are from Sweden and rented room 26 Country inn Motel in Palo Alto. The rent included kitchen. We stayed there during the thanksgiving week. We are so impressed over the nice room, cleaning service, the friendly atmosphere, the nice breakfest, and outstanding wireless internet.
We highly recommend this nice motel with good prices both for buisnes as pleasure.

Best wishes

Jan and K

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I stayed there with my wife over 3 days this summer. The rooms were recently updated in a contemporary decor and in fact, a few of the rooms were being modernized during our stay. The Country Inn has been in Palo Alto for decades but it doesn't look dated or worn-the grounds are well manicured and the pool is small but clean. The service was friendly but the internet signal is fairly weak furthest from the office (as put forth by a previous reviewer). But we didn't stay there for the internet signal-just a good nights rest, which we got on the newish beds. Honestly, for the price in this area it would be hard to go wrong choosing the Country Inn. I would recommend it.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Trevmiesterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We have stayed at this motel a couple of times in the last two years. It is pleasant motel. Continental breakfest is good, free internet, a good price and the front desk clerks are very nice and heipfull. Pleasant place to stay.

B.Malcher MD
El Reno, Oklahoma

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.4 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,061 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#20 of 27 in Palo Alto
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
3.7 mi away
Cardinal Hotel
Cardinal Hotel
#12 of 27 in Palo Alto
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn

Address: 4345 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: £107 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palo Alto Country Inn was built in 1954 along the El Camino Real, the main thoroughfare of that time. Shaded by large trees and surrounded by orchards, travelers would stay here when visiting Stanford University or the city of San Francisco. Founded by Italian immigrants, the Cesano family took care to provide excellent service, and clean, well-maintained rooms for their guests. Many became good friends as they made the Country Inn their home away from home. Today, the inn lies at the heart of a busy Silicon Valley. Destinations such as Google, Yahoo, Apple, Stanford and many Bay Area attractions are within easy reach. Although the surroundings may have changed, the Cesano children and grandchildren have carried on the traditions of providing an affordable and comfortable place to stay. The staff and the accommodations continue to earn the trust of returning clientele and the rave reviews of new visitors. Some special features of the Country Inn are the lovely garden patio that greets you as you arrive, the pool area with available barbeques and ample patio furniture, rooms with kitchens, free wi-fi, and consistently friendly service. At the Country Inn you will find all of the modern conveniences as well as enjoy the warmth and welcome of a quaint inn of days gone by. Please consider us as your hosts on your next trip to the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Palo Alto
Country Motel Palo Alto
Country Inn Palo Alto
Palo Alto Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing