We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay in Palo Alto for value and easy in and out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I've stayed at the Westin in Palo Alto many times and have consistently thought it was a good value. My only complaint is that the fitness center closes at 10pm, which seems a little early for today's late culture -- particularly since it's unstaffed anyway. Book at starwood.com for better rates.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbramFroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2009

There is nothing really special about this Westin. I would rank it below average for a Westin, but it is a Westin, so it is perfectly fine. We did not use the pool, but it looked small. There is a small shopping area in walking distance that has small shops and restaurants.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
Thank atstpier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

This hotel has a very odd layout. Could not figure if it was formerly an apartment building or something. The carpeted floors creak when you walk on them, sort of like the floors are hollow underneath.
The room was quite small, although the bathroom was generously sized. Much to my annoyance, the window would only open about two inches, so you could not really get fresh air into the room. The furnishings were nice, and in good condition -- standard Westin bed and shower.
The pool is tiny but adequate for splashing around. The health club is very small.
The location is great -- right across from Stanford and convenient to local offices.
I normally don't comment on price, but I have to say that this place seems very expensive relative to other hotels of comparable quality in the area. I have to question whether it's worth the money.
The hotel dining room has the standard Westin breakfast buffet fare. I did not eat dinner there because I thought the restaurant was overpriced.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
3  Thank Chgo_Biz_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I know hospitality isn't what it used to be, and nowhere is that more evident than the staff at this hotel. From the people booking reservations to valets and bellmen, they are all really unhelpful. For the quality of the service, I would expect a much less expensive rate.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BillieJoeChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We stayed just one night in late April to visit Stanford. The hotel is right across the street. It was unusually hot when we arrived and the bellmen greeted us with cold bottles of water. Very nice. They upgraded us to a suite, too, which was even nicer. The service was great throughout. They brought us a rollaway bed that was genuinely comfortable. The regular beds were great, too. The desk clerk gave me a disposable razor (since we carried on our luggage and i couldn't bring mine) and breakfast arrived right on time the next morning.It was excellent, though pricey in the usual room service way. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed for two nights, one room with a couple and a toddler and another with our mother. Service was wonderful from the moment we checked in. The crib we'd requested was in the room. Rooms were spacious, quiet, had good views, and wonderfully appointed beds and baths. Everything worked. Even the curtains were a delight, blacking out all light in the morning.
We had free bottles of water, chocolates and turndown service. Plenty of towels. Accommodating bar staff at the pool. Functional business center.
The restaurant was good, and even provided free milk in the a.m. for our child. We offered to pay, but they gave it to us. The hotel is beautiful, and we'll definitely return. You do have to pay $10/day for parking.
We even enjoyed a special rate, due to a promotion they were running. Other than free parking, what more could you ask?

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

For the price, this hotel is nothing special. It tries to appear extremely fancy and classy, but there's little here to actually justify the high price tag. For example, cards are placed through out the room labeling the bed as a "heavenly bed", the shower as a "heavenly shower" and so on. However, there was nothing particularly heavenly about them - just an average bed and an average shower. Shockingly, just putting the label "heavenly" on them doesn't actually make them any better. Moreover, even though the nightly rate is already high, they feel the need to charge extra for every single extra thing. Want internet in your room? $10 per night. Want breakfast? $20 minimum. Want a glass of milk with your breakfast? $5 (seriously, $5 for a glass of milk). Want room service? $3 minimum delivery charge plus 18% gratuity automatically added plus tax. Finally, you can't go through the entrance of the hotel without being hassled by several valets and bell hops along the way who are clearly putting on an ultra polite facade in the hope of scoring a tip. Of course, maybe the valets are somewhat necessary as as driving in/out of the parking garage is awful: a crazy steep driveway into it, with the lovely combo of big speed bumps and a 90 degree turn at the bottom.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brikis98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,038 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#7 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: £156 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing