We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nicely appointed”
Review of Garden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Located in downtown Pal Alto not far from Stanford University. They have quality rooms that are nicely appointed with wonderful amenities. Has a beautiful courtyard. Their attention to detail is very nice. Had a personalized note in my room welcoming to the Garden Court. The location of the hotel is great. walkable to restaurants and shops. Room Service was very good and the food was actually hot when it arrived. Their overhead rain showers was awesome with Molton Brown products and fluffy bath towels. They also have turndown service which is always nice. Once you slip into the bed you will find it hard to get out of it. The sheets are amazing. The desk was a great work space with office supplies. They also have free WiFi. I will definitely be returning to the Garden Court.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

I only got to stay at this hotel for one night, but I wish I could have stayed for more nights. The bathroom is adorned with an abundance of luxury toiletry items, right down to lavender air freshener spray. The rain shower was really fabulous, with the width of the shower head and height in which it was placed, I really felt like I was in a "rain shower". The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Every detail was very carefully thought out and I really appreciate the surprise and delight of all the small things.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kw_loves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

It is the best hotel in Palo Alto. My partner and I were having a hard time finding a nice and decent place to stay in after a bad experience with the Creekside Inn, which was originally listed as a boutique hotel, but is actually not a boutique hotel AT ALL!, so we found the Garden Court hotel located in Down town Palo Alto and stayed there for two nights. The location is ideal because it's within walking distance from all the nice cafes in the town and has very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Afarin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is a good choice if you have a child at Stanford and don't want to pay Rosewood Sand hill prices, are interested in a hotel in the midst of downtown Palo Alto or have business nearby. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, room 326. The operative words are comfortable and competent. There is a separate living room with a couch, chair, coffee table and work desk. The couch and chair were comfortable. The decor is not luxurious but comfortable. The bedroom had a comfortable bed and pillows. You get the idea- it was comfortable. The bathroom is done in standard marble. His and her sinks and a small glass shower. There was also a tub. There was a closet but it was not large enough to accomodate our suitcases which were put in the bedroom. The bedroom also had a couch in front of the bed. One downside is that there is very little outside light. The living room is an interior room without windows. The bedroom had one small window. The sound silencing was poor as we were woken up by a garbage truck doing its rounds. The hotel has a small workout room with just one treadmill, although it was an upscale model. There is no restaurant, which was annoying in the cold and rain. The hotel is funky in that you must climb stairs or take an outside elevator to get to the lobby. The hotel uses an annoying European lighting system in which you must place a room key into a slot to work the lights for the suite. We were charged $19 per night for parking which seemed reasonable. I felt that the $500 per night rate including tax was fair.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cbreezedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Friendly, comfortable and convenient hotel right on University Ave in Palo Alto. I always stay here for work and each time the experience has been positive. It is a small boutique hotel and the staff is welcoming and tries to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The restaurant downstairs is terrific for Italian food. Plus there are tons of choices right outside the door. I will most certainly continue staying here. The only comment I would make is that their gym is really small and insufficient. It could use an upgrade.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

In my first time spending a night in Palo Alto, I stayed at the Garden Court. This hotel is exemplary: comfortable, elegant, attentive, and charming. The service at reception is courteous, there's reasonably priced valet parking, the basics like internet and water pressure are great, and I had a good night's sleep. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat, and I was so tempted to ditch my less impressive San Francisco hotel the next night and return here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dberkowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed one night at this fantastic hotel. The room was large, extremely nicely decorated, and equipped with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! My room was also very quiet and had large double doors which opened onto a small patio overlooking the courtyard. I was very surprised at how high the quality of the room was given how reasonably it was priced.

One of the best things about my stay was how easy it was - inexpensive valet waiting at the door, quick check in, and free coffee / muffins / buns in the lobby in the morning. One aspect I particularly liked was that the hotel unlocked computers in the hallways: I needed to access my files remotely and print a few, and there was no requirement to log in, and the printing was free!

The location is also very good: the hotel is centrally located just a step off University Avenue. I will be staying here for all future trips to Palo Alto and would highly recommend this hotel to my colleagues for future trips.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.3 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
3.5 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,046 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
669 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 11 in Menlo Park
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Hotel

Address: 520 Cowper St, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#1 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#3 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: £200 - £682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Hotel and Event Venue rated in 2014 - Four Stars by Forbes Travel Guide. Located in downtown Palo Alto's tree lined streets this luxury boutique hotel offers 62 guestrooms and suites. Ideal for business travelers, meetings in Silicon Valley, leisure guests exploring the area and brides looking for a romantic wedding. With contemporary chic design, charm, luxurious amenities, attention to detail, spectacular location and privacy this ultimate urban retreat is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Palo Alto
Hotel Garden Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing