We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact Gorgeous Garden”

Elizabeth F. Gamble Garden
Ranked #9 of 41 things to do in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mountain View, California, United States
1 review
“Compact Gorgeous Garden”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I love this garden. I can spend 10 minutes or a couple of hours in it. It's packed with plants and flowers and a wonderful place to take photos. It's not as grand as Filoli, but on a closer look there is so much more to see with a wider variety of plants and you don't have to pay anything to enjoy it. There are some picnic tables and nice clean restrooms. I go here often to detox from a busy week. It's really lovely.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MountainViewVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    13
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful and free”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Enjoy a peaceful stroll in the gardens. Also a beautiful place to take some photos, read a book or sit and enjoy a coffee all for free.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“a Gift to the neighborhood and to the school children”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

It's a welcome place of comfort to drop by and see what is blooming and what is yet to bloom. What makes it even more special is how this garden is used by the children in the nearby Walter Hays Elementary School to learn about how to tend and grow a garden.
The Gamble Garden is one the those Palo Alto Treasures.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcopolopaloalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, OR
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“An oasis, and historic, too”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I delivered laundry to Ms. Gamble many years ago and felt privileged to be on these beautiful grounds, being shown around by her gardener. I'm glad that it's now open to the public.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank stillhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, local stroll through the garden”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

A friend and I walk our dogs from her house to the garden to enjoy the beautiful colors throughout the seasons. Always love to see what's growing. Also a wonderful venue for a wedding.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elizabeth F. Gamble Garden also viewed

 

Been to Elizabeth F. Gamble Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing