We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for lunch”
Review of Anatolian Kitchen

Anatolian Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Anatolian Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 356 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: US$20 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: California Avenue
Transit: California Avenue Train station one block away.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have been there for dinner inside, and really like the food. I went there for lunch, had a table outside. Food was very good, pita bread excellent, and the servicxe was rapid without being too pushy.
Great place

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christophe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
295 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Cozy, homey food”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I've eaten at the Anatolian Kitchen twice recently. Both times the food was quite good - the plates come loaded with food including fresh vegetables (broccoli, zucchini, carrots) and rice and your entree. I had salmon one evening and chicken kabobs another, and both were well prepared. My son had a lamb dish/stew that was so flavorful that I was looking around for the a Turkish grandma in the kitchen to thank. The restaurant serves bread and pita made fresh, with a small bowl of olive oil. The appetizer combination plate is a good way to go to try their hummus, falafel, tahini, etc if you are with a group of 4 (again, a lot of food if it is just two or three of you). They have indoor and outdoor seating and are expanding into the pizza take-out place that went out of business next door. They have a full bar as well. We had a bit of trouble with our bill the second visit - we were charged $32/per glass for two white wines. It took them several tries to get the bill correct. Otherwise the service was very efficient and attentive. They have a limited selection of desserts that truthfully do not seem all that appealing, but the portions are so large, I doubt most diners will have room for dessert. I can see the Anatolian Kitchen becoming one of my "go to" spots for good, comfort food in an environment that is welcoming and not the least bit pretentious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, outdoor seating”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Nice, above average turkish food. The apps were good and the specials were good too (whole fish, lamb), but the regular chicken kabobs looked good too. Very nice service too. Nice to be able to sit out on a quiet side street.


They mixed up our bill twice and kept giving us a lower one....okay!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelAlotCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A nice change of pace with pleasant outdoor or indoor seating”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

With Turkish cuisine offering a nice change of pace in terms of flavors and textures, the outdoor seating options at Anatolian Kitchen are an additional plus. The sidewalk is just off the main drag so it's a pleasant side street with a nice big shade tree providing just the right amount of light and shade. I had the Veggie Manti Plate, which is a Ravioli-type pasta, filled with veggies (so hot to warm on the inside), covered with garlic-yogurt (so cool to cold on the outside), and drizzled with melted butter. I like this restaurant because I feel like the menu offers a nice range of lighter as well as heavier fare, all with nice seasonings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SERUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I never had Turkish cuisine before but it essentially was what you might find in any middle eastern restaurant but with a specialized flare. The appetizer sampler was fantastic with hummus, doma, babaghanoush, falafalel, cucumber salad, olives. I had the Mousaka which was delicious too. For dessert you must try the Kanafeh, yum! Prices were very reasonable and service was great!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FlowJo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anatolian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Anatolian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing