We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality and Service Bloom at the Garden Court”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Garden Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Forestville, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Hospitality and Service Bloom at the Garden Court”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was my first stay (one night) at the Garden Court Hotel and upon arrival I was immediately impressed by the beautiful building. We arrived a couple of hours after check-in began (3 p.m.) and experienced no wait for the valet to take our car and to go thru the check-in process. Parking was $17 per night--a very reasonable fee. The hotel lobby is located up a flight of stairs embellished with beautiful tiles. The European ambiance of the lobby was warm and welcoming, as was the gentleman who checked us in at the reception desk. From the beginning to the end of our stay I was so pleased with the professional, refined, yet congenial demeanor of the hotel staff. They are indicative of a very well-managed hotel.

I previously hadn’t stayed at a hotel which required using one’s keycard to access the elevator (going up only). Additionally, one of the keycards (we received 3) needed to be left in a wallslot to activate the power in our room.

Not long after we arrived, I received a call from the front desk making sure that we were comfortable (we were). A welcome card and a plate of fruit (apple, orange and dried cranberries) were also in our room. Somewhat later, 2 members of the housekeeping staff came by with chocolates and checked to see if we needed anything for the evening. When we picked up our car the next day, the valet gave us 2 bottles of Voss water as a departure gift.

Our room #309 was on the top (3rd floor) and located about a hundred steps from the elevator. I actually enjoyed walking the attractive halls and looking out windows to the courtyard below where views of the building’s lovely architecture could be seen along with flowering plants and a pretty fountain.

Although our room was not that large (it was a Queen Deluxe) the floorplan was attractive and functional. The contemporary decor and furnishings were done in predominantly black and white, with natural wood accents. The room had thick wall-to-wall carpeting with a bold geometric design. Large format, texural photographic images of landscapes and architecture were on the walls of our room as well as in the hallways.

Our room had a queen bed with upholstered headboard and a very comfortable mattress, but I found the 4 pillows to be too squishy soft. The bed had a comforter inside a duvet with no separate top sheet or blanket which made it difficult (well, impossible) to stay at a comfortable temperature--it was either no cover at all or the whole shebang on top. Unfortunately for us, this was combined with a very powerful A/C fan (even on the lower setting) which blasted cold air across the bed and was also quite noisy. We tried turning the fan off completely (the room became too stuffy) as well as setting the thermostat higher to no avail comfort-wise. Consequently, neither my husband or I slept well due to the alternating too cold/too hot temperatures resulting from the bedding paired with the A/C on steroids. This was the only major problem we had during our stay--but it was a big one.

Furnishings in our room inc’d a long upholstered bench near the foot of the bed, 2 small nightstands each with a phone and a wall sconce above, and a cabinet which held the honor bar and container of snacks--a nice array of drinks and treats and more extensive a selection than at most hotels. Prices were pretty reasonable too. Wine glasses and champagne flutes were provided.

Our room’s small foyer had a good size desk with its own phone and a large upholstered chair. Power outlets were conveniently accessible right above the desk top. Lighting throughout our room was good and reading at night presented no difficulties.

The closet was roomy and contained plenty of hangers. It also held a cabinet with shelves and 2 drawers. A duo of luggage racks was provided. Had we been staying several nights, there would have been enough storage space.

From the foyer area French doors led out to a small balcony with a metal table and 2 chairs. The balcony overlooked a parking area and alley below and surrounding buildings, but we did enjoy a gorgeous sunset sky from the location.

Large windows with blackout curtains were located adjacent to the bed. We did hear garbage and delivery trucks in the parking area from about 5 a.m. The more expensive courtyard view rooms would be much quieter I would think.

Amenities inc’d: (3) phones, iPod dock/clock radio, wall-mounted LG flat panel TV, in-room safe, free Wi-Fi, iron and ironing board, and (2) bathrobes and slippers. In the morning a San Francisco Chronicle was placed in a fabric bag and hung on our door rather than left on the floor--a nice touch! From 6 a.m. complimentary coffee and hot water for tea along with good quality muffins, pastries and fresh fruit were available on each floor in the lobby area near the elevator. But one needs to get there early as most of the pastries were gone by the time I meandered out at a little after 7 a.m. We didn’t have a chance to use the fitness room on our floor, but peeked in and it was nicely equipped.

Our bathroom was delightful! Not large, but not too small either--just right! The floor, walls and shower surround were covered in the same grey/white marble tiles that were sparkling clean. The counterspace was adequate and the lighting fixtures provided good, even light. A wall-mounted makeup mirror and hairdryer were handy. There were plenty of oversized towels although their texture was somewhat coarse. A small bottle of body wash was provided, but there was no bar soap for the shower.

The oversized shower (no tub) had glass doors and a large, fixed overhead showerhead (rainshower) plus a wall-mounted hand-held one. The temperature control was somewhat slow to respond and the lever controlling the 2 showerheads was a bit awkward to figure out. But once they all were set, the water pressure and temperature were fine and the “shower experience” was a very nice one. There was no bathroom fan and the vent wasn’t able to keep up with the humidity created by a hot shower so the room became quite steamy.

Our primary reason for being in Palo Alto was to visit Stanford and the magnificent Rodin sculptures at the Cantor Center for the Arts. The campus was minutes away from the hotel and a stress-free drive. Even though our time was limited, we walked around the neighborhood surrounding the Garden Court and it was a great pleasure to see the well-maintained historic homes, tree-lined streets and beautiful blooming gardens that flowed out to the sidewalks and curbs. It was a gorgeous sight! We stopped for a coffee drink at Peets and noted the California Pizza Kitchen across from the hotel, although we didn’t eat there. We did have dinner at Il Fornaio, which is part of an upscale Italian restaurant chain, located on the bottom level and across the courtyard in the Garden Court’s building. The restaurant was bustling with activity that Sunday night and we had an enjoyable dinner there. They have an impressive wine list too!

The lovely ambiance, superb service and attention to details that we experienced at the Garden Court reminded me so much of a boutique hotel in Santa Barbara, one of my favorite locales. Had we not undergone the “temperature torture” while trying to sleep, I would have given the Garden Court “5 circles” without any hesitation. Reading a number of reviews by other guests, I found no mention of a similar scenario, so I have to conclude that it was just an unusual combination of factors that resulted in our problem. I hope to be able to prove that theory one day with a return visit to the Garden Court!

Room Tip: If early morning noise is an issue, be sure to select a room that has its windows, balcony/patio fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Forestvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    59
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
80
109
19
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

When the car dropped us outside of the hotel, I thought "uh-oh". However, once we entered the hotel it was wonderful! We were coming from the Four Seasons, so it is a fair comparison. The bed was fabulous! Separate living space and bedroom. The staff was very helpful. They serve a free continental breakfast on your floor, so just walked out to get my morning coffee. Love being able to have coffee right when I wake up. Ordered a wonderful room service breakfast, as I like a warm breakfast. They found me a place I could walk to for Zumba. There were nice little restaurants nearby. This is really a great place to stay and plan to stay when my husband has business in Palo Alto, again. This is THE place to stay in Palo Alto!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missymomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dearest Missymomm
We are pleased that you expereinced the best of The Garden Court Hotel. It is delightful to hear that you found our guestrooms to be comfortable and our extra touches added to your experience.
As an independent boutique hotel-we depend on our service and thoughtful amenities to make the expererience memorable to our guests. I am happy to hear the Zumba class was fun-here's hoping you are my inspiration to finally make it to a class myself.

Thank you and please come back soon!

Jeffery L. Philips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipsburg, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I came here for a meeting and fell in love with the place, I will definitely be back. Palo Alto is one of my favorite places and The Garden Court captures the welcome and gracious feeling of the area with luxury and grace!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear colleenjflynn,
It is absolutely wonderful to hear you fell in love with The Garden Court Hotel. We are so proud when our service is so warmly received and agree it is a perfect pairing with Palo Alto's charm.
Thank you for appreciating the combination of the two.
Best,

Jeffery Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very pleasant.
We needed to be in the area and this was very comfortable, clean and convenient for 2 nights.
Palo Alto has a few ok places to eat and coffee shops, but otherwise, unless one absolutely needs to be in PA, there is nothing special about the town.
The management seemed a bit green, but were very polite and helpful when we asked for a nearby hiking suggestion.
The comfortably modern rooms (on the court yard side) have sweet terraces that have relaxing afternoon sun, and a semi "European" feel. Very clean.
The ajoining restaurant, "Il Fornio", was disapointing! It looks nice but the food has gone straight downhill over the past few years-do not eat there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Lisa K-Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and take everything to heart.
I am glad we were able to provide a comfortable, clean and convenient haven for you while you were in Palo Alto. I appreciate your experienced perspective as a traveler. If your travels do bring you to Palo Alto again- I would be honored to have the opportunity to guide you to some of the places we feel make Palo Alto special.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
202 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

This place was phenomenal! The only reason I rated it a 4 was because it did not have a pool and jacuzzi. Otherwise, this place was perfect ! Perfect location close to shopping and dining district on University Ave and Stanford. Rooms were so comfortable, clean and crisp. Bathrooms a bit small but luxuriously appointed. The staff was so nice and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The Italian restaurant on property was good. Great drinks at the bar and pizza!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear LynnGibb-Thank you for your exciting comments!!! Phenomenal and Perfect-WOW, I only wish I could make a pool and Jacuzzi happen as a thank you for your amazing feedback. I will let you know that our 3 Grand Deluxe Suites and 1 Penthouse do have aerated Spa tubs to relax in.
We are very proud of our rooms and delighted that you appreciated the details.
Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Fantastic hotel in Palo Alto - nice big rooms - plush bedding and amenities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear mnsydney-I Thank you for such a wonderful review. We have some wonderful, unique places here in Palo Alto-I am delighted you were able to enjoy some of the local faire and that you enjoyed your expereince here. We do hope you will return.
Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

An excellent hotel that you cannot fault. Even the president of America stayed here in May!

They hosted a wedding for a close friend and many of the guests staying in the hotel too. The beds are huge and the location is pretty much on the high street without the noise.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesTrimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Mr. Trimble,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a gracious review. When words like great and excellent are used to describe our guest experience, we delight in understanding the cause and effect . We are proud of the Garden Court Hotel and take such kind comments to heart. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,

Jeffery L. Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.3 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#16 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Hotel

Property: Garden Court Hotel
Address: 520 Cowper Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Hotel and Event Venue rated in 2014 - Four Stars by Forbes Travel Guide. Located in downtown Palo Alto's tree lined streets this luxury boutique hotel offers 62 guestrooms and suites. Ideal for business travelers, meetings in Silicon Valley, leisure guests exploring the area and brides looking for a romantic wedding. With contemporary chic design, charm, luxurious amenities, attention to detail, spectacular location and privacy this ultimate urban retreat is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Palo Alto
Hotel Garden Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing