We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, excellent service, beautiful rooms!”
Review of Garden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Garden Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, excellent service, beautiful rooms!”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My recent stay at the Garden Court Hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff were gracious and attentive to the details that distinguish a luxury hotel from the chain hotel experience. The rooms are gorgeous and very quiet, with beautiful private balconies. Best of all, the location is in the heart of downtown Palo Alto, walking distance from dozens of excellent restaurants and bars. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QC2theMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear QC2themax,
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that we exceeded your expectations. As an independent hotel, it is the special attention to details that we depend on to set us apart from the other branded hotels. Because we are small we are pleased that we can offer a warm, friendly and more persoanl touch that you so graciously shared that you enjoyed.Thank you for sharing your comments and for highly recommending us.

Best regards,

Jeffery Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    63
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
92
111
19
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I've stayed here a few times and love love love this hotel! From the Marble bathrooms, to the comfy beds, to the wonderful staff, great location, excellent service, etc, etc, etc! The nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. It is very welcoming and has a something special that no other hotel offers. Everyone is smiling and is very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who plans on visiting Palo Alto or to anyone who just wants a nice place to get away for some relaxation. While you are there, be sure to visit Il Forniao as is has great food and happy hour is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Every room I have stayed in was excellent so it is hard to recommend which one I liked best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Heather H,
I am over joyed by your review-It is most rewarding to know that you feel the same way that I do about The Garden Court Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that everyone is smiling and wonderful-I am grateful to have such a devoted team who truly care about the guest experience. Thank you for sharing the love and for putting a big smile on my face.

Warmest regards,

Jeffery Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Very well located in the heart of Palo Alto, this boutique hotel is very comfortable but too expensive. There is no in-house restaurant, however, the Italian restaurant adjoining serves an excellent breakfast. I would have rated the hotel a 4, had it not been for the front desk experience. My wife had reserved our room, and on arrival she completed check-in, and showed her passport and gave her credit card. The clerk pushed the form to me to sign, I ignored it, and my wife signed. We then received a welcome message on our room TV, and a card delivered to our room both addressed to 'Mr' followed by my wife's name (there could be no confusion, my wife is a very beautiful woman). When we were passing the front desk, I politely explained the error, and Jeffery L Phillips, Rooms Division Manager replied "Thank you for sharing" (no apology to my wife). I must admit I was irritated, so I brought the welcome card and envelope, put a line through 'Mr' on both, and wrote 'Ms'. I handed it in for the attention of Mr Phillips. When we returned there was a card of apology in our room with 4 chocolates. The air-conditioning in our room was extremely loud, and banged each time it worked. We won"t return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Pancho8,
I regret not formally apologizing to both you and your wife for failing to recognize your wife as the primary name on the reservation. I understand your perspective as an experienced traveler and appreciate your taking the time to provide your feedback. Please be assured that I take your comments very seriously and will be extremely sensitive to such details going forward.

It is my hope - when returning to Palo Alto- you will give us the opportunity to serve you with the dignity you so carefully pointed out to me. I would value the opportunity to make this up to both of you on a future stay.

Respectfully,

Jeffery L. Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Overall this is a great hotel in a prime location. Many small things that make it so -- chocolates, coffee and pastries in the morning, wine tasting in the afternoon, etc. But its when somehting goes wrong that hotels make or break their reputation.

Basically, the battery in the smoke detector failed in my room at 3:00 AM, causing it to beep incessantly. I knew exactly what it was, called the desk and they sent a very nice man to the room to remove it in less than 5 minutes.

That morning at checkout, the desk clerk made no mention that I was awoken at 3:00 AM and had to call the desk. The manager was standing behind her. I decided to let them know that there was no smoke detector in room 2xx because it had to be removed at 3:00. The manager replied "yes we know, we are going to replace it." No apology, no complementary breakfast, or promise of an upgrade on my next visit.

I recently switched from the Four Seasons to this hotel primarily because of the location. But when a similar incident occured a few years back at the FS, a complementary bottle of wine was delivered and I was offered a suite on my next visit.

They really try hard, and the hotel is beautiful and in a perfect location. Just not quite 4/5 star service.

Room Tip: Stay far from the elevators beacuse the coffee and pastry service is set up at 6:00 am and can be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelEGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is a boutique hotel nestled in the heart of Palo Alto, walking distance to restaurants & shops. The rooms are beautifully appointed with Molten Brown toiletries. There are complimentary pastries and coffee for breakfast in the lobby and chocolates on arrival. The staff are friendly and helpful. The italian restaurant downstairs offers a good lively bistro setting. Room rates are expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

No major complaints about this hotel other than it's overpriced. Nice looking, fantastic location, friendly staff, quiet and comfortable. Only a couple of oddities. First, the in-house restaurant seems to offer only Italian food. I am originally from Italy, and I'm definitely NOT going to have chicken parm when ordering room service in Palo Alto. Second, instead of flipping through a binder like in every other hotel, in order to find hotel info you have to use a horribly slow "interactive" system that you access through the TV remote. And that includes room service: you might actually starve before managing to navigate through the system to get to the menu. Come on people, sometimes low tech is better (especially when the "high tech" solution is from the 1990's). But those are details. The only real disappointment was with the gym -- tiny and (at least on one morning) smelling like dirty socks. Upon checking out I was told that the hotel offers free passes to a health club nearby, but of course that info -- like everything else -- was only available through the interactive TV system.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I always enjoy a good hotel but I want to get what I pay for. They charge the price of a Good 5 Star hotel but lack the service that comes with it. It's a shame because the setting is nice. Rooms are good. Service is EVERYTHING when your traveling and poor service from the front desk that is to busy talking about there night out the night before is not good. The restaurant could learn a lesson about good service also

Room Tip: 3 trips have shown me a lack of service
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear MichaelW
I would like to invite you to contact me directly regarding your stay. I am interested in learning more specific information about your recent disappointing experiences so that I can ensure it never happens again.

I am available at your convenience.

Resepectfully,

Jeffery L. Philllips
Rooms Division Manager
408-718-5333
jeffery@gardencourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.3 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
963 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
657 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Hotel

Property: Garden Court Hotel
Address: 520 Cowper St, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Hotel and Event Venue rated in 2014 - Four Stars by Forbes Travel Guide. Located in downtown Palo Alto's tree lined streets this luxury boutique hotel offers 62 guestrooms and suites. Ideal for business travelers, meetings in Silicon Valley, leisure guests exploring the area and brides looking for a romantic wedding. With contemporary chic design, charm, luxurious amenities, attention to detail, spectacular location and privacy this ultimate urban retreat is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Palo Alto
Hotel Garden Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing