We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“The perfect wedding day”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We got married in May 2011 and had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Westin, Palo Alto. We couldn't have been happier with our decision, in large part thanks to Kristina Tobin, the catering manager, who was amazing and made the day truly special for us.

Kristina goes out of her way to help and to accommodate your requests but also shares the excitement of planning with you. She not only gave suggestions on a wedding day agenda, but also helped us with vendor list, guest room-blocks, seating arrangement, details like the center pieces and was even happy to follow up with our outside caterer. Since were planning our wedding from the East Coast, we found her suggestions to be invaluable. She is extremely supportive, very patient and prompt in her response & followup. She really knows what works best and gives great suggestions.

We held a Hindu cultural ceremony outside in the Courtyard of Moons and Stars and it was beautiful. Kristina had also reserved a backup room, in case of rain, which was something other venues hadn't offered. I initially wanted to have the altar (mandap) on a small stage, but we were not sure how it would look in the courtyard. A day before the wedding, when we went to visit the venue in person for the first time, Kristina had set the stage up for us to let us see for ourselves to help us decide. It was so thoughtful of her to make the effort.

We wanted an elegant and intimate reception and Kristina suggested the Sienna/Carrara ballroom, which was a perfect fit for our 45 guests. We had opted for outside Indian catering and Kristina helped greet the caterers and make sure everything went smoothly. She even helped arranged the dessert tray! On the day, we had to make some last minute changes with seating arrangements and Kristina was so accommodating and made it happen with no fuss.

A couple of days after the wedding, we arrived in Hawaii for our honeymoon and I was touched to find out that Kristina had called our hotel to make a special request and we were pleasantly surprised by getting one of the best rooms. We still think of Kristina fondly and think ourselves so lucky to have had her help with our wedding.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sraeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Sraeburn,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, I am pleased to hear that your wedding was everything you had hoped for and that Kristina played an integral part. We are very lucky to have her on our team. Congratulations to you and your husband and we look forward to hopefully being of service to you again in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    203
    84
    27
    15
See reviews for
129
104
62
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Large, nice and relatively quiet rooms and a great location next to downtown Palo Alto and the Stanford campus. Rooms are clean and have large, nice bathrooms (mine had a bathtub and a separate shower).

Two major downsides though:
* Internet connection is terribly slow (at 10 USD per day)
* Shower heads hang really low and are not adjustable in height - I hate it when I have to bend down to shower (and I am not particularly tall)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ose_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear OSE2000,
Thank you for reaching out about your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your room, bathroom and our location to Stanford and downtown Palo Alto. I'm sorry for the frustration to you regarding internet speed and shower height and would appreciate knowing when you stayed and which room so that we may address these issues, my email address is tfleming@pahotel.com.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

this is a good comfortable hotel. beds are nice (very comfortable), room amenities are solid Westin - dependable. I STILL hate how they charge for wireless in the rooms. Totally tacky. Breakfast buffet was rather meager and over middling quality. Overall a solid location in Palo Alto, but nothing amazingly special.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasoncrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear Jasoncrh,
Thank you for staying with us and for your TripAdvisor review. I am elated that you enjoyed our Heavenly Beds and the comfort of our hotel. Please note that while we do charge for guestroom high speed Internet, it is provided on a complimentary basis in the Business Center and throughout the lobby. I would appreciate hearing further from you as to how we might further enhance our breakfast buffet and specifically what you found to be disappointing as it helps us to improve going forward.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stay here often for business. Across the street from Stanford. Probably half mile to downtown PA, which is an easy walk down University. Self parking if you need it. Rooms are decent size with updated bathrooms. Restaurant in the hotel is good as are a number of casual dining spots down the block near the grocery store. Much cleaner than Sheraton next door. Although it may be expensive, the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5fromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear 5fromSeattle,
Thank you for the feedback on Trip Advisor, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hopefully serving you again in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed 4 nights in June while my husband attended a conference at Stanford University. The accommodations were as wonderful as I expected at the Westin. We needed a larger refrigerator to keep my 5 year old son's snacks and they provided us with one in a timely manner. The pool was closed for renovation while we were there and we were able to use the pool next door at the Sheraton. The hotel was down the street from the center of town, so the location was perfect. All of the staff were polite and excellent. The only drawback was that there was a fire alarm that went off in the middle of the night, which was frightening to say the least, and there wasn't anyone answering the phone at the front desk. We scurried out to the lobby and no one was at the desk. Finally, someone at the front door told us it was a false alarm. They need a better emergency plan in place.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctor082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear Doctor082,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, I'm pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear that you were impacted by the alarm and appreciate the specific feedback as it helps us in identifying holes in our current emergency response plan. Guest safety is of utmost importance to us and taken very seriously.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

That pretty well sums it up. The hotel is across the street from the Stanford Campus and convenient to downtown Palo Alto. The staff gave very good tips about local restaurants and avoiding traffic tie ups. There is a well equipped fitness center. Room service was prompt and tasty. The rooms were pleasantly large as nicely equipped. The bathroom featured both a tub and a separate walk in shower. There is a small bar. Decor is light and airy.

Room Tip: This is a low rise, so there is not much to differentiate one room from another
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 94Q45T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear 94Q45T,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We understand that, due to our location in Palo Alto and the overall hotel demand in the area, the cost is higher than some would expect. I am pleased that despite this fact, we were able to live up to your expectations.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed three nights in September 2011, using Starwood points. The room was very nice, and it was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and very well appointed, with a giant mirror and a nice large vanity area. Separate tub and shower.

We did not experience any of the noise problems mentioned in other reviews, but perhaps that was because the hotel was not very busy - there were very few cars in the self-park garage (which costs $10/day and is a little tricky to get in and out of, but you'll get the hang of it).

The only meal we ate at the restaurant (Soleil) was breakfast, but it was superb on all three occasions. Not cheap, but the food and service were both excellent, so it was worth it.

The hotel is walking distance to the Town and Country Shopping Center and not too bad of a walk to the Stanford Visitor Center or to the Stanford Shopping Center.

The WiFi is only free in the lobby and the business center - in the room there is a charge.

Room Tip: The layout is kind of odd - lots of twists and turns, presumably to create more "corner" r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Alaska09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear 2Alaska09,
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, restaurant and location. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
938 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
870 reviews
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Property: The Westin Palo Alto
Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#7 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing