We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place near Stanford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Palo Alto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
294 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Lovely place near Stanford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very nice hotel just across the freeway from Stanford and within medium walking distance of the restaurant district. Great pool and hot tub, modern and nice facility. Our room was large and had a great balcony.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcmjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear hcmjkm,
Thank you for visiting the Westin Palo Alto and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel, location and weather - by the sounds of it! Please come back and see us very soon.
Best Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    197
    83
    26
    15
See reviews for
121
99
61
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

A much needed trip shortened by work related issues, it was a much welcome rest. When the plane landed at SFO, first thought was "I'm home". Very warm welcome from Caroline (who looked after the change in my reservation), Roxan and Allison when I arrived. Great to meet new additions and reacquaint with the rest of the staff. My short stay was made wonderful by everyone who was there. Hard to leave. Will be back in October and have already booked two trips for next year!
Never, ever say "good bye" only goodnight (as I leave on the red-eye).
Thank you for five very special days. See you soon. xo

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinky23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Pinky 23_10,
Thank you for yet another lovely comment. I know Caroline, Roxan and Allison will love seeing their names up in "lights" (or the online equivalent). We look forward to seeing you in October.
Best Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
258 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very good hotel centrally located in Palo Alto with easy access to restaurants and shops on University Ave. Seems primarily a business hotel - right off El Camino and pretty compact and utilitarian vs some more resort-oriented Westins, but has nice rooms and very good service.

A solid choice when in Palo Alto for business. Not sure I'd choose it for a vacation hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear swelch,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel and location. Should you return to the area on business, we hope to serve you again and help you earn some Starwood Preferred Guest points towards your next Westin Resort vacation!
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Perfect location close to town and university. Very friendly staff. nice size comfortable room and bath. Valet parking is costly. Park yourself next door. Wish the 2 bed rooms would have queen beds instead of the small double. Beds were comfortable though. Noise insulation to other rooms is poor. Our room had a connection door to the next room and we could hear everything. The people next door where chatting until 3am and we could not sleep . Very nice to allow late check out at 4pm since we had a late flight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Dirk B..
I'm terribly sorry for the delay in responding, your feedback is very much appreciated. I'm thrilled you enjoyed many facets of your stay and our hotel and am sorry to hear that your neighbors were noisy, that can be very upsetting. We hope to welcome you back as this is not the norm for our property and we would expect an improvement next time around.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Tight if you have a car, check-in or for parking. Facilities nice, rooms nice, clean, but boring. Excellent location for Stanford U or shopping center, also same side of street, charming center with Trader Joe's; CVS; ice cream to upscale shops.
Only there one night, so did not get to use facilities. Bathrobes furnished.
Take bread crumbs or string to find your way. Mazelike set up, many turns, illogical passageways. Other friend staying felt same way. "2R" means mezzanine area.
Not anywhere near a five star. Didn't get any chocolate?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Paul O.,
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. I'm pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and rooms and location to surrounding stores and restaurants. While we can not improve on some of your concerns, we will certainly review your feedback as a team and make changes as we are able.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A gem. They upgraded my room to one of the nicest I've had in any hotel anywhere. The hotel reminds me of the Peninsula Beverly Hills. While I hate to criticize other Westins (which are great for doing business trips well), this is more like a 5 star St. Regis property. It has marble everywhere, a small, cozy, get to know you feel, great rooms and a superb breakfast. They also have a lovely small bar. Great service too. Only negative is a small pool. No room for laps or exercise.

Simply sensational

Room Tip: My suite is as good a room as I've had ever (short of a few over the top luxury suites that cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Henry S,
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the marble touches throughout the hotel, our rooms and the members of our team. Please come back and see us if you return to the area.
Best Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
483 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We love this place! The staff is super. They make you feel welcome as soon as you drive up to the hotel. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. Beds and baths are outstanding. Especially enjoy the nightly chocolate.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ADolores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear ADolores,
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Tanya F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#5 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.1 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Property: The Westin Palo Alto
Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#7 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing