We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quiet Evening with friends”
Review of Gravity Wine Bar

Gravity Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Gravity Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #116 of 361 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: University Ave.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Nice Quiet Evening with friends”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We walked into Gravity at around 8PM on a Friday night and were promptly seated. The food was decent and the choice of wine was plenty.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank flora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    33
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Gravity handled our large party very well, and the vibe was okay if a little forced. The food didn't jump out at me, though, and everything was tremendously overpriced given its size, even in Palo Alto.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great variety! Good service! Nice wine list”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Amazing selection to choose from! My friend and I ended up ordering a variety of appetizers as our dinner and we were thrilled with the choices we made. The server helped us choose cheese for the cheese platter and meats for the charcuterie platter and it was fabulous! The frisee salad with poached egg was a nice change of pace and the raw oysters were fresh and sweet! The beet salad was a little boring but nice. The server also selected a nice wine to go with our appetizers which rounded out the perfect meal. We were never rushed and the ambiance was nice...not too loud...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Uneven food and service”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were a party of 4, and we were seated upstairs. We were happy to be upstairs because downstairs was noisy when we arrived. The menu looked really interesting, and we tried to order different dishes so we could sample as many as possible. My mussels and sausage starter was tasty, and my cornish hen was delicious. My husband's frisee salad (with bacon and a poached egg) was very good, as was his short rib over polenta (but a lot of the same taste going on, because there was nothing else on the plate). Our friend ordered the fixed menu, and his duck liver was awful, dry and tasteless, which was a real disappointment. His hanger steak was OK. His wife had a duck confit main course, which was good.

The service was very annoying. Our dishes kept coming in 3's, leaving one person without a dish, sometimes for many minutes. And plates were whisked away as soon as the folk was put down, leaving one of us eating all by themselves with no plates in front of the others. I had to hold on to my hen dish to allow my husband a chance to finish it for me, lest they take it. When we ordered dessert, the dessert 3 of us shared came right away, and the dessert for the fixed menu didn't come. We had to ask for it twice, and he ended up eating it after we had finished ours. Very, very annoying service.

The wine (by the glass) was good, and the wine list is interesting (it is a wine bar, after all). The rating I'm giving (4 stars) reflects our happiness with most of our dishes, and ignores the service problems. We love the sister restaurants, and we hope the service improves over time and the food becomes more even.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Trendy Gravity”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Nice visably aesthetic place. Good service & drinks.

Make sure to make reservations on Friday night!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gravity Wine Bar also viewed

 
Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Gravity Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing