We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but Worth it”
Review of Garden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pricey but Worth it”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I have stayed at the Garden Court over 10 times
The staff is terrific and very helpful.
They organized an onsite 3 day meeting for and it went flawlessly.
The restaurant attached Il Fornaio is a great Italian restaurant.
The best part about the Garden Court is the location in downtown Palo Alto, you can walk to everything you need!

Room Tip: Request a patio/garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    63
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
91
110
19
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed at the Garden Court over Labor Day weekend. This was the perfect time to stay, as this is a business hotel, and there aren't many business travelers on a holiday weekend. I called ahead to make a reservation, as I had a gift certificate. Jose was extremely helpful, and pre-blocked a great room for me. Since it was the weekend, I parked in the lot right next door to the hotel for FREE! Free parking on the weekends. I was ready and prepared to pay the $17 valet, but since self parking was free, I took advantage of it. Check-in process was quick, no problems. Arrived to the room, and it was one of the best I have seen. I work for a 5-Diamond hotel, and this room was definitely up to those standards. The fresh fruit bowl in your room was a nice touch, as was the Molten Brown amenities. The lotion was amazing....I wish I could have taken home 20 extra bottles of the lotion! The wireless internet didn't work for some reason, but I logged on to the restaurants free WiFi and it worked just fine. Our room had a balcony overlooking the courtyard. The King bed was huge and comfortable. My roommate was on the sofabed. We called housekeeping to come make up the bed. They arrived within 5 minutes. She brought a memory foam mattress topper to put on the sofa-bed mattress. This made the sofa bed almost as comfortable as my King bed! Very nice touch. When I felt the sofa-bed mattress by itself, I was a little worried because it felt awful! Note for management: I could not find the "Guest Services Book" explaining the amenities of the hotel. There was also no ice-bucket in the room, and I did not see an ice-machine on the floor. When we left Monday morning, there were pastries and coffee in the hallway on each floor. Delicious chocolate croissants. In the room, there was a huge 52 inch flat screen TV. We walked 3 blocks to the 7-11 and rented a movie at the RedBox. I was disappointed there was no DVD player. I even called the front desk. Oh well. I ended up watching the movie on my laptop. Seeing that the DVD player would be the only problem I had, this hotel definitely deserves the 5-star rating I gave it. From the service, to the quality and comfort of the room, the Garden Court in Palo Alto is a fantastic, and convenient, place to stay when visiting Palo Alto or even San Francisco. If you stay here, do me a favor.....bring home the Molten Brown lotion.....you will love it!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is always nice. If you do need a room with a sofa-bed, don't let this bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The room was over the top in luxury, they served coffee and tea on our floor each morning with yummy pastries and the bathroom was to die for... Seriously Carera marble and a rainfall shower head, gardenias and chocolate at night with bed turn down service. Amazingly wonderful pampered experience

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonsmorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

a small boutique hotel in downtown Palo Alto. Extremely friendly staff, charming, though smallish rooms; most comfortable bed I've been in a hotel. lovely amenities except for the stinginess of the soap: only one bar which was strange. fabulous continental breakfast with a great choice of teas on each floor and in the lobby. Only complaint is that the least expensive rooms come on with showers; there are no bathtubs in these rooms and women travelers especially tend to like bathtubs no matter how grand the shower. and, if you are willing to move your car in the morning, there is plenty of parking on the street and in the lots at night...a real bargain in Palo Alto! Imagine that the rooms on the street are quieter than the rooms on the courtyard even though the views are nicer on the courtyard

Room Tip: the larger room are more costly and the nore costly rooms have bathtubs. Rooms facing the street ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosslady000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco CA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My welcome was warm and the room was fine...nothing grand. I enjoyed overlooking the garden and watching staff set up for different weekend events. The lack of a coffeemaker in the room is my only complaint; although the coffee/pastries were just down the hall starting early in the AM, it meant I had to get up and get dressed to get some java. My checkout was equally as pleasant. Price for room a bit steep fir wgat you get. Downtown Palo Alto is a nice weekend visit, too....lots to do & great restos. 10 min walk from Stanford Shopping Center.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I discovered the Garden Court in Palo Alto while staying at a nearby B and B (also a lovely property) during a clinic I was attending at Stanford. Every morning I passed by the hotel on my walk downtown to get coffee. The valet was kind enough to help me find a yoga studio nearby. I couldn't help but notice the curb appeal of the property. It was easy to tell it was a luxury hotel. Finally I stopped in to inquire about a room for the weekend when my husband was to join me. The front desk person (Michael?) was very enthusiastic about the hotel and offered to show me one of the rooms. It was delightful (newly redone a few years earlier in a refined Mid Century decor--hello Mad Men). The rate he offered was fantastic and so I reserved the room. Upon check in (my room was actually ready early) the valet and front desk staff were great to assist me with all my belongings and to store the bikes I had rented for an excursion the next day. When there was some confusion about rate, Jose was quick and gracious to correct it without me ever feeling uncomfortable. I cannot stress enough how friendly, yet elegant and professional everyone was. That night we dined at Il Fornio, the Italian restaurant in the hotel. Again, the decor was lovely, the food delicious and the server was wonderful. Being only two blocks from University Avenue, we were able to walk to all the great shops and restaurants. We will surely return for another romantic get away to the Garden Court where we felt pampered,important and right at home in Palo Alto

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulsPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder,co
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

as a previous review stated when you first get there you wonder about the property as you have to go up stairs to the second floor of the building to check in. We had a very nice stay staff is helpful rooms are very nice with extremely comfortable beds. Rooms are quiet and you cant beat the location, also they have a decent gym

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howard0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.3 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
652 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
637 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Hotel

Property: Garden Court Hotel
Address: 520 Cowper St, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#1 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Hotel and Event Venue rated in 2014 - Four Stars by Forbes Travel Guide. Located in downtown Palo Alto's tree lined streets this luxury boutique hotel offers 62 guestrooms and suites. Ideal for business travelers, meetings in Silicon Valley, leisure guests exploring the area and brides looking for a romantic wedding. With contemporary chic design, charm, luxurious amenities, attention to detail, spectacular location and privacy this ultimate urban retreat is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Palo Alto
Hotel Garden Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing