We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hoem away from home in Palo Alto”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Hoem away from home in Palo Alto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

The Garden Court does not look imposing from the street, but entering the 2.nd floor reception gave a pleasant feeling of entering a place that easily could be a home. Everything is stylish and comfortable, and the staff was smiling and personal. My room was spacious and very, very comfortable. The bed was a dream to sleep in. The bathroom wasn't big, but very well equipped, clean, well lit and designed. Moulton Brown soaps, shampoos etc gave a touch of luxury.
Meals have to be eaten outside the hotel, theres a very nice restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel (run by a separate management). We went for breakfast at the University Cafe, 500 yards away - on 271 University Avenue. Great!
The Hotel does not have a pool, which is unusual for California, but we did not miss it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a well sized terrasse. Higher rooms facing the courtyard gets more sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J.P.Hernes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear J.P.Hernes,
It was a pleasure hosting you and your colleagues for your visit to Palo Alto. Thank you for sharing your wonderful sentiments about your stay. We are pleased that our carefully appointed details contributed you stay and that we made you feel like home.
Your extensive travel experience is highly regarded and your review is most appreciated.

Warmest regards,

Jeffery L. Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    59
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
80
109
19
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

the room design was excellent. very clean and comfortable classic design. the balcony is very nice. the staff is helpful and courteous. pastry and coffee are served for free on every level during the breakfast hour.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Cynthia1003,
Thank you, for taking the time to share your comments about your stay here at The Garden Court Hotel. It is nice to hear you found the design of our rooms comfortable and that we provided you with helpful, courteous service. I hope you will return to Palo Alto again, mornings with a cup of coffee out on the balconies is a lovely way to start the day.

Warmest regards,

Jeffery L. Phillips
Rooms Division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband and I spent one night here during a recent trip to CA. The hotel was excellent and the service was amazing. Tony, the bellman, was so responsive. I asked a quick question about where to find something and he came back in minutes with driving and walking directions. The room itself was incredibly clean, the beds were so comfortable and the bathroom was plenty big enough. They provided great recommendations for restaurants and other things to do close to the hotel which was in a great location close to University Avenue.

Room Tip: I would choose a room overlooking the courtyard and on a higher floor for a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Mickey P,
We are delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your experience with us. Excellence, is truly what we strive for and we apprecaite such a meaningful endorsement. Guests first~ is our #1 core value and we are so pleased that Tony exemplified it perfectly with his actions. Tony is highly respected for his dedication, commitment and hard work. We are very proud of him and appreciate you taking the time to recognize him personally.

Best regards,

Jeffery L. Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed two nights at the Garden Court Hotel, and it is wonderful.

Pros:
- Very easy valet parking
- Friendly, accomodating staff (They arranged for an early morning cab to the airport)
- Great wifi available in my room
- Spacious, comfortable room - well-decorated, with a small terrace for breakfast-
- Continental breakfast right outside your door on each floor
- Turn-down chocolates, fruit in room, snacks and water/coffee/tea available at front desk throughout the day
- computer with printer in lobby for printing boarding pass
- Easy walking distance from University Ave shops and restaurants in Palo Alto
- Good hair dryer in bathroom
- Great rainfall shower
- Molton Brown bath products in room
- In-room temperature control thermostat
- Bed is very comfortable (pretty soft mattress)

Cons:
- There is one elevator and it would sometimes take a while to get down to the main floor at "peak" hours
- Some sound drifted up from the courtyard restaurant/bar at night, but it ended at a reasonable hour
- The in-hotel workout center is pretty small and located along a hall of rooms, so it opens at 6am out of respect for the people in those rooms. I wish they had a 24 hour workout room in a more sound-proof location.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor and had a nice room, but my colleague was on the 2nd floor and his ceilings w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear hotelgirl111,
Your name is perfect, your travel experience and perspective are so appreciated. The detail that you mention about your stay is so meaningful and truly hits home with us. It is the special touches that quite a bit thought is put into to make our guests experience wonderful and memorable.
Thank you for your objectivity, sharing both Pros and Cons is the best way for us to positively use the review processs to make changes. We always want to be moving forward providing the best possible Garden Court experience we can.
My apologies for the elevators-it is a challenge at peak times, I hope it did not cause too much inconveneience. Our fitness center is available to use to work out in after hours, you are correct it is just for sound we ask that guests do not use the machines in respect of other guests which does limit the use for travelers from different time zones. However, we do offer complimentraty passes to Form Fitness-A full service facility 2 blocks away that offers classes, personal training and a wide array of services and opens at 5am.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

Warmest regards,

Jeffery L. Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during our first trip to Palo Alto. The hotel was in a perfect location just off University Blvd, which is the main area of the town with tons of great shops and restaurants. The staff at the hotel was courteous, the valet was fast and friendly, and the rooms were spacious with nice balconies and views of the courtyard. The bed was among the most confortable I've slept in, and the bathroom very luxurious. I would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JMLMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear JMLMD,
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am so pleased that you and your family chose to stay with us for your first of what I hope is many trips to Palo Alto. It is so rewarding to hear how happy your experience both at The Garden Court Hotel and Palo Alto was for you. I must agree that our beds are amazing-glad you were comfortable. Hope to see you soon.

Warmest regards,

Jeffery L. Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

The Garden Court is the best conceivable combination of exceptional service, charming ambiance, superb catering for events and the absolutely most gracious and considerate service. This is my very favorite spot in Palo Alto or Menlo Park.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Greg B,
We are absolutely thrilled to receive your wonderful review. I looked up the definition of OASIS-
A pleasant or peaceful area or period in the midst of a difficult, troubled, or hectic place or situation.
How perfect, we couldn't ask for a better endorsement-Thank you.

Warmest regards,

Jeffery L. Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel on a family vacation with our 10 yr. and we got a very large room which was spotless! The staff provided excellent services! The bed were so comfortable!! Great location with a very nice Il Fornaio restaurant right downstairs.

Room Tip: Try the morning complementary pastry! Also they have quality and tasty food on Wednesday!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ori14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffery P, Manager at Garden Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Uri Y,
We are delighted that you hear your family enjoyed your vacation and your time spent with us at The Garden Court Hotel. It is wonderful to receive such thoughtful and detailed comments about your experience. We are so happy that you had the chance to taste our Wednesday menu.
We do hope you and your family will be our guest's again.

Warmest regards,

Jeffery L. Phillips
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.3 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Hotel

Property: Garden Court Hotel
Address: 520 Cowper Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#1 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Hotel and Event Venue rated in 2014 - Four Stars by Forbes Travel Guide. Located in downtown Palo Alto's tree lined streets this luxury boutique hotel offers 62 guestrooms and suites. Ideal for business travelers, meetings in Silicon Valley, leisure guests exploring the area and brides looking for a romantic wedding. With contemporary chic design, charm, luxurious amenities, attention to detail, spectacular location and privacy this ultimate urban retreat is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Palo Alto
Hotel Garden Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing