We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is very unfriendly and unhelpful - at times jerky. Why put up with that for 180/night?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Terrace Inn
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Stayed here for a conference at Stanford. The rooms were remodeled and very clean (although reading about a bedbug problem just now feels a bit creepy, as it were). That's about it for the positive aspects.

This is not a professionally-run hotel. The staff is terrible! Extremely unhelpful - displaying a "You've obviously mistaken me for someone who cares" attitude. We checked in to find out our window faced the (tiny) workout room. I asked for a different room, since my son was going to be spending much of the day there while I went to the conference. This was late at night, we were both tired. So the person at the front desk gave us another room. We walked all the way over there, with our luggage, only to find out it faced a wall! Now granted, I did not explicitly say "Please give me a room that does not face a wall" but this being Palo Alto, you'd think some of the high IQ would rub off and the staff would realize you wanted a view (or something other than a wall or sweaty people). Next item: I had to get up very early and I was about to make coffee in the room, when I realized it was decaf. So I went to the lobby to get real coffee. The guy at the front desk spent a few minutes looking, and then said he'd have to go look for it. He never came back. In the meantime, the lady who was getting the breakfast ready informed me that they have no real coffee for the rooms. "Didn't get delivered". Again, communicating with every word and tone a "What's your problem" attitude, when I expressed surprise at this. Next item: We too faced the shuttle 24 hour advance reservation issue, but managed ok with that. However, when we asked if we could be picked up, that was another story. No can do. Next item: We forgot toothpaste, so I sent my son to get some at the front desk. He came back saying the lady was very unfriendly and charged him $5. For a toothpaste and little toothbrush. Sheesh - for 180/night, you'd expect to get a free toothpaste. You can get that at Motel 8. Last but not least, it is very noisy!!! You hear every person walking by with their roller suitcases, hear every word of their conversation. The breakfast was terrible. The "croissants" were so rubbery and nasty, I took one bite and just threw it away.

We could have put up with some of the annoyances, but the rudeness and unhelpfulness of the staff were inexcusable. We won't stay here again or recommend it. In fact, I will get in touch with the professional society that suggests hotels for our conference and ask that this place be removed from the list of recommended hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PetFriendlyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2011

The room had a really weird air ventilation system and it was really cold! You can turn on the heater, but it is really loud. I got woken up by a loud noise 5 am and the management couldn't do anything about it. The noise just kept turning on and off.

The rooms are newly remodeled and look good. Don't rely on the management to provide advice. I asked them for advice on a place to eat and they just mentioned to go to the downtown area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AS123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Watch out for this hotel. Your stay might be fine if you do not need any help from the staff, but if you do, don't hold your breath that they will help you or that they even will want to help you. I needed help with something that I was told only the manager could make a decision on (leaving earlier than my original reservation), and yet I was told the manager was not around nor could she be reached in any way by the staff. "She does not like it when we call her on the mobile phone" I was told by the staff. So this means that the hotel operates with no manager on duty! Pretty remarkable in 2011. And, by the way, I left a message for the manager. Guess if she ever got back to me...yes you are right, she never did. Plus I had been told she would show up later in the afternoon. Guess if she did, or if anyone called me back? You are right, she did not show up and no one did contact me. At 9:30 the front desk told me they have no idea when the manager might show up.

So, I was kept in limbo the whole day with absolutely no effort to resolve my question. You can fill in the blanks and figure out how this might translate to the rest of your visit at this hotel. Want to make a reservation for a local ride with the complimentary van that is adverised? "Oh, well for that you will need to make a reservation at least 24 hours in advance." Well, might it be possible for later today? "Oh, no there absolutely are no exceptions; it simply is our policy". You get the idea....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank loh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago with a friend who was on business. We had a large twin room overlooking the pool and it was really spacious. There were 2 really good, comfortable beds, as well as a wing chair and foot rest, a desk and chair, a fridge, microwave, a massive wardrobe and the tv was good quality with a good signal too. All this was not enough to fill a huge room which was immaculately clean and well kept - with the bed linen and towels being stand out.
I had none of the problems the previous reviewer had with the pool and we were right next to it. The only problem was the noise from the room above. It was only foot steps through the ceiling but they were distinctive and could have kept me awake...fortunately those above didn't move around much so it was no problem really.
The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch and, although I only ate the boiled eggs, everyone seemed to enjoy the make your own waffles as well as the fresh fruit and yoghurt. Good coffee too !!
If you do stay here, try the Sundance steak restaurant across the road.....I had the best steak of my life there !!
All in all it was a very good experience and the last reviewer giving such a low rating based on someone's poorly disciplined children is poor form. It's a must for anyone looking at Stanford with their kids.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyb190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I stayed at the Stanford Terrace Inn about 2 weeks ago for my Stanford Reunion. I thought it was a great location since it was right next to the University and close to the Football Stadium so we could walk there. The room was actually nice and large and comfortable. We got a suite with a small fridge and a sink. I thought it was going to have a small stove in it too but it did not. Our biggest problem was we had asked for a quiet room because both of us are light sleepers. She put us in a 3rd floor room and most of the rooms face the swimming pool which is in the center of the building. Every morning we were there at 7:30 we would get awoken by loud screaming children in the pool. I even asked the parent to ask her children to be a bit quieter after a while but that didn't help. Management at the hotel was not at all helpful. Even though the room was nice, I will probably never stay at this hotel again because you cannot sleep in after 7 am when the pool opens. Only at checkout did they tell me that they have some rooms that don't face the pool. Had I known, I would've requested one of those. This hotel is just not set up well at all. On top of that, the room nightly rate was not cheap so I did expect to get a good night's sleep. I was exhausted after my weekend there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MegChan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

I have stayed at this hotel serveral times on business travelling from Europe. My last stay in June 10 was about as perfect as a hotel stay can be. Again, amazing staff, brilliant service. After a long flight from Europe I was checking into a quiet room in minutes. The rooms are a good size, very comfy beds, good bathrooms, easy parking. If I had to point out any minor issues, I would say, shower water pressure / flow. room service menu a little poor, but hey, these are very minor things. This hotel is great, the management should be rightfully proud, looking forward to my next stay in October. Good to know this very comfortable hotel and those amazing staff will be there to welcome me.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highflyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

An excellent value for the price. The back courtyard is very quiet and attractive, rooms are spacious, breakfast was delicious, bed was very comfortable. My only suggestions are: (1) bathroom door needs to open outwards, not inwards (too awkward/cramped to open the door from the inside); (2) the framed posters on the walls should be of California scenes, not of Italian Mediterranean scenes; and (3) the lounge chairs in the rooms, while comfortable, are far from the reading lights, and have to be moved in order to read anything while sitting in them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1849CalifTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.0 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Nest Palo Alto
The Nest Palo Alto
#17 of 27 in Palo Alto
58 reviews
1.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
1.2 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
668 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#20 of 27 in Palo Alto
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Terrace Inn

Address: 531 Stanford Ave, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1113
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: £219 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanford Terrace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the Stanford campus, you'll find the Stanford Terrace Inn, an oasis of unexpected elegance. In the midst of Silicon Valley, you'll discover a tradition of old world hospitality. Here, Tuscan murals adorn the walls, evoking a timeless sense of luxury. Our secluded garden setting and sun-drenched patio makes it easy to unwind. Or perhaps relieve the stresses of the day in our heated pool. Inside your over-sized guest room, you'll find all the modern conveniences. Complimentary cable TV, high-speed Internet access, and a desk large enough to get some real work done. All at a price that's pleasantly surprising. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanford Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Terrace Hotel Palo Alto
Stanford Terrace Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing