We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Compact urban hotel with clean simple style”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Keen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Keen
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Compact urban hotel with clean simple style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

This is a small hotel in a converted 3-storey commercial building just off Palo Alto's lively University Avenue. It seems to have been freshly renovated - public areas and rooms were bright and clean. Decorated in a generic modern boutique hotel style, there's nothing to offend one's taste (but nothing to get too excited about either).

Staff were very friendly and some were enthusiastically eager to be of assistance. Housekeeping staff displayed the traits of a well-run hotel with smiling greetings and courtesy.

Rooms are compact, tidy, and minimalist, with emphasis on a comfortable queen bed with nice bedding. The modern packaged air conditioner in the ceiling over the bed was quiet and effective with a digital thermostat.

A number of the rooms don't have a view and get their light and air from light wells - the hotel is built to the property lines between two other buildings. Our room's window had translucent glass - nice light at the right time of day and only a glimpse view of a neighbouring parking lot - this is an internally-focussed experience. This isn't a problem as the hotel is only a half block from plenty of restaurants and cafes and a pleasant promenade down University Avenue.

Crisply planned bathroom (shower only) with interesting LED and halogen lighting. A space-saving curtain between room and bathroom provides visual but no acoustic privacy.

You park your own car - there's a free municipal lot almost next door which works for evenings and weekends, otherwise it's got a 2 hour limit.

All in all a good experience from a straightforward small hotel that provides a clean. simple and comfortable accommodation with just enough boutique hotel style.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltron3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    71
    40
    16
    12
See reviews for
15
23
19
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

This hotel is in a great location for the city and for visiting Stanford. It is very clean and the free WiFi worked well. Major disadvantage was the lack of a closet in the room, apparently deluxe rooms have these but personally I think a hook that takes 3 shirts is not enough. Room had a window which looks out on a building next door so close that you could reach out and touch it. The staff were great and the bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demig_AIUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Just open last august. Brand new. Rooms are super small altough clean and with Ipod docs, nice flat TV and very confortable bed. windows are small so do not expect a view to stanford university. If you are looking for a decent breakfast, forget about it. They serve muffins and juices only. Staff is very welcoming as well.
Rates are in good level. Location is perfect since is just a few blocks from Stanford. Close to the hotel you have a series of restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarpon_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

My daughter and I needed a room in Palo Alto as close as possible to Stanford University to move her into the dorm. I needed something safe and in a good area for running, as I run early in the mornings by myself. I also wanted to stay in an area that would give her a feel for the life surrounding the campus.

The location of Hotel Keen was perfect. It's in a trendy area with lots of restaurants to choose from. It's quite safe and only a mile from Stanford. I ran from the hotel and around campus with no concerns. I was worried about the hotel itself after reading the reviews online, but because they were all from 2008, I decided to call the hotel as they did indicate it had been remodeled. The front desk person I spoke with promised me I would not be disappointed and he was so friendly, I decided I'd give it a try. The rooms were small, but cleverly designed to get the most out of the space. Being just opened, it was quite clean and quite nicely decorated. The staff couldn't have been nicer. They were all quite friendly and really cared to hear our opinions.

All in all, I was glad we stayed at the Hotel Keen and will definitely stay there again next time I travel to Palo Alto to visit my daughter. I don't usually post reviews for hotels, good or bad, but I was compelled to because of the bad reviews online from 2008 that are so wrong now.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Business takes me out to Palo Alto several times a year for meetings downtown. Being a smaller company, we stay in cheaper hotels. Often that means the Cardinal, or the Sheraton. However a colleague found the Hotel Keen was just opening (at checkin they said they'd been open less than 2 weeks, and the official grand opening wasn't for another 2 weeks). It was inexpensive ($120/night), and we decided to take a gamble.

In general, I'd recommend it. The rooms are on the small side, but they're entirely redone and were pretty nice. It felt kind of European, with the smaller room. There's no proper closet, and the drawers are built into the bed and other areas. The desk was pretty narrow, such that it was kind of awkward to use as a proper desk.

As they make sure to remind you, it includes a TV, whiteboard wall (gimmicky, it would be hard to accomplish much with it since the TV is in the middle of the wall), iPod alarm clock, etc.

When I was there they were upgrading the internet, so it was actually down for 2 days. They say it was fixed the day I left, but it was still a big bummer. Despite several inquiries/complaints they never offered me a refund or anything (and I didn't push the issue).

There was a bit of noise from other rooms, but it wasn't too bad.

Absurd but real complaint: I had the last room on the third floor, and whenever I took a shower the noise of water draining was very loud. It was like a loud bathtub draining at the end, but even worse. Maybe it's due to new plumbing, and when it ages slightly will improve? I ended up keeping a foot mostly covering the drain while showering.

As long as the prices stay low, I imagine I'll be here most trips to Palo Alto. The general manager offered a corporate deal, so if your business is coming a lot you should look into that.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrism_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keen

Property: Hotel Keen
Address: 425 High St, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1621
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Keen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing