We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Astonishing”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A gem. They upgraded my room to one of the nicest I've had in any hotel anywhere. The hotel reminds me of the Peninsula Beverly Hills. While I hate to criticize other Westins (which are great for doing business trips well), this is more like a 5 star St. Regis property. It has marble everywhere, a small, cozy, get to know you feel, great rooms and a superb breakfast. They also have a lovely small bar. Great service too. Only negative is a small pool. No room for laps or exercise.

Simply sensational

Room Tip: My suite is as good a room as I've had ever (short of a few over the top luxury suites that cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Henry S,
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the marble touches throughout the hotel, our rooms and the members of our team. Please come back and see us if you return to the area.
Best Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    203
    84
    27
    15
See reviews for
129
104
62
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We love this place! The staff is super. They make you feel welcome as soon as you drive up to the hotel. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. Beds and baths are outstanding. Especially enjoy the nightly chocolate.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ADolores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear ADolores,
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Very near Stanford University. Room was clean and comfortable, came with a coffee machine (which I like having). Gym gets filled quickly and there is only one restaurant, with a limited menu. Staff are really nice and helpful. Housekeeping is friendly and prompt to help.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsnandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear nsnandra,
Thank you for being our guest and for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpinteria, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Comfortable bed in a large room with an extra large bathroom and quiet automated in room temperature control. Front desk staff were friendly and the restaurant, Soleil, has excellent food and service. Location is within walking distance of downtown Palo Alto. Only drawbacks are no Club Lounge for Starwood members and you have to pay to self park.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Jill S.,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, Restaurant Soleil, our staff and location. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Nice place. Close to Stanford. Coffee in room as well as in reception area in am. Great service! Stayed on the weekend and they offerered late checkout, which was greatly appreciated! Huge marble tiled bathroom and comfortable bed with lots of pillows

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisRN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear ChrisRN5,
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is great to see that you thoroughly enjoyed our hotel! Please come back and visit us again soon.
Best Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmar, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Courteous staff. Clean rooms. Good location in Palo Alto. The only drawback is that the hotel is set up like a maze. You snake around a winding hallway to get to your room. Easy to make a wrong turn. The courtyard in the middle was a very nice touch.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear J M,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our property. I'm elated you enjoyed our staff, the location, our courtyards and your room - once you were able to find it:o) Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larkspur
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

First the positives: Although the hotel is situated between a busy highway on one side and railroad tracks on the other, it's intelligent site-design assures that most rooms are unaffected by the noise from either. Second, the bathrooms (or at least the one in the room I had) was large and sumptuous. Third, the front desk staff were pleasant and efficient.

But also the negatives: The room décor was drab and dated, and the large chair was uncomfortable. The room smelled faintly of tobacco smoke, even though this is theoretically an entirely non-smoking hotel. The telephones didn't work, at least for the purpose of calling the front desk. The buffet breakfast - at $19 plus tax and tip - looked barely adequate, and certainly not worth the price. Additionally, there are some unusual extra charges. For a luxury hotel, charging anything for Wi-Fi/Ethernet is a stretch, but here the price is $10 per day. There is also a $14 per day charge for self-parking - even though this is a suburban hotel. (Apparently, the front desk has broad discretion to waive both of these charges.)

Finally, there wasthe matter of obtaining driving directions. Neither MapQuest nor Google were helpful if one as driving south on El Camino, so I called the hotel directly. The first person I spoke to gave me directions that I knew were impossible, as they involved a left turn onto a street where none was allowed. The second person gave me better guidance (make a signal- permitted U-turn, beyond the hotel.) But even those directions weren't quite right, as that same kind of traffic-signaled U-Turn could have been made about a mile sooner.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room that does not face directly onto El Camino Real, an extremely busy highw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widelenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear widelenser,
Thank you for sharing your experience, your feedback can only help us to improve. I am sorry for the trouble you experienced but please rest assured that these items will be addressed and improved upon. We hope that you will give us another chance to see for yourself that this is not at all our norm.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
870 reviews
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Property: The Westin Palo Alto
Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#7 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing