We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Botique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Botique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2007

Every stay was above my expectations. The corner suite was magnificent. The fireplace suite was also extremely wonderful. Every amenity I could imagine complete with turndown service. I find it extremely hard to find anything I didn't love-I guess the corner suite has sort of sky lights with no drapes, if you want to sleep in you have to use the blindfold thing they have in the room. I was up early and didn't find it a problem. The service was wonderful and sincere. The second visit I did miss the check-in glass of port.

  • Liked — luxery everything
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank garybgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    59
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
77
107
19
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2007

This well-located hotel is a great choice in Palo Alto. It's just steps from University Avenue and has plenty of European charm. Rooms are spacious and very clean. A large wedding party was using the property on the Saturday night of our stay. The loud music from the reception stopped promptly at 10:00 p.m. as the manager told us it would.

  • Liked — great location & lots of charm
  • Disliked — Courtyard style made it a little noisy.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey County, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2006

What a great boutique hotel conveniently located in downtown Palo Alto, at the corner of University Avenue and Cowper St. The rooms are quiet, valet parking staff is excellent and affordable- overall a great place to stay! Their staff is top-notch, and the hotel pays close attention to detail to keep the guests happy. Breakfast is excellent- the service is superb- rooms are very, very nice- better than the larger, flagged hotels (like the Sheraton, Hyatt, etc.). Even the bathrooms for general use (off of the lobby area) have cloth hand towels and are equipped with coconut-scented hand soap. We would DEFINITELY stay at the Garden Court again.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank montereysource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2006

The Garden Court Hotel was very luxurious. I'm still missing those fluffy pillows on the bed. It was so refreshing to stay in a hotel that was spotless!!! The food at the restaurant was delicious. We were staying there to attend a wedding and the entire weekend was relaxing and enjoyable. The continental breakfast in the morning was delicious, but if you got up much later than 7 it seeemd as most everything was picked over. Each room had a balcony which was very relaxing and fun to wave at other guests. The only complaint we had was there was a mix up with our bill at the end of the stay and we got called at home after our return telling us they had made a mistake and we owed them money. I was just a little suprised that happened at a hotel of this quality. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beachsparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2004

A great location, just off the main shopping street. Very pleasant rooms with balconies over a lovely courtyard. Perhaps the rooms are just a little too pastel-shaded in their decor but they are certainly spacious and well appointed. Staff are unfailingly courteous and helpful. Fine breakfasts in the restaurant below. Recommended.

Helpful?
11 Thank McBoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.3 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Hotel

Property: Garden Court Hotel
Address: 520 Cowper Street, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Hotel and Event Venue rated in 2014 - Four Stars by Forbes Travel Guide. Located in downtown Palo Alto's tree lined streets this luxury boutique hotel offers 62 guestrooms and suites. Ideal for business travelers, meetings in Silicon Valley, leisure guests exploring the area and brides looking for a romantic wedding. With contemporary chic design, charm, luxurious amenities, attention to detail, spectacular location and privacy this ultimate urban retreat is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelClick and Booking.com so you can book your Garden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Palo Alto
Hotel Garden Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing