We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but lacking good customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Not much has changed since I last stayed at the Westin Palo Alto five years ago. The hotel is comfortable and conveniently located, but customer service is not the hotel's strong point.

The staff is always polite and professional, but otherwise useless. Any special requests are met with a "sorry, we can't/won't do that." The staff at this Westin should read my other recent review for the Grand Hyatt Taipei and take some lessons - you're more likely get repeat business visitors if you try finding solutions rather than defaulting to "no."

On one evening, the hotel's internet service -- which is NOT free - broke. Multiple calls to the front desk got little more than a polite "I'm sorry" with no indication that the staff was trying to escalate the issue. If you're traveling on business, as I was, this is not acceptable, especially if the hotel charges about $15 daily for internet service.

The swimming pool had debris in it and didn't look like anybody had cleaned it in a while. (To be fair, the temperature outside never got above 60 while I stayed there, but that doesn't excuse a dirty pool.)

With all that being said, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, the location is within walking distance to University Avenue, and the valet always returned my car quickly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NooYawkuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear NooYawkuh,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience via Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness, location and comfort of our hotel but disappointed that interactions with a member of our team left something to be desired. I would appreciate further details so that we are able to address and improve for the future. Please feel free to reach out to me at tfleming@pahotel.com. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Over the last 4 years, I have stayed at numerous hotels in the Palo Alto area, and none come close to my great experience at the Westin. It has the best location to Stanford & downtown. It is always immaculate (the room, lobby, fitness & pool areas). The room rates are always reasonable for the value you are receiving. And my favorite reason for staying here is that the staff never says no! The front desk always accommodates any request I have, which is very refreshing. In the future, whenever visiting the Palo Alto area, I will always stay at the Westin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This lovely hotel could appear to be too much like a museum where everything is beautiful but you don't want to touch it. The staff made all the difference in providing warmth and personality. Our check-in was prompt and efficient, though they won our 4 year old's heart. She was given a Westin kids pack that had a wonderful sun hat, "map of the world", and decorate your own postcards. What a surprise! We've stayed at other Westin properties but have never been offered such a sweet welcome for the kiddo. I'm not sure if we lucked into a more kid friendly property or if this is a new Westin program. Needless to say, after we unpacked in our spacious pool-view room, our little explorer was donning her new hat and pack.

Our room was bumped to a Starwood preferred room which gave us complimentary bottles of water and corner location. Our bathroom was the size of a small bedroom with a soaking tub on one side, an enclosed glass rain shower on the other. Our bed was luxurious and room super quiet, despite being next to a side street.

We did not eat in the hotel. Hubby used the gym and gave it the thumbs up. I should have worked out and taken advantage of the use of Nike workout clothes and shoes, as I did not bring my own. Hopefully this will be a feature in our next Westin stay so I can try it. Smart marketing.

Would love to stay here again as the location is prime and the room was perfect.

Room Tip: If you have the Starwood program but purchased on an external site, they still might upgrade you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The valet met our vehicle immediately and unloaded our baggage onto a cart (hanging the jackets, of course!). We were checked in and shown to our room in a very prompt and courteous manner. We were given information about the area and engaged in pleasant conversation on the way to our room. Our bags were brought into our room and set on the luggage racks. Our jackets were hung in the closet and our ice bucket was filled. We were asked if we need anything further or any other assistance. The room was very nice and overlooked a courtyard garden. The spa-like bathroom was beautiful with marble and contemporary fixtures. It was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJtraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The Palo Alto Westin is located conveniently on the corner of El Camino & University, a short walk to the shops on University and a short drive (or brisk walk) to the Stanford campus.

Caroline & Jonathan were very helpful in making sure my request for early check-in was accommodated. The staff in general was courteous.

The 5-story building is shaped so that many of the rooms look into a courtyard (and other rooms). The drawback is that the view is of the rooms on the other side of the courtyard and if you're on the side facing CalTrain, you'll hear the train when it makes its stop at the Palo Alto station.

WiFi is $9.95/day (unlimited devices) and self-parking is $10/day (lot on side or underneath the building). Bathroom has tub and shower. Business center has the basic amenities needed to print boarding passes, etc.

Minor comment but on sunny days (even in January), the hallways get pretty warm [maybe 85 degrees]. Perhaps the a/c isn't on during the winters since it's assumed it'll be too cold to need it.

Generally a good stay - location & staff are the biggest reasons for staying here.

Room Tip: Room facing away from CalTrain just northeast of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deal_H0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Front Desk people can be like in a casino , few are nice , few are not so reliable.
I syaed for few weeks , had to cancel a flight to New York because of Hurricasne Sandy , they didn't like the idea ... as I had a great upgraded room , so they started to say that there is no room available... and the price will double ... etc ... but short visit in SPG website showed availability in all categories...in much lower price.
Only after addressing to the GM problem solved ... I guess they are always full , so customer relationship is not something they need to invest in or worry about.

Nevertheless it was always nice to return to the property , nice small swimming pull and Outdoor Jacuzzi , and great Location , and nice service from all the other staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace , they have few of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salvax239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business several times. All good experiences. Service is always attentive, rooms always clean and comfortable. Those are the most important things for me.

Lobby bar lacks something. Nothing wrong, just no real draw to it. I've never eaten at the restaurant but it looks good.

Gym can get busy in the early am (5 treadmills, a few ellipticals and other balls/mat, etc.) but a shoebox for a dumbbell workout room. They could ditch the bathroom and expand the gym...there are already bathrooms just outside the door. Also had to call for sanitary wipes but they quickly filled them.

Will return.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bafll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
953 reviews
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#7 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: £207 - £617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing