We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Keen
Nearby Hotels
Dinah's Garden Hotel(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
US$258
US$251
Dinahs Garden
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Palo Alto(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
US$224
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$113
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Parmani(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Zen Hotel(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
US$258
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$450
US$406
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coronet Motel(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$514
US$503
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Country Inn(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardinal Hotel(Palo Alto)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
59
79
48
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
79
48
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite boardgreat locationwine hourboutique hotelrooms are smalluniversity avenuewalking distancetwo blocksrestaurants and barsfree wifitrain stationcomfy bednice breakfastbusiness tripfront desk staffsilicon valleywhiteboard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed one night on business trip and was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to their 3rd floor suite. Reasonable rates for the area. Love the minimalist design and euro/danish decor vibe. Perfect location, within a 1 minute walk to main streets in downtown PA. There is no gym, but I paid the $20 daily fee to workout a local gym around the corner that they have a deal with (although $20/day not really a deal....). They have daily happy hour free wine and beer downstairs in the lobby. Free wifi. My only complaint is that the rooms don't have a functional lamp next to the bed for reading - or maybe I couldn't find it. Overall this is definitely on my return hotels for when I'm back in PA.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pfriedman, General Manager at Hotel Keen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have the two little pinpoint lamps (similar to the ones on airlines) in the ceiling that can be adjusted to your needs - I am sorry that we were not able to point that feature out to you during your stay with us. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I spent two nights at the Keen, conveniently located in “downtown Palo Alto," on April 23-24, 2014. This boutique hotel was clearly designed to serve tech industry travelers – who are traveling solo.

On the plus side, the hotel staff were very accommodating and very service oriented. Parking on surface streets overnight or during the day in the public lot adjacent to the hotel is easy and convenient. The small lobby hosts a reasonable “continental-plus” style breakfast buffet and end of day wine hour. Wireless service was good. There were lots of electrical outlets in the room to recharge gadgets overnight. And the flat-panel TVs in the guest rooms (which can connect to laptops) are surrounded by a large white board, which means you can make real time notes on the wall as you practice your PPT pitch the night before your do-or-die presentation to the VCs on nearby Sand Hill Road.

However, the guest rooms – or least the standard room I occupied for two nights – are clearly designed for solo travelers on short stays. I was traveling with my wife; there was barely room for us to walk past one another. (Think of a standard single at NYC's trendy Strand Hotel, but one that seems to be about 10 pct. smaller). Also no closet, just a hook on the wall that might accommodate two hangers -- which might work well for a solo traveler but did not work for a pair of guests.

I'd go back as a solo, but not as a traveling couple.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pfriedman, General Manager at Hotel Keen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us. I am glad that you were happy with the hotel overrall and thought it quite suitable for one person. I just wanted to mention that we do have deluxe rooms that are not only 25% larger allowing more room to move around in (whether solo or with another person) but also have closets which allow you to further free up floor space from suitcases and allow garments to be hung. These are usually only priced $20 or $30 higher. Hopefully we will see you again at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Finally stayed in this boutique hotel located in my neck of the woods of northern Silcone Valley.

Very elegant reputation. Reputable staff. Reasonable, yet higher than no-tell motel, prices with a fine coffee bar, cocktail hours during the week, and a superb continental breakfast.

Location, location, location.

Across from the municipal covered parking lot and the 280/281 SamTrans bus stop along Lytton (parallel north of University Avenue) and High Street (a block east of the CalTrain station).

Prices change from day of the week to week by week. Call ahead for your queen size bed and don't bother asking for a rollaway cot.

Room Tip: Restaurants galore on University Avenue and side streets. Hotel Keen is one block west of the Aquarius Theatre and Patxi's Chicago Pizza Parlor and Rangoon Ruby's popular Burmese cuisine.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCoastUSADad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pfriedman, General Manager at Hotel Keen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will be able to get away again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This was the default hotel when the recommended brand hotel turned out to be full. I think that worked out well as this place was novel, cheaper, and an entirely pleasant experience. Nice rooms, suitable especially for business travelers; great service at reception; easy access to a large public parking lot; central location in Palo Alto and minutes away from Stanford; nice breakfast nook with fresh baked goods, ham, cheeses, cereal, etc., good coffee offerings and nespresso options; daily Wall Street Journal. I will stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank fred200099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pfriedman, General Manager at Hotel Keen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent two nights at the Hotel Keen December 30th through January 2nd.

Yes, the rooms are very small, but they are laid out logically, the linens are of very high quality, the room is clean and well-appointed. As other reviewers have mentioned, the staff are all extremely helpful and friendly, the Continental Breakfast is really REALLY delicious, and the location is fantastic. People have complained about the lack of a parking lot: I didn't think this was a problem. There is a huge public lot right beside the hotel (free parking), and overnight parking on the street is plentiful. (Also free.)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews