We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parting is such sweet sorrow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Parting is such sweet sorrow”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Always happy to arrive to a warm welcome, always a little sad to leave.

Counting the days till my return.

Great to see everyone again, felt like I had just left the day before instead of seven long months.

Somethings change, but the warmth and hospitality here does not.

Enjoyed two wonderful Sunday Brunches and many breakfasts in Soleil.

The ‘leftover take out breakfast’ made for great lunches when I was out and about.

Location is ideal for shopping and the cal-train.

Perfect weather made it ideal to enjoy the pool and spa.

See you in October.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinky23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Pinky23_10,
It was great to see you again Pinky, thank you for being our guest! We look forward to seeing you in a few months. Let us know if you need anything at all.
All the best,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    207
    85
    27
    15
See reviews for
131
105
62
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have stayed in a number of Westin hotels and while the location of this property cannot be beat, I would not consider this one of the chain's finest. The hotel was clean and as always the beds were outstanding, however, the hotel was very small with very tight facilities. There were limited dining options, a very small pool, and an incredibly small with a very limited number of equipment types and quantities. Given the location and the Westin branding, I would have looked for a bit more upscale amenities. Staff were nice, but didn't seem to have the relaxed nature that my other Westin experiences have demonstrated. They seemed rushed, a bit disorganized, etc. Overall not a bad experience, but not one I have come to expect from a premium brand like Westin.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank es_in_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear es_in_tx,
Thank you for being our guest. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our property and comfort of our Heavenly Beds, this makes us quite proud. I apologize that you found the overall experience disorganized and rushed. This is not at all the norm for us and any additional information that you could provide will help in remedying it for the future. I would very much appreciate it if you would reach out to me at tfleming@pahotel.com with more specifics.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland. Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed for a wedding weekend. Perfect location with a shopping center with various small restaurants and a Trader Joe's behind the hotel and a short walk to University St. with more and interesting restaurants and shops. Across the street from Stanford University. No restaurant in the hotel itself, just a breakfast room that closes at 10:30 AM. The Sheraton next door has a restaurant . Great week-end rate. Pool small, especially if you want to entertain children.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vamanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear vamanos,
Thank you for sharing your weekend experience at our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. I am very sorry to hear that a member of our staff provided incorrect information about our restaurant. Restaurant Soleil, located above the lobby on the second floor, offers breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, as well as 24 hour room service. Again, I am sorry for the misinformation.
We hope to serve you again,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I am a Starwood Preferred member so wanted to use the Westin, but it was pretty underwhelming and dingy. I had a room on the pool (small pool) and it looked like it had been ridden hard. The carpet was stained in many places. The air conditioning never cooled the room. The room itself was not up to Westin standards and needed a facelift. The lobby is pretty ok, and the pool was quaint. The room service and meals were worse than average, albeit edible. The location is good for Stanford, which is why I'm guessing this place stays busy. I've since stayed at the Four Seasons on my last trip, and of course there is no comparison. But here's the kicker -- I paid less for the Four Seasons than for the Westin. And the Four Seasons was flawless in every respect -- rooms, meal quality, pool, spa, business operations, etc. I'd rather pay double for the Four Seasons, but it was actually cheaper on this past trip. Oh, and the room next to me had a barking dog all day and night, which made for sleepless nights during critical business. Calls to the office were met with: "There's nothing we can do." Not even an apology or refund or free cocktail. A lot of hotels (including the Four Seasons) are booked for my upcoming trips, but I am trying hard not to stay at the Westin honestly. One positive other than the location: the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the pool unless you have kids and want a vacation day -- doors open to pool. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegalEyeDallasTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear LegalEyeDallasTexas,
Thank you for your feedback via TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to expectations and would appreciate the opportunity to make amends. Please reach out to me at tfleming@pahotel.com or by calling 650.321.4422 to allow us the opportunity. Although our rooms will be completely renovated at the end of the year, our intent is always to maintain the rooms until then and we will address your room accordingly.
I hope to hear from you.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
1,034 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I am a Starwood Platinum member and expected more from this hotel. Upon arrival (at the start of a holiday weekend/this is a business hotel), our "best room available" was a small room down the hall on the first floor next to the parking lot/train tracks. When I talked to the manager the next morning, she was aware of the situation but offered nothing more than a "sorry." Other Starwood properties, especially Westins, treat me like gold; this was not the case here. Also, the junior person checking us in offered a "welcome gift" of Starwood points, but didn't offer continental breakfast until I asked. Next time we'll go to a real hotel - the Rosewood Sand Hill up the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Soulefulltraveler,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor as it gives us the opportunity to address where we fell short. I am very sorry to hear that your SPG Platinum status was not appreciated and expectations not delivered upon appropriately. Please rest assured that this is not at all typical of our hotel and we will address it to ensure that it does not continue.
Thank you for staying with us and I truly hope that you give us another opportunity should you return to the area.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Loved the hotel. Expensive, but the quality of the service I received made it worth every dollar. Conveniently located right in the heart of Palo Alto, right next to downtown. This is the place I will be staying whenever I am in the bay area. Thanks Westin!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Michael Y.,
Thank you for the 5 star rating, we're honored and pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Westin is pretty nice and modern hotel. It's great for business trips.

Really close to Palo Alto's University Avenue, where you can find a bunch of restaurants. Usually I go to those restaurants instead of the one in the hotel, but I never tried it as well.

It is close to the Standford University and with easy access to US 101

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Artur S,
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent business trip to our hotel and have discovered many of the great restaurants on University Avenue. We are lucky to have so many great options so close by.
We hope to serve you again,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
886 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Property: The Westin Palo Alto
Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#7 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing